We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Newagen Seaside Inn

€€ - €€€
American, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
+1 207-633-5242
Website
Today
11:30 - 14:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Fri 11:30 - 21:00
Sat 11:30 - 14:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

If you can snag one, choose a table in the attached patio area to enhance your meal with wonderful ocean views. The lunch menu includes several salads, sandwiches, flatbreads (aka pizzas) and numerous seafood choices. Everything is “farm to table,” well prepared, presented, and served. One plus about this restaurant is that it is open year round

Helpful?
Thank SisBoston
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review....I'd love to know what made it only three stars. Would you mind sending an email to clarson@newageninn.com? Also, I'd love to say that we are open year-round, but we are open seasonally from mid-May to mid-October. More 

Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016

Had lunch of haddock tacos...very tasty and fresh cut french fries were delicious. My friend had a cup of clam chowder that was exquisite. The weather was sunny and warm so we were able to enjoy our lunch overlooking the flower gardens and ocean. The menu offered unique salads, seafood and sandwiches. A little something for everyone.

Helpful?
Thank forshara
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! Please come see us again soon! More 

Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016

Servers from all over the world work here and are committed to making your stay memorable. The food is excellent as well, so stop by for a meal or a longer stay.

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Peter! We agree that the international students are a huge part of what makes Newagen so special. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016

Decided to give it a shot after failing to find good food in boothbay for a week.was disappointed with the ambience in the dining room.....more like a cafeteria for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank harrygonzo
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

A cafeteria? Well, that's a first. Are you sure you were at Newagen? Oceanview deck overlooking a rolling lawn and gardens with attentive waitstaff....pretty nice cafeteria. ;-) More 

Trieste
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We were able to get a table because most of the guests were at a sponsored clambake. The dining room is quite small 12 indoor tables in an enclosed porch. Our table had a nice view of the water and our waitress, Sasha, was lovely and attentive. The wine list, though not extensive, is adequate with several interesting wines like... More 

Helpful?
Thank William R
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, William. So glad you were able to get a table and that everything was tasty. Hope to see you back on property soon! More 

Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed at the resort and spent a day lazing around and decided to just eat all of our meals there. This was disappointing. Service was really slow and unimpressive. It was difficult to get refills on drinks while we waited 40 minutes for food. Once food arrived it was bland and overcooked. these were the worst meals that we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christie R
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

My boyfriends best friend had an over the top wedding here a few years ago and the tent for the outside dinner was beautifully old fashioned and well decorated. Dinner that night included (ALL 5 STARS!) caprese salad with heirloom tomatoes and super fresh mozzarella, gaspacho, and lobster tail with steak and green beans for the main course. It all... More 

Helpful?
Thank themaritimes92
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It's nice to hear that your great experience as a wedding guest brought you back to the property years later. The fish tacos are, indeed, a local favorite. Keep coming back! More 

Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went to Newagen Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We liked that it faced the water and that it was a place that was special to Rachael Carson, an environmentalist, naturalist and author of "Silent Spring", "Edge of the Sea" and others. A short distance from the main Inn there is a path to the sea.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Mary! We were honored to help you and your husband celebrate your anniversary. Please come back for future special occasions, or if you just want to relax by the ocean! More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Last year when we went to Newagen, the music was too loud and the food was good but not great. This year we sat on n the porch with soft classical music in the background and we all enjoyed our meals. The baked Brie appetizer was excellent and so was the clam chowder. The filet mignon this time was great.

Helpful?
Thank Meramore
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us another shot - so glad we could win you over! More 

Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2016

We dine at this inn frequently during our long stays in Maine and particularly enjoy sitting in the porch area between the dimmer bar area and the outside deck. So far this year, we've really liked the lobster roll on brioche, the sliders, and the stuffed haddock. I found the crab cake on the bland side, but thought that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bi-coaster
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - we're happy to keep welcoming you back! More 

Travellers who viewed Newagen Seaside Inn also viewed

Southport, Mid Coast Maine
Southport, Mid Coast Maine
 
Southport, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$18 - US$45
Cuisine
American, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
11:30 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Mid Coast Maine  >  Southport  >  Newagen
  • Phone Number: +1 207-633-5242

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Newagen Seaside Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Newagen Seaside Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?