We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Holloway House

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
29 State St, Bloomfield, NY 14443
+1 585-657-7120
Website
Today
11:30 - 07:30
11:30 - 09:00
17:00 - 21:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 19:30
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 07:30
Tue - Sun 11:30 - 09:00
Tue - Fri 11:30 - 14:00
Tue - Sat 17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

The Holloway House has been around serving great meals for years. It's located in Bloomfield, 30 minutes south of Rochester and is very picturesque especially during the Fall. The house is a very beautifully decorated colonial and you feel you are in New England Our table of 4 ordered the HH's famous Traditional Turkey Dinner and it exceeded our expectations.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roch06
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

Went for dinner this week. Best choice was thanksgiving dinner for $56 up to 5 people. Good deal. But other choices were expensive. Great rolls and bread! Wine usual cost, ..fantastic service and when steak was over cooked gave a free creme brûlée. Salad was good, but look on menu for a good fit. Missing some sautéed dinners, lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joyce J
dawn w, Owner at The Holloway House, responded to this review

Am wondering what you would like to see on the menu. We have a wide variety of menu items, yes, very few saute items, but don't know that that is a bad thing. Am bewildered by your comment "lots of gravy" as the only thing on the menu with gravy is the turkey dinner. Yes, we have been around forever... More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

We use to be regulars at Holloway House until it became too expensive. Well tonight they had a fish special. We had broiled haddock. It was paper thin, small and so very dry and tasteless. Adding salt and pepper didn't help. The orange rolls use to be so good, filled with orange flavor. Now you can hardly taste any orange... More 

Helpful?
Thank MadisonHunter
dawn w, Owner at The Holloway House, responded to this review

I don't know how many times I have to say this, but please, please, please if you are not happy with your dinner, tell us while you are there, so we can make it right for you. We can not fix it days later! We want you to be happy and leaving pleased. I don't know why the orange rolls... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

Built in 1802, but still a lovely old establishment with a commitment to excellent food. The lamb chops were perfection with lovely sides including a relish dish and homemade breads. My spinach ravioli with sun dried tomatoes by far one of my favorites of all time. Quaint and quiet mid week, specials on Saturday with Prime Rib and Sunday brunch,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
dawn w, Owner at The Holloway House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such nice comments about us! More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

I used to dine at the Holloway House routinely but, for reasons totally unassociated with the restaurant, I had not been back for several years. When my friend mentioned an advertisement and related coupon for the Seafood and Prime Rib Buffet on Saturday evenings, we decided to give it a try. What a pleasant surprise! The facility itself has not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chinajack88
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

This place can be cramped, it often is of a more mature aged clientele, food is good, their pickled sides are also good. Staff dresses to fit the part of historical times in the area. We have a buisness meeting here every year and have a wonderful time. The owners are very accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016

Our family visited Holloway House twice the previous week for dinner. The first visit was satisfactory ... decent food, good service, yet somewhat overpriced. The very next evening, our server informed us that we were undercharged for the previous evening meal by another server! He summoned Fred to our table to explain. To begin with, Fred has almost zero social... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack A
dawn w, Owner at The Holloway House, responded to this review

This certainly was a very unfortunate situation and our apologies go out to you and your family. I am totally baffled as to why the server on Wed. night mentioned the under charge on Tues. night. It was not his place to do so at all! It was something that management was going to handle and he was way out... More 

Lima, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2016

As a special treat for Father's Day, my brothers and I took our parents to the HH with the rest of our family. What a mistake! We were there for close to three hours, we waited over 45 minutes between the salad and our entrees! Awful! My mother's potatoes were raw, my brother's rice was crunchy and my nephew's steak... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joe7639
dawn w, Owner at The Holloway House, responded to this review

We have already apologized for the delay in receiving your meals and are very sorry you felt your experience was so "horrible". As I mentioned in your post on our facebook page, that is certainly not our goal. We did make a very large deduction on your bill since you were so unhappy. More 

Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2016

Were taken (there were 4 of us) to the Holloway house for dinner to celebrate a birthday and mother's day late. Hadn't been for dinner in a long time. Food was good. Several items tasted rather salty to us, but most everything was tasty. Host and hostess both engaged with all of us and were pleasant.Enjoyed the evening. A bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank tgift2016
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2016

My sister and I stopped in for lunch today. I was very surprised at the prices, especially for lunch. I opted for "soup and salad" for $10.95. I received a cup of watery clam chowder and a very small side salad. I was still hungry when lunch was over. VERY DISAPPOINTING. I will not be returning in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen M

Travellers who viewed The Holloway House also viewed

Bloomfield, Finger Lakes
Bloomfield, Finger Lakes
 
Bloomfield, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Holloway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$42
Cuisine
American
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 19:30
11:30 - 07:30
11:30 - 09:00
Monday
11:30 - 07:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 07:30
11:30 - 14:00
11:30 - 09:00
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 07:30
11:30 - 14:00
11:30 - 09:00
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 07:30
11:30 - 14:00
11:30 - 09:00
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 07:30
11:30 - 14:00
11:30 - 09:00
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:30 - 07:30
11:30 - 09:00
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 State St, Bloomfield, NY 14443
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Finger Lakes  >  Bloomfield
  • Phone Number: +1 585-657-7120
Description
The Holloway House since 1808, featuring traditional American fare at affordable prices. The main dining rooms feature Roast Turkey, Steaks, and Seafood in a historic setting. Also a Sunday Buffet Brunch is a great way to enjoy your family and friends after church . Friday night Fish Fry followed by a slice of one of our in house baked pies or creme brulee is a great way to start your weekend or trip to one of the lakes. A perfect place for your next party, private seating for groups up to 60. Saturday night prime rib and seafood buffet is very popular.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Holloway House and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Holloway House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?