We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cuban Pete's

) #18 of 154 Restaurants in Montclair €€ - €€€ Caribbean, Latin, Spanish
428 Bloomfield Ave, Montclair, NJ 07042-3742
+1 973-746-1100
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (60 reviews)
“ropa vieja” (17 reviews)
“plantains” (29 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
428 Bloomfield Ave, Montclair, NJ 07042-3742
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This place has amazing food from their tapas to their entrees. You can't make reservations so be sure to go early to avoid a wait. We always get the sangria mix but it really isn't worth the money. Next time we are bringing rum to...More

Thank Liltato
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food is amazing but the service is subpar. From the hostess to the owner who walks around the restaurant - they are rude and sometimes disrespectful. The only somewhat nicer people are the servers. If the food wasn't so good, no way I would ever...More

Thank Mai_admiral
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time in that place and it was amazing! A little wait especially in the weekend, but the food was authentic Cuban and so was the place, makes you feel like you're in Cuba. Although the music was bit loud for my taste, I love...More

Thank Ana Gabriela S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food is great and the portions are large. The only drawback is they are understaffed for the steady stream of customers waiting to be seated and served. Otherwise I would have rated them excellent. I found the overworked staff to be friendly and accommodating....More

Thank bdaddy168
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I also had an terrible encounter with this Dominique character. After waining 40 minutes after our 7 pm reservation this Dominique fellow sat us under a speaker that was so loud that we couldn't hear ourselves talking. When I asked to be relocated Dominique got...More

4  Thank MERCAT041861
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend wanted to go to Cuban Petes on a rainy Saturday night. There were people standing all over the place even blocking the back stairs all the way up. The wait was an hour and a half. The manager was screaming at everyone to...More

4  Thank Parqueen
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cool place and excellent ambiance!!! You may have too wait for a table at busy times. Also excellent Tapss

Thank bolognafrank1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited this location before but this visit was by far the worst restaurant experience of my life. After waiting almost 2 hours to be seated, the Manager seated someone before us. We asked about it and he became extremely rude and told us...More

4  Thank MsBlount
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So noisy we had to put in ear plugs in our ears, we were 2 couples,we should have walked out from the noise they even played live bongos with the music. Me and my husband had indigestion an hour after we ate. No gluten free...More

1  Thank Julie D
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The food speaks for itself ... Buena Comida!!!!! From the Cuban sandwiches to the crispy pork, short ribs of beef, beef stew and spicy sprimp and the list goes on - you will not be disappointed. The atmosphere is loud, almost raucous, but friendly and...More

Thank NewarkScubaDiver
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mishmish Cafe
151 reviews
.07 km away
Ani
60 reviews
.08 km away
Villalobos
61 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Van Vleck House & Gardens
70 reviews
1.28 km away
Montclair Art Museum
106 reviews
.87 km away
Wellmont Theater
110 reviews
.10 km away
Our Lady of Mt Carmel Church
6 reviews
.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
misstutt2
10 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from CohenFamilyHighFalls | Reviewed this property |
I totally agree....was there recently & manager/host yelled at a patron in front of everyone who wanted a table for 7 people. Not sure what the issue was but he said to her "GET OUT, we don't want your business anyway... More
1
Vote
MansterRock
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from Ricardo S S | Reviewed this property |
He looked nice on YouTube but I did notice him rushing around and rudely pushing past folks - it looks like business is doing well so I wish he'd chill and smile. I'll be back but if he's directly rude to me I can get my... More
3
Votes
Melissa D
19 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from JPSalik | Reviewed this property |
You did not miss anything as the food is terrible and fatty. That was better for your Heath to go elsewhere. I never went back there. It is very popular but fast food restaurants are as well and it is unhealthy.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 428 Bloomfield Ave, Montclair, NJ 07042-3742
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Montclair
  • Phone Number: +1 973-746-1100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing