We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roost Cafe and Bistro

262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
+1 207-646-9898
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (38 reviews)
“cuban pork” (22 reviews)
“flan” (11 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
American, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 597 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Food was really good, but the restaurant was just run so poorly that the good food didn't make up for it: only half our table got water, two of the things we ordered were not available that night, one person's meal wasn't delivered and yet...More

Thank Jennmello
Reviewed 5 days ago

Stopped in for the Sunday Brunch, wow. The food was excellent, the Pomegranate martini was perfect. Will definitely be going back.

Thank Deborah J
Reviewed 6 days ago

I was tempted to write "the Roost Rules!" as my headline, but chickened out....In any case, here's what happened at this cute little spot when we were in over Memorial Day weekend. It is right across from Northern Union -- a tremendous restaurant -- and...More

Thank Alex H
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Good Morning Alex. WOW, what a wonderful review. Thank you so very much. Yes, we have had a couple of hits, but we always try to learn from them and improve. Your comments just make us more enthusiastic to continue providing quality meals. Thank you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We happened across this cute little spot for brunch while visiting Ogonquit for a girls' getaway weekend. Attentive service and wonderful meals; 5 women, 5 different dishes, all of us impressed. We were sorry we didn't have the chance to return and plan to do...More

Thank Darvik93
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you ladies. Glad we were able to make your visit a happy one. Look forward to seeing you next time. Rob PS The dinners are pretty awesome as well !!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Today was my mother in law's birthday. After an epic trip to Alaska for her birthday last year, we were trying to think of how to top that! She let us know that she would enjoy a visit to the ocean. We thought of the...More

Thank islandtravel07
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning. This is Rob with whom you spoke while sitting on the little veranda. You have written a beautiful story about Roost. Thank you. We are glad that enjoyed your meals and the environment while dining. Writings such as yours gives us the energy...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have wanted to come here for a while. It did not disappoint. Cute place! Delicious breakfast! Try the gluten free blueberry pancakes. The fluffiest gf pancakes Ive ever had. Im going back up in July for a few days and cant wait to bring...More

Thank Mrs G
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Did you know that Roost Cafe and Bistro has been voted in the top 5 for Best of Brunch on the seacoast. Finals in voting start on the 26th of June.. Yahoo. Rob...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a bad experience here, and we won't be going back. We waited about 45 minutes to get our appetizers (mixed green salad and mussels). I ordered grilled salmon with parsnip and pear puree. I specifically mentioned that I didn't want the special (grilled...More

Thank VacancesBoston
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The online menu listed items as vegan that were not. It took 30 minutes to get water and 35 minutes to get tea. The toast that came with the meal never materialized. An hour after being seated the waitress asked if we still wanted the...More

Thank tee5
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry for your experience and we have corrected the item that was listed as vegan and is not. I want to take the high road in any response to reviews, but since we tried every thing at the time to accommodate you I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful food! Perfect for individuals who have celiac disease! Warm and friendly environment! Can't wait to go again!

Thank jennifer s
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Roost was so good from service right down to the food. The waitress knew exactly what to recommend and was accommodating when one ingredient was not a favorite. She offered an alternative cheese for a stuffed chicken dish. That also let us know the...More

Thank LakelifeMaine
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lobster Shack
752 reviews
.72 km away
That Place
558 reviews
.27 km away
Cove Cafe
282 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Marginal Way
3,862 reviews
.63 km away
Ogunquit Playhouse
773 reviews
.37 km away
Perkins Cove
1,764 reviews
.68 km away
Ogunquit Museum of American Art
338 reviews
.98 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Matt M
Dear Mr. Pinkham: I'm not sure how you can say "all the other reviews," if you take the "poor" and "terrible" reviews equal about 20% of the reviews posted. Another 20% defined it as average. We appreciate getting good food for a good value for our money. It seems that was not apparent for us and others. I may indeed be incorrect on the seating numbers, but July Fourth weekend, one would think that :excess" space would be in demand. I do not wish to get into a pissing match here. I try to be as forthright as possible with my reviews. If a place excels, I will post it as such, even noting minor missteps. But if a place is deserving of poor marks, I will post that too. Yes, it is subjective, but I've eaten in some awesome low and high end places, and I've eaten in some horrible high end and low end places. Please accept my and the other less than wonderful reviews as constructive criticism and use it for the betterment of your establishment. I hope you succeed in that task.
18 July 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from AldoandRob | Property representative |
Dear Sir, I get all what you say.And we do, listen to all the reviews, regardless of the # of stars given. And we do meet and take away a bit of humility when we make mistakes, but use the review to improve. I do believe... More
0
Votes
Di30
Will you be open on Easter Day and if do will there be a special menu? Are reservations also being accepted?
7 March 2015|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Henry D | Reviewed this property |
I am an occasional visitor, so I am not able to answer. Try contacting them through their web site.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$35
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900 (Formerly Ninety Eight Provence)
    (Ledge Road)
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Ogunquit
  • Phone Number: +1 207-646-9898
  • E-mail
Description
A warm and welcoming Cafe and Bistro where our philosophy is hand-crafted, a la minute entrees and appetizers that are exquisite, yet affordable. We pride ourselves on classical cooking techniques with contemporary flavors and creations that are perfect for a bistro. Our Summer hours are as follows: Breakfast/Lunch/Brunch: 8 am - 2 pm Pub Fare: 2 pm - 9 pm Dinner: 5 pm - 9pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing