We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bull And Claw

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2270 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4716
+1 207-646-8467
Website
Today
08:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 657: English reviews
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent the long weekend in southern Maine and once again stopped at The Bull and Claw. I had the two foot lobster roll with the soup and salad bar. My wife had a grilled steak with the soup and salad bar. Bull and Claw offers unlimited soup 3 different flavors. A full salad bar with warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toncomusic
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

We want to thank you for coming to see us for a delicious meal. It was our absolute pleasure to serve you and your wife a lobster roll, steak, and some soup and salad! We truly hope to see you both again. Best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This place lures you in with advertised buffets and specials. The food was awful. The service was terrible. The atmosphere was something out of a musty old movie. The coffee however was very good. Save yourself a poor meal and go across the street to the Maine Diner.

Helpful?
Thank tampa f
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Tampa, we aren't sure what went wrong with your food, or with your service, but this doesn't sound like us at all. If you could point to some specifics on what went wrong, then we would be more than happy to correct them. Just curious, did you make your server aware that you weren't satisfied with your meal? Best, Daryl... More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Our server Staci was one of the best ever. She was friendly, efficient, attentive and went out of her way to help us with local area tourist suggestions. One person in our party wanted crab legs - which they were out of and wouldn't have for several days. Staci checked around and tried to find another local restaurant that had... More 

Helpful?
Thank JCseminole
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

The best server ever? Now that's a compliment -- I'll have to share this with Staci! It's so great to hear the food was able to thoroughly impress, too, and I hope we'll have the chance to welcome you in again someday! Best wishes, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

rochester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fun time here. There was 5 of us. I shared the 2' lobster roll and included the soup and salad bar with rolls and fried onion petals. Other people in our group got the fried scallops, fried clams, and baked stuffed salmon and everybody was pleased

Helpful?
Thank pastrychefjenn
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

As we mentioned in our other response, we're so glad you had a wonderful time with us! We can't wait to see you again. Best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was very good. Baked stuffed sole was delicious. Ginger bread martini was wonderful. My husband prime rib was average.

Helpful?
Thank Katrina O
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Katrina, we're so glad that you had a wonderful time with us. The baked stuffed sole was a fantastic choice -- we can't wait to serve it to you again. Best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016

Good family restaurant for big groups and people with kids. Kinda noisy and a little pricey for the quality of the food. Most of the "stuffed" seafood dishes were mostly breading...my salmon was terribly overcooked and almost inedible. Salad bar was nice but doesnt make up for the mediocre main dishes. (being very generous)

Helpful?
Thank barnaclebobBoston
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

We're sorry to see that your recent visit didn't meet your or our standards. It's regrettable to know that we didn't put our best effort forward when you were in, and we want to apologize to you for that. We have been around for a long time, and that is for good reason -- we hope we have the opportunity... More 

Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

I say that because I haven't had king crab in 25 years, and ta-DA, it was on the menu at Bull and Claw. HUGE proportion, I could hardly eat it all. Not only that, they gave me a scissors to make it easier to extract the huge chunks of meat in the legs. We eat here often when we visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee P
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Dee, it was our pleasure to make sure that you were able to enjoy some delicious crab for the first time in a long time -- thanks for letting us be the ones to serve you! Furthermore, it's great to see that your husband enjoyed his meal as well -- it was an honor to host you both, and we... More 

Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

Thanksgiving dinner there was terrible. The vegetables were not cooked through and the turkey was dry. The gravy was tasteless and I didn't receive the cranberry sauce as stated on menu as being included. The other meal was prime rib which they gave turkey gravy instead of au jus and the meat was so tough you couldn't chew it. As... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoyceByrne4
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Joyce, I'm so disappointed to hear we let you down on Thanksgiving. Hearing how much our other guests enjoyed the holiday meal, I can't help but feel something went wrong. Please know, we're always happy to make any corrections on the spot if we're made aware, and I hope you were able to let your server know. If there's anything... More 

Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Very generous portions. I had a wonderful Salmon dish. Because we had great appetizers we could not finish our meals. Made Salmon salad next day.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Patricia, I'm so glad you enjoyed everything, and it's great to hear the leftovers were delicious too! We appreiate you coming by, and we hope we can welcome you back soon. Take care! All the best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Vergennes, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

We went to the Bull and Claw during our annual fall get-away to Maine. We have stayed in Wells plenty of times but have never eaten here, so after several of our friends recommended it, we decided to give it a try. It was a Thursday night, and not many people in the restaurant. We got seated right away, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianne J
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Dianne, I'm so glad you decided to follow-up on your friend's recommendation! We're so thrilled we could be a part of your belated birthday celebration, and it's great to hear you two had a wonderful time. We're looking forward to welcoming you back, and we truly appreciate you taking some time to spread the word! Take care. All the best,... More 

Been to Bull And Claw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$100
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Digital Payments, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet
Good for
Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2270 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4716
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +1 207-646-8467
Description
Located in Wells, The Bull N' Claw offers the highest quality seafood and steaks at the most reasonable prices with portions that will make you smile after every scrumptious bite! Over the past 36 years, we've become the destination for visitors to New England to enjoy deliciously fresh local seafood including our famous cape porpoise lobster, always prepared to order. It doesn't get any fresher or any better than Bull N' Claw.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bull And Claw and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Alburgh, Vermont
Wells, Maine
over a year ago
Brunswick, Maine
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bull And Claw staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?