We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mole Inn

€€ - €€€British, ,
Toot Baldon, Toot Baldon, Oxford OX44 9NG, England
+44 1865 340001
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“mole” (147 reviews)
“shredded duck” (15 reviews)
“treacle tart” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Toot Baldon, Toot Baldon, Oxford OX44 9NG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

This is a lovely renovated restaurant in remote setting but easy to access. The internal timber construction is beautiful, staff are very helpful and the food is excellent. Well worth trying if in Oxford area.

Thank Yorkiery
Extraordinary785719, Owner at The Mole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks so much for your feedback we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Called in for lunch on the off chance whilst traveling up to Oxford from London with friends. We had a wonderful experience, great setting, the staff were very welcoming and the food hit the spot (we had the set menu)... We would definitely visit again...More

Thank Extraordinary733520
Extraordinary785719, Owner at The Mole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks very much, we’re so glad you had a good visit and we hope to see you again very soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

When in the area, I've dropped into the Mole Inn usually just before 12 to get a drink and put in an order for food (most usually a burger) to eat quickly before heading off to a 13:00 meeting. Arriving last week, I noticed that...More

Thank AntonyHurden
Extraordinary785719, Owner at The Mole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your feedback sir, we have indeed just taken on some new front of house team members and I apologise if there was a mix up with the serving times. I can assure you that the ownership and kitchen team remains the same and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have visited with my partner and we have been surprised by the quality of this establishment. Service was outstanding and it was complimented by some tasty food. Highly recommended!

Thank pavol h
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate this, glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again very soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have changed the restaurant of choice for our regular award dinners/lunches to the Mole Inn where we typically have at least a minimum of 10 covers. Due to the number of us we usually order ahead and thanks to this we get swift service....More

Thank 206stephaniec
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your positive comments, we are so glad that you enjoy your visits to our restaurant, it’s lovely to hear such lovely feedback and rest assured we will pass on all comments to the staff, we look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went with my partner a month or two ago. I had a beetroot starter that was circa 8.50. The money is not an issue but it appeared to be a vacuum packed Tesco beetroot cut in half with minimal decoration. On complaint I was...More

Thank Jo S
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at the mole on your last visit - I can assure you we only source our products from carefully selected partner suppliers. I am also sorry to hear that your complaint was...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were guests of friends, who had been here before. An excellent choice of venue, situated in a delightful garden. An interesting menu and delicious food generously served. Good, friendly and prompt service. We shall return!

Thank Dimart
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Excellent we look forward to welcoming you next time - many thanks

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in the lovely little Oxfordshire village of Toot Baldon and continued down a tree lined lane to a really quaint old house which is now the Mole Inn. The original timbers and stonework bear witness to hundreds of years of history. Although I...More

1  Thank GizmoStu
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much we’re so glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A nice and cozy restaurant for dinner, good food and good service with reasonable price, it’s good to make a reservation even we made it few days ago only had 6:30pm left, but it’s worth to go there for an early dinner

Thank Vun Vun V
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food, nice wine and great service. Steak was cooked exactly to my liking and mackerel starter was amazing. Hope to be back soon!

Thank holly271
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you we look forward to seeing you soon :)

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
855 reviews
2.29 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
720 reviews
2.66 km away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
1,673 reviews
3.62 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1,388 reviews
3.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Coach & Horses Inn
112 reviews
3.21 km away
Kings Arms
671 reviews
3.62 km away
Comie's Caribbean Grill Ltd
318 reviews
3.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grill Academy
5 reviews
1.86 km away
Active England
63 reviews
2.52 km away
CRAZY BEAR FARM SHOP
147 reviews
4.30 km away
Newington Nurseries
13 reviews
4.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
blossomHarrow
24 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Helen J | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry, I don't know if the Mole offers breakfast - I suspect they don't. We have only ever been there for lunch. They do dinner too. Hope this helps. Helen J.
0
Votes
Victoria J
19 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from CAB54 | Reviewed this property |
I imagine around 11pm.
0
Votes
JandJOxon
3 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from johnnyeighto | Reviewed this property |
Yes. We have eaten at both lunchtime and evening here and both services were of the same quality. We had a Christmas Eve lunch here this week and it was just fabulous.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$46
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Toot Baldon, Toot Baldon, Oxford OX44 9NG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford  >  Toot Baldon
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 340001
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing