We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bugle Horn

€€ - €€€, British,
Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8QP, England
+44 1296 747594
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good32%
  • Average18%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (31 reviews)
“rump steak” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8QP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 515 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We visited here end of October on our visit from Cornwall for our Grandsons birthday, the table was pre-booked 10 people, to be honest was very disappointed with the food. To start with we asked I assume either the head waitress or manageress what was...More

Thank Barry V
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Bugle Horn on a Friday evening with 8 people in total. We had prebooked so no problems getting a table. The menu is quite varied and they also have an offers menu with 2 courses for £15 I think. I had...More

Thank Phil M
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the warm, positive review Phil! :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Poor information about gluten free choices on menu, but better advice from the waitress. Completely forgot to bring starters. Felt expensive for fairly average chain pub. Burger in bun - £12.50 (a la carte) when served with small ramekin of chips, felt under-whelming. Recently paid...More

Thank WykehamGateGuy
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Our menus do not state what allergens are contained within our dishes, these are provided upon request when we are presented with a guest informing us that they have an allergy or intolerance, so that we can spend the time...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

popped in for dinner with Mum and Dad last night, all 3 of us were enticed by the chicken & thyme pie and we were not disappointed! Generous portions and a wonderful crusty pastry top. We just about had room for pudding, which was also...More

Thank Joanna W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a Coeliac I asked the staff if I could see their allergy book before ordering. Smart**** staff member refused and said he knew exactly what was safe on the menu and suggested I had the black pearl scallops starter. I ate it and felt...More

Thank Liz B
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Liz, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I am saddened to hear of your experience with us and this is being investigated internally. I sincerely apologise for the team member not referring to our allergy guide, which is...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

A group of friends went for lunch and felt we had an interesting selection of dishes. The service was efficient and food tasty. An enjoyable visit

Thank philippamarsh
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely 5* rating Philippa!

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Just been with my husband for an afternoon lunch and I was so disappointed! Obviously the management has changed recently and the standard this place had, it s no more.The service was very very slow and a young boy waiter was also rude. I ve...More

Thank maddy b
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Maddy, Thank you for your review. I would like to discuss this further with you, please could you email me at buglehornhartwell@vintageinn.co.uk so that I can get a better understanding of your visit. Many Thanks, Aarron

Reviewed 12 October 2017

A group of 25 , pre ordered food after a walk. No space to all sit near each other, food very dis-organised and several gave up altogether. A disappointment for all especially our organiser who had made 2 visits to check arrangements. Treated badly all...More

Thank Jane L
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Jane, Thank you for your review. We spoke with a gentleman who visited us 2 weeks prior to your visit who had a look around and was advised of the possible searing arrangements. I apologise you were not satisfied with this. we hope you...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Having dined here 2 years ago and had fantastic food, we were very disappointed this time. All 4 of us had the roast dinner and as they could see by what was left on the plates, it was not the best. The beef was so...More

Thank oneof2
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Good Evening, I am saddened to hear you were not satisfied with your visit and your issues were not resolved on the day. If you would be so kind, please could you email me at buglehornhartwell@vintageinn.co.uk so that we can discuss this further. Many Thanks,...More

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Having just moved to the area, we decided to explore the local pubs. Our first stop being the Bugle Horn, it's a nice pub, the beer was good and the food portions generous. We enjoyed our night there, left well fed and will return.

Thank Philip G
General Manager A, Manager at Bugle Horn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Philip! Thank you for the great review you've left us! we look forward to having you back with us soon Bugle Horn

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Jeera
91 reviews
1.05 km away
The Rose and Crown
14 reviews
.87 km away
Hartwell House
264 reviews
.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hartwell House Spa
67 reviews
.46 km away
The Bell - Stoke Mandeville
28 reviews
3.80 km away
Orchard View Farm
79 reviews
5.19 km away
The Bucks Goat Centre
178 reviews
4.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bugle Horn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell, Aylesbury HP17 8QP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Aylesbury  >  Hartwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1296 747594
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Bugle Horn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing