We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moorenko's Ice Cream

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8030 Georgia Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20910
+1 301-565-7804
Website
Today
12:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 - 20:00
Fri 14:00 - 22:00
Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

After dinner, desert was right next door. had a mango sorbet cone, awesome. Granddaughter ate most of it but it was good and cheap.

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B B
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Hi Carolyn, Thanks so much for bringing your granddaughter! I'm glad she loved the sorbet and that you did too. We hope to see you again sometime soon! Best, Matthew Klein Director of Operations Moorenko's Ice Cream More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
1,028 reviews
671 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Moorenko's is small and not the easiest to find if you don't live in the area, but it's worth it for the ice cream, especially if lactose intolerance limits you to sorbets and you like to avoid things that are too sweet. Their campari sorbet is just right.

Helpful?
Thank jaseaton
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! We understand that sometimes it's tough to find, but we do have a public parking garage right next to us, so that helps a lot. I'm so glad to hear you like our sorbets, we always try to make sure we've got at least four or five dairy free options to choose... More 

Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
237 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2016

After looking at reviews for Moorenko's we decided to give them a try. The location we first tried turned out to be an industrial park in the middle of nowhere - I'm assuming they're distribution center is in there somewhere. So then we made our way to this location after finding a parking spot went in to give it a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tubaman77-CTC
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Hello Tubaman77, Sorry about the location confusion, you definitely found the address for our kitchen at first, which is why you ended up in an industrial park. Where was it that you were looking that you found our kitchen address? When you were there, our staff should have offered you tastes of the ice cream before you ordered so that... More 

Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Delicious ice cream in a very worn store. Web says fro yo but there isn't any. $4.00 for a kiddie cone. It's good, but not that good. I won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank Rowlaw
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Hi Rowlaw, Thanks for coming in and thank you for the review! I'm not sure where you saw that we carry frozen yogurt, but that's something that we've never had. If you could let me know where you saw that, I will do everything I can to get it fixed. As far as the cost goes, we charge that because... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2015

Located in a block waiting for revitalization, Moorenko's has some of the best ice cream to be found in the greater Washington area. They have now added hand-made gourmet sandwiches unlike any to be found elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Martha H
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Hi Martha, Thanks so much for your great review! We were super excited to get those sandwiches and soups in too! Because things are slowing down due to the colder weather, we're only going to be open Friday-Sunday and therefore won't be able to have the sandwiches and soups until we're open again full time in the Spring. But definitely... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2015

Let me start here... I love Moorenko's. They make really high quality ice cream and it is a local product. They have 15 or 20 rotating flavors and there is always something that fits the "one of my favorites" categories. Some of the flavors are not things I have seen anywhere else. They also have rich flavors that are indicative... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morcant
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Morcant, Let me start here... we love you too! You're the best, thanks so much for such a fantastic review, it really hits the spot (so to speak) reading such kind words. We're coming out with some new flavors for the Fall season for everyone to try, so come check them out (hickory smoked vanilla, cinnamon, pumpkin, just to name... More 

Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2015

Fabulous flavors, like coconut, ginger, fruit berries of all kinds depending on season, salted carmel, and several chocolate types to meet the most discriminating chocoholics!

Helpful?
1 Thank tutuandtutu
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Hi tutuandtutu, Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I'm so glad that you've been able to find so many flavors to enjoy! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2015

Moorenko's advertises small batch ice cream using only the finest ingredients. That may be true, but the result is a very ordinary ice cream at inflated prices. They offer a large variety of flavors, some of which are creative, that is typical of a gourmet ice cream vendor. You can sample any and all of the flavors. I sampled about... More 

Helpful?
Thank PSamp
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Hi PSamp, I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't wonderful! We take a lot of pride in our ice cream, and are always striving to make the best product we can for an affordable price. There are times, understandably, that we can't compete on price with other companies from smaller towns with lower overhead. I do thank you for... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2015

i go there after dinner at crisfields. i go there because of the big scoops jordan gives me. i go there because i like cotton candy and gummy bears.

Helpful?
Thank W Fredric G
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Thanks W Fredric G! We like to think it's a perfect way to end the evening after a nice meal out at Crisfield. Seafood bisque followed by a scoop of ice cream? Yes please! See you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
142 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Absolutely delicious home made ice cream . I tried the Walnut-Coconut ice cream. It has a subtle flavor with little pieces of walnut and coconut, an absolutely must visit if you are in the area

Helpful?
Thank Juan Carlos M
Matt K, Owner at Moorenko's Ice Cream, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Juan Carlos! I always like to say that Coconut Almond is one of my favorite "breakfast ice creams". It's just clean and fresh and not very sweet, perfect way to start your day. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Moorenko's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Moorenko's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Accepts American Express, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:00
Thursday
12:00 - 20:00
Friday
14:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8030 Georgia Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20910
  • Location: United States  >  Maryland (MD)  >  Silver Spring
  • Phone Number: +1 301-565-7804

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moorenko's Ice Cream staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?