We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Octopus's Garden

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
771 S Main St, West Creek, NJ 08092-3120 (Mayetta Landing Road)
+1 609-597-8828
16:30 - 21:30
Closed now
See all hours
Sun - Thu 16:30 - 20:30
Fri - Sat 16:30 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 106: English reviews
West Creek, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We have returned to this restaurant on numerous occasions, with friends, family, couples...heck we had my son communion there! Food is good, service is good. If you want a nice quiet dinner with class, come to this place. They also have a table to watch the kitchen.on request...pretty cool. It's a BYOB, which I like. Only reason I didn't give... More 

Thank deborahv884
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We used to go to this restaurant and it went down hill until the new owner came to town! Thank God he took it over. What a pleasant surprise to go back and find it better than ever. This is a gem of the South Jersey shore. Outrageous food, excellent service, and reasonable prices. Don't miss this one when you... More 

Thank Stallone1
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Our party had Yellowfin Tuna, Pandora Shrimp, Chilean Sea Bass, and Macadamia Crusted Cod. Great presentation, nice sized portions. Great Quality, Fresh Seafood. Service was excellent. New owners ( since last year) have made only positive changes, For the better. Only negative, sugar packets and artificial sweetener packets are so close in color, hard to tell apart. Not typical yellow... More 

Thank Javanat
Bob S, General Manager at Octopus's Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Javanat. We are looking at changing the type of sweetner we use. I appreciate your bringing it to our attention. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

New ownwea NOT the same terrible greasy fried food lobster mac and cheese awful was told it was kraft pork chops were horrible greasy and meat dry, obviously over cooked. The Duck was One small piece of thigh ..not sliced greasy and dry I don't eat mushrooms so I was served plain white rice with no flavor..It was an all... More 

Thank Diane S
Bob S, Manager at Octopus's Garden, responded to this review

Curiously much the same as you wrote on March 4th to which I gave a sincere apology. Sorry you didn't introduce yourself when you returned. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

delicious food, great ambiance! staff was very friendly! scallops were to die for! can't wait to come back!

Thank mari3246
Bob S, General Manager at Octopus's Garden, responded to this review

Happy to serve you and look forward to your return! Thank you! More 

Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017

we had dinner sat 3/4 party of 7 We were seated quickly..that was the best thing of the nite..We sat at our table 41 mins..finally were served water and bread, should have left after that..I asked not 3 but 4 times for a bucket of ice for our wine.Someone ordered the Mac & Cheese with Lobster Appertizer, awful no taste... More 

1 Thank Diane S
Bob S, General Manager at Octopus's Garden, responded to this review

Diane, I truely appoligize for your experience Saturday night and appreciate your comments for what they are. We had a server call out due to illness at the last minute and you should have been notified that we could no longer honor your reservation at that time. I know your server dropped the ball and I take responsibility for that... More 

Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
281 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Three generations of family and friends had dinner last night. Everyone left the restaurant well satiated and pleasant. The servers were attentive, friendly and efficient. The food was well presented and delicious. We will continue having future good times and good food. BYOB.

Thank Bill P
Bob S, General Manager at Octopus's Garden, responded to this review

So glad to hear you had a pleasant experience as that is our goal for all our guests. Thank you Bill for your comments. Bob S. General Manager More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We came here for our anniversary and we were happy with the food. Service not so much, our waitress Greta took a good 7 minutes to come to the table. This was our first time here and she opened with find anything good are you ready to order. No, any questions...Can I start you with...Right to business. She was not... More 

Thank jaydarin
Bob S, General Manager at Octopus's Garden, responded to this review

Thank you Jay for your honest comments. I truely hope you do indeed give us another chance and you introduce yourself to me when you do. Sincerely, Bob S. General Manager More 

Maywood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We have been here may times in the past and always had a great experience. This week we went for the first time under new ownership for lobster night and were a bit disappointed. Not only has the price of the lobster special increased but they now charge extra ($2) for the previously included chowder which comes in a very... More 

Bob S, General Manager at Octopus's Garden, responded to this review

Dear LCTTJT, Sorry to hear you were a bit disappointed on your recent visit. I try to visit every table to make sure all guests are satisfied but most have missed your table the night you were here. I do appoligize for that but hope to meet you in the future and have the opportunity to assure a pleasant experience.... More 

Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We went to Octopus's Garden for our New Year's Eve dinner with 8 people. The service was good and the staff was friendly and competent. For the crowd they had on New Year's Eve, the food was well prepared and tasty. We enjoyed our meal and experience here.

Thank NancyS306
Bob S, General Manager at Octopus's Garden, responded to this review

Thank you Nancy for your generous comments. I am so glad you and your guests had a pleasant experience on New Year's Eve and hope the New Year is treating you well. I hope we can serve you again soon. Sincerely, Bob S. General Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Octopus's Garden also viewed


Been to Octopus's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$30 - US$30
American, Seafood
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
16:30 - 20:30
16:30 - 20:30
16:30 - 20:30
16:30 - 20:30
16:30 - 20:30
16:30 - 21:30
16:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 771 S Main St, West Creek, NJ 08092-3120
    (Mayetta Landing Road)
  • Public Transportation: NJ Transit on Rt 9 stops in front of restaurant
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  West Creek
  • Phone Number: +1 609-597-8828

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Octopus's Garden and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Manahawkin, New Jersey
1 month ago
Manahawkin, New Jersey
1 month ago
Barnegat, New Jersey
Toms River, NJ
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Octopus's Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?