We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holy Basil

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
233 Canley Vale Rd, Canley Heights, Fairfield, New South Wales 2166, Australia
+61 2 9727 7585
Website
Today
17:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Thu - Sat 17:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 163: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Have been to this restaurant a few times now always order the banquet as they give you a really good variety, make sure to try the mango chilli whole snapper its hands down the best dish I have ever had, waiters are friendly. You can only reserve tables for large groups so prepare for a wait as its popular with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sean88syd
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Last minute decision to eat here and wow I am so happy we did. The bbq pork chilli basil was out of this world. You have to give it a try. Great service and good price.

Helpful?
3 Thank hartland2004
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My wife and I have visited often, and taken many friends here and the result has always been outstanding. You do have to wait to be seated, but it is worth it as the food is outstanding. Do keep room for the fried ice cream, it is an experience. Some items of food may be unusual but do try them... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Walter L
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The food was average. Customer service was shocking . Not worth the wait. Very pricey for the amount of food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Red curry with duck was so tasty! Ox tongue was a highlight... Every dish we ordered the other day was so delicious. Have to mention the deep flied ice cream! It's quite a creative way and very tasty!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lexi0311
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

So it's a tad expensive for thai but the food is beautiful. Well worth the wait in the queue. Service is quick once you sit down.

Helpful?
2 Thank Emma V
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

It was quite busy and had to wait 30 mins to get a table, after that service was quick. Peanut skewers weren't very good but the spring rolls were. BBQ beef was nice An average meal

Helpful?
Thank Joe O
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Went first time with my husband. The menu is nice with ingredients, details & images of the dish. The ambience was alright, Being precise it's not a calm & relaxed kind of a restaurant. The staff doesn't interact too well... They are always in rush. But apparently because I was there at the peak hours!!! But no doubts that the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank VerveKanika
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Sometimes the wait is terrible but once your in your taste buds will be dancing really nice thai food.Caramel fried ice cream is to die for lol

Helpful?
Thank Koalabear4u
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Good food, However service isn't the best..we got a bottle of wine, the waiter asked if we wana try it, We said yes, and exchange it for another one..after, on the bill they charged us like $5 for trying a sip of wine..when I called him over to ask what the addition $5 charge is, he just said "im sorry"... More 

Helpful?
Thank alobre123
H0lyBasil, Manager at Holy Basil, responded to this review

Hi Could you please contact us at info@holybasil.com.au and advise day time and where you sat so we can locate your bill. We certainly don't charge customers to taste wine. There are no bill item with a $5 charge do it's impossible to charge this amount on any bill. If you have your bill please send us a copy so... More 

Travellers who viewed Holy Basil also viewed

Fairfield, Greater Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Canley Vale, Fairfield
Canley Heights, Fairfield
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Liverpool, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Holy Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 233 Canley Vale Rd, Canley Heights, Fairfield, New South Wales 2166, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  Fairfield  >  Canley Heights
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9727 7585

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holy Basil staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?