We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Avontuur Estate Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Avontuur Estate, | Western Cape, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
+27 21 855 4296
Website
Today
09:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 16:00
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 17:00
Tue - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 325: English reviews
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We know the place for many years, but today it was a new experience, an unfriendly and arrogant waiter, wanted us to leave before the official closing time, sorry never again!

Helpful?
Thank Fritz M
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

As someone who has visited our estate and restaurant for many years we are sorry to read that the first review that you have taken the time to write is a negative one. I have spoken to the staff on duty and understand that you were in fact sitting at the winery which closes at 17h00. As the restaurant was... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Delicious Food we chose the platters and salads, great wine, outstanding service Avril was an absolute gem nothing was too much trouble and she never stops smiling. Lastly the most beautiful setting.

Helpful?
Thank Angele R
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Angele How delightful to read such a glowing review! Thank you for taking the time to write it and to mention Avril by name. She is certainly a gem! We hope to see you at Avontuur again soon. Best regards More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's not often you get the best of both: top notch food as well as service. Throw in a beautiful day and a glorious view of the winelands, and you seriously couldn't ask for more. Our group had the duck and also the vegetarian option; all outstanding. Portions are generous. We reluctantly left at 4.30 but we will be back... More 

Helpful?
Thank working-suitcase
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Working-Suitcase Thank you for such a great review! Our aim is always that our guests leave will all their senses satisfied! It sounds like it was a great day and that wonderful memories were made! We hope to see you at Avontuur again soon. Best regards More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Will start with the positive: Great location, great wine... The restaurant though is very poorly managed. Had to get up twice to ask for a menu and a waiter to place our orders. When we left I asked for the manager to mention my frustration since this could be such a great place (he did not come to our table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dida M
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have visited here 3 times during out time in SA this Summer and it has never failed to deliver lovely food, friendly service in a pleasant setting. Not as beautiful as some as a little near to the main road, but nonetheless very relaxing and good value. I am sure we will be back again.

Helpful?
Thank Rosie J
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Rosie Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. The fact that you have visited us 3 times during your vacation is a great indicator of your experience at our estate and restaurant. You have made our day! We hope that you return to us in the future :-) Best regards More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a recommendation of our B&B. Fantastic little Estate, very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food and delicious vines. Never ate a better Duck Pate. TOP NOTCH.

Helpful?
1 Thank GoPack67
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear GoPack What a great review of our restaurant. Thank you! Best regards More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have had quite a few lunches here over the past few years and I have found it a pleasure each time. When it is not too windy, the outside area is wonderful. When it is a little windy, the interior is classy. Look around and you will see a few regulars over lunch - often foreigners. The food is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhynman
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Rhynman Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that we have managed to tick all the boxes on your many visits :-) We hope to see you again soon. Best regards More 

Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Didn't book but were quickly accommodated, sadly had to sit inside as it was fully booked outside. Lovely food, can recommend salmon, prawn & avocado starter, and the wild mushrooms were divine. Mother who is 86 and can be quite "tricky" when it comes to food thoroughly enjoyed the chicken wrapped in pancetta with silky sauce. A very lovely lunch

Helpful?
Thank angeladuncan
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Angela Thank you for your review. We are glad that your Mom loved her lunch too. :-) We hope to see you both at Avontuur again soon. Best regards More 

Alingsas, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good and friendly service, excelent food and nice atmosfare. You feel home and comfortable. Their own wine are excelent. We kindly recommend this nice restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth O
Zed B, Owner at The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth Thank you for the glowing praise. We hope to see you at Avontuur again soon. Best regards More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I went for a late lunch at Avontuur. We booked for 2.30pm but were not informed that the kitchen closes for lunch at 3pm. When we arrived there we wanted to do a wine-tasting first, however were told that as the kitchen closes at 3pm it would be best to rather taste wine at the table, to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MishRoy

Travellers who viewed The Avontuur Estate Restaurant also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to The Avontuur Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Cuisine
International, European, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available
Good for
View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Avontuur Estate, | Western Cape, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Somerset West
  • Phone Number: +27 21 855 4296
Description
Put us on your G.P.S.... Avontuur Estate, nestled on the Helderberg mountain, with horses, vines and Table Mountain in the distance is a calm haven from the hustle and bustle of the city. A mere 45 minute drive from the airport with ample parking, Avontuur is a destination you should have on your GPS. Award winning wines and knowledgeable tasting room staff will pique your taste buds regarding our wines and our restaurant with inside as well as outside seating, has panoramic views to take your breath away. Hearty portions, aromatic flavours and delectable food is the order of the day at the Restaurant, with attention to detail and service excellence being the norm. Call us to book your table, your guests won't be dissapointed. 021 855 4296

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Avontuur Estate Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Avontuur Estate Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?