We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Agave Mexican Bistro Dos

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
111 State St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3825
+1 603-427-5300
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 20:30
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 21:30
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 190: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We ate dinner here last week. The food was terrible, some of the worst restaurant food of any kind (mexican or otherwise) we have ever been served. I wish I could give it negative stars. The guacamole tasted as if the avocado had gone bad; it had a decidedly "spoiled" flavor. My black bean soup -- which was served lukewarm,... More 

Helpful?
Thank katystava
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I went here to celebrate my mom's birthday this weekend because I heard wonderful things about this restaurant. As we sat down and ordered drinks, the beer was undrinkable. My father had to send back his beer. I got a margarita and it was so weak I had to order a shot of tequila on the side. I would not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
Alyssa C, General Manager at Agave Mexican Bistro Dos, responded to this review

Hi Brittany, We are so sorry for the lack of service and food experience you have received. We'd appreciate if you reach out to us at agave@agavedos.com with more information about the service you received so we can prevent this from happening in the future. Hope to hear from you soon and thank you for the feedback. More 

Level Contributor
185 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a nice lunch here. Nice guacamole and great beef burritos all,washed down with a pleasant sangria. Served well and a little pricey but nice.

Helpful?
Thank Viviane B
East Hampstead, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Flat different beer x 2, shrimp and salad was the worst I EVER had; as it was a pile of dry leaves, with some shrimp on top with an unripen mango. Bartender did her best, while the rest of the staff just stood around. Portsmouth has a LOT of great restaurants, so do not waste your time or money going... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidmallon
Alyssa C, General Manager at Agave Mexican Bistro Dos, responded to this review

David, We appreciate you taking time out of your day to let us know how were doing. We admit that we were having some trouble with our draft system this weekend and unfortunately some customers such as yourself were affected by it. We will be using your review to further train staff in hopes to eliminate experiences like yours from... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is not the same Agave as in Newburyport, not even close! This was very disappointing. The food is mediocre at best, the waitstaff is overworked, resulting in terrible service, even the beer was not good as they seemed to be having difficulty with their beer taps resulting in flat beer. The Carne Asada, ordered medium rare, came out medium... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nhdebtraveling
Alyssa C, General Manager at Agave Mexican Bistro Dos, responded to this review

Thanks for providing us with your honest feedback of your recent visit at Agave Dos. We're very sorry to hear that you were given less than exemplary service. We apologize for the beer mishap as we were in the middle of fixing an issue with our draft system. We do hope you had relayed your distaste of the food with... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food here is excellent, as are the margaritas, but the seating the cramped and the noise level is loud. The food portions are substantial so be careful when you order. The classic nachos can feed a table of 4! They make a good fish as well.

Helpful?
Thank Gitanjali S
Alyssa C, General Manager at Agave Mexican Bistro Dos, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kinds words about our food and drink! On a busy weekend night we are indeed a packed restaurant and seating can be a little tight especially in our first floor dining room. On your next visit we recommend that you make a reservation and ask that you be seated in one of our upstairs dining... More 

Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
245 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went to Agave on a Saturday night. I made a reservation a few weeks in advance. When I arrived, the person at the desk told me someone, a woman, had called to change my reservation to later, and to add four people. I'm male. I thought that was strange, but I was seated anyway, so I didn't think much... More 

Helpful?
Thank RPR84
Alyssa C, General Manager at Agave Mexican Bistro Dos, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We love to hear feedback on how we're doing regardless if it is positive or negative. I will admit, the mix up with your reservation was one in a million and we take full responsibility for the mistake. We would like to offer you dinner and drinks for two on... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I met up with three friends on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon for lunch. We were seated upstairs, at a very comfortable round booth. Hannah, our server, was most attentive even though she was quite busy with several large parties. I had the grilled shrimp and avocado salad, which was very tasty although the shrimp were slightly overcooked. Two of my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deb E
Alyssa C, General Manager at Agave Mexican Bistro Dos, responded to this review

Deb, Thank you for the feedback! Hannah is always working her hardest regardless if she has 2 or 20 guests to take care of and we are glad that you were able to see it too! We will be using your review to further train our kitchen staff to prevent things such as overcooked shrimp from happening again. And trust... More 

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Agave is an average restaurant with good food. Nothing to exciting but they have great drinks. This is a good place for groups to meet up. Not as hard to get a res as some places.

Helpful?
Thank CEK03802
Alyssa C, General Manager at Agave Mexican Bistro Dos, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we're doing. We'd love to hear more about your "average" experience so we can use it to better train our staff in the future. Please reach out to us at agave@agavedos.com at your earliest convenience. More 

Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Drinks are ok. Food looks good as well. Came in with a group. It's off the beat on path will be back

Helpful?
Thank Chadwyck1
Alyssa C, General Manager at Agave Mexican Bistro Dos, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We hope that the next time you come in we are able to WOW you on our fabulous margaritas and drink specials. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Agave Mexican Bistro Dos also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Agave Mexican Bistro Dos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$23
Cuisine
Mexican, Latin, Spanish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 20:30
Monday
11:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:30
Thursday
11:30 - 21:30
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 111 State St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3825
  • Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +1 603-427-5300

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Agave Mexican Bistro Dos staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?