We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snapper Inn

€€ - €€€American, , Seafood
500 Shore Dr, Oakdale, NY 11769-2399
+1 631-589-0248
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (15 reviews)
“snapper” (13 reviews)
“seafood” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
500 Shore Dr, Oakdale, NY 11769-2399
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

A friend treated us, otherwise I wouldn't normally 'splurge' on a dinner this pricey. Went last Sunday, reservation at 7. Plenty of parking, seated immediately. The grounds and gardens are nice enough, with a view of the Great South Bay; couldn't see much once it...More

Thank LizzieAngel
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Wanted to have a bite and drink outside to enjoy the view but were told there was an event so they were not taking walk ions. might to good to post that on the website so people can avoid an unnecessary trip.More

Thank michael3271
Snapper I, Manager at Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

We are very sorry that you were unable to enjoy dining after driving out to the Snapper Inn. Can you advise as to the day and time you were here? We would ask if you would consider retracting the one star being that you were...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

The views, the layout of the restaurant, the greeting, the quality of the food all the same. Great early bird specials and fantastic fra diavolo. Service and order accuracy need some work. Our waitress was lovely it took a long time to get tea wine....More

Thank Bobbie D
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

My friend's rehearsal dinner for her wedding was here the night before her wedding. The restaurant is located on the water and the view is truly stunning. There is an open area that was being set up for a wedding that was to occur the...More

1  Thank Jvalliant
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Although they have television in the inside and outside bar areas, this is the kind of place you go for good food and a table to sit with good friends and food (also a nice place place for a romantic evening). The food is good...More

Thank David P
Reviewed 2 September 2017

My wife and I were there on Sept. 1. We asked for outside seating, hostess asks us to follower. Takes us to our table about 20 steps ahead of us puts down menus and just walks away. Ordered pina colada's not very good. Ordered lobster...More

Thank wthdik
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Went here last Saturday night with my wife for a nice dinner. The place was beautiful. Great view of the Great South Bay. We were seated at a nice table by the window overlooking the water. Our very professional waitress took our drink order, then...More

Thank Pete F
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Very expensive for the food and experience. The prices charged are not commensurate with the level of service and mediocre food. The wait staff had no idea who ordered what and all the food was served luke warm. If you are going to charge premium...More

Thank Lon S
Snapper I, Owner at Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for reviewing the Snapper Inn. We are of course very disappointed to see that we did not meet the level of quality food and service that guests have come to expect at the Snapper Inn for over 85 years. There is no excuse...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner at Snapper Inn tonight and we were extremely disappointed. Although the location is perfect, the food was not. The prime Rib was bland and tasteless. The king crab legs were dry and tasted re-heated. The rice pilaf was dull...More

1  Thank jimandlynn2000
Snapper I, Owner at Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Snapper Inn. We are very sorry that the prime rib and king crab legs were obviously not up to our usual high standards on your recent visit. Your comments regarding the servers unprofessional reply will be...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Met friends for lunch at the Snapper Inn where we enjoyed a visit, a restful view of the river and a lovely prix fixe menu with a choice of appetizer and entrée. Service was attentive--our water glasses were kept full and lemon was brought on...More

Thank LongIslandMabel
Snapper I, Front Office Manager at Snapper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Snapper Inn. We are of course thrilled to hear you enjoyed the ambiance and your meal and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
159 reviews
5.76 km away
Courtyard Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
27 reviews
5.85 km away
Land's End Motel
18 reviews
6.61 km away
Travelodge by Wyndham Bay Shore Long Island
81 reviews
6.96 km away
Nearby Restaurants
George Martin's Strip Steak
103 reviews
1.13 km away
The Hidden Oak Cafe
36 reviews
1.80 km away
Mannino's
103 reviews
2.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bayard Cutting Arboretum
118 reviews
1.80 km away
CM Performing Arts Center
15 reviews
2.74 km away
Heckscher State Park
73 reviews
3.02 km away
Connetquot River State Park Preserve
53 reviews
4.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
chrismackey51
1 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lorrie B | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they do...Enjoy!
0
Votes
Joseph K
3 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Snapper I | Property representative |
Thank you for the reminder to add our dessert menu to the website, this will be completed very shortly! In the meantime, here it is! Chocolate Hazelnut Gelato Cake Cheesecake Lemon Sorbet Ice Cream Parfait... More
0
Votes
Fran D
11 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from maggie121333 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, don't know. We had reservations for dinner. Call them is your best bet.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 500 Shore Dr, Oakdale, NY 11769-2399
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Long Island  >  Oakdale
  • Phone Number: +1 631-589-0248
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing