We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant

905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
+1 508-385-2133
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good18%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (41 reviews)
“sole meuniere” (15 reviews)
“profiteroles” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our entrees were generally quite good, but overpriced. The fish "special" was $39 (no wonder they don't tell you the price unless you ask). The clam pasta at $26 was just OK, with mostly pasta and only a taste of clams. The wine list was...More

Thank Paul G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We started with the charcoal grilled skewers and the squid skewer was particularly good. Then my husband had the hanger steak and I had the burger which came with house made chips instead of the shoestring fries as stated on the menu but we enjoyed...More

Thank AnAnthropologist
Adam D, Owner at The Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi There, Our apologies for any confusion regarding the cash discount program. The cash discount program is an incentive for guests who pay with cash. As you know paying with cash eliminates credit card processing fees, therefore we offer a flat 4% discount on bills...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Note: Reviews before 2018 should be noted as under the prior ownership. It sounds like it was a lot better at that time. I'll start with the worst part of my experience and then move to the service and food later. For anyone who thinks...More

1  Thank FionaHematoma
Adam D, Owner at The Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad to have the opportunity to explain several points you have brought up. The cash discount program is an inceptive for guests who pay with cash. Paying with cash eliminates credit card...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For starters we had the marinated olives, grilled carrots, and the shiitake mushroom skewer. Very nice. Wife had the clam pasta and I had seared scallops. Excellent! We’ll be back!!!!

Thank georgebmartin
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Fabulous! We have been going to the original Pheasant for years and loved the homey vibe and food. We were a little worried when it changed owners but it has admittedly gotten even better! The menu is unique and pushes you to try new things....More

Thank Laura A
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We have been eating at the Red Pheasant for over twenty years. It was one of our "go to places" on the Cape. It is under new management. I did not like the renovations of the porch. No crisp white table cloths or flowers. The...More

2  Thank jamaplus
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We have been going to what was The Red Pheasant over the last 18 years whenever we go to the Cape, and have always enjoyed this. Under new management, The Pheasant has done some things well (enhanced the decor, streamlined the menu) and the flavors...More

Thank John C
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We ate at the Red Pheasant two years ago and loved it. We were pleased when friends suggested we eat there this year. We understand the ownership (and name) have changed, and it isn't the same place. Service was slow - thirty minutes between appetizers...More

Thank Mark K
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Dessert: chocolate mousse with lemon curd. Need I say more? But trip adviser make me use 100 words. So: Ridiculous food combinations. Apparently spent a lot of money to make an old restaurant bad.More

1  Thank Alex S
Adam D, Owner at The Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Chequessett chocolate parfait. Lemon and chocolate are actually a very common flavor pairing. Beyond basic vanilla, chocolate goes well with almost any fruit flavor. Citrus flavors, like orange and lemon, are most traditional, but even...More

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

We went after the new people took over the restaurant hoping for continued dining. What a disappointment! Menu was difficult to pick from as choices were odd combinations and bizarre. It was very expensive and when my order came it was floating in olive oil...More

1  Thank Midge215
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 25 hotels in Dennis
Sesuit Harbor House
227 reviews
1.70 km away
Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
92 reviews
2.16 km away
Kingfisher Lodging
41 reviews
2.24 km away
Blue Rock Resort
195 reviews
6.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ice Cream Smuggler
245 reviews
.79 km away
Firestarter Pizza
13 reviews
1.03 km away
Fin Seafood
270 reviews
.45 km away
Scargo Cafe
860 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Scargo Tower
222 reviews
.74 km away
Cape Cod Museum of Art
73 reviews
.54 km away
Scargo Stoneware Pottery & Art Gallery
35 reviews
.85 km away
Hokum Rock Blueberry Farm
9 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
annabelle5478
24 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Laurel P | Reviewed this property |
I was a guest, not the owner . I also suggest that you phone them.
0
Votes
Laurel P
16 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Denise A | Property representative |
We are closed on Mondays and the month of March
1
Vote
Akshay D
14 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheAkumalian | Reviewed this property |
The restaurant's phone number is 508.385.2133 and they have an on-line reservation system with URESERV. TRY AGAIN TOMRROW.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$50
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:30
Monday
17:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:30
Thursday
17:00 - 21:30
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419 (Formerly The Red Pheasant)
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Dennis
  • Phone Number: +1 508-385-2133
  • E-mail
Description
At The Pheasant (formerly the iconic Red Pheasant Inn) the focus is on farm to table dining offered with gracious and approachable service and hospitality. Utilizing the highest quality, seasonally-driven ingredients from local farms and purveyors, The Pheasant offers dishes with a unique Cape Cod identity influenced by classic New England flavors. Join us at the bar for creative cocktails, a thoughtfully curated wine list, and local craft beers and ciders. Closed Tuesday, open every other night until 9:30p, and until 11p on Friday & Saturday.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing