We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Shroppie Fly

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Audlem Wharf Shropshire Street, Audlem CW3 0DX, England
+44 1270 812379
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 237: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

After a pleasant walk along the canal we came across the canal side pub, what an excellent spot, table & chairs along the canal and perfect setting to spend a sunny afternoon. Inside is very clean and seating either in the restaurant or bat all looks very inviting and the bar staff are very friendly. Ordered the curry special and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gemosh04
Cheshire
Level Contributor
238 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We called in today for a quick drink,sat out in the sun talking to others on the canal side watching the narrow boats go by. People eating and saying how good it was it looked good! Well worth a visit also you can pick up a boat trip near by at Lock15.

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After listening to a chap on the radio recently saying how tasty vegetarian curries are and then spotting one on the menu I decided to give it a go. It was a good decision, a lovely tasty dish full of flavour. Being on a diet at the moment I am trying to steer clear of desserts but I was easily... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bluepaul0869
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place for an al fresco pint,watching the boaters pass by. Live music at the weekends. Fab pub!

Helpful?
1 Thank amandaclark150
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After coming down the flight of locks we moored outside this pub for the night. Popped in for lunch and ordered the fish finger butties on Brown. They arrived on dry white bread with no butter, burnt fish, no advertised condiments or even a knife and fork to eat for mustard soaked salad. There was even hair in the chips... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Allan T
Maldon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic position by the canal but kitchen being renovated again....Came here two years ago and kitchen was being renovated then as well. Unfortunately signage still up saying food available.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ollyrs
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

My partner and I went to this place last night. it was like a ghost pub. there was no food and was told by barman there wont be any as there was no body to cook it . Pub dusty dirty. we wont be going there again

Helpful?
2 Thank chanelno5
Gosforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Really not to happy as there was no food running and the attitude with I believe manager was just not called for will not be returning anytime soon unfortunate as it used to be a place I really did enjoy

Helpful?
3 Thank michealparker86
ShroppieManager, Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this review

Hi Michael Thank you for your review. I fear that the gentleman you encountered was not myself as I have been giving the reasons to our visitors as to the reason behind the suspension of our food service. I must apologise if you found my staff member rude. The lease at The Shroppie is changing hands imminently and that is... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2016

A lovely place to stop off for a bite before or after taking a stroll by the canal and into the village.

Helpful?
Thank nlea2014
ShroppieManager, Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review The Shropppie Fly. We glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We visited the Shroppie Fly today and were pleasantly surprised..under new management again, this place has had its ups and downs recently but we thought we would give it a try... So glad we did..the carvery was delicious with giant homemade Yorkshire puds.... Can recommend it...

Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
ShroppieManager, Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Lynda. We are pleased you enjoyed our carvery and we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Travellers who viewed The Shroppie Fly also viewed

 
Audlem, Cheshire
Knutsford, Cheshire
 

Been to The Shroppie Fly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Audlem Wharf Shropshire Street, Audlem CW3 0DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Audlem
  • Phone Number: +44 1270 812379
Description
Traditional busy water front restaurant/ pub. Reasonable prices for food and drink. Beautiful canal side with outdoor seating. Friendly helpful staff. Events throughout the summer months. Live music every Saturday nights.
All round great experience.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Shroppie Fly and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Shroppie Fly staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?