We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant

548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1146
+1 207-935-3442
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good10%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pulled duck” (15 reviews)
“filet mignon” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, International, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1146
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jonathan and Natalie Spak are two of the nicest people. They have brought a new personality and charm to the Inn. Our family especially enjoys Jonathan's Pub located on the lower level. The warmth and atmosphere of the pub truly makes you feel like you...More

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Wendilee7
OHIInnkeeper, General Manager at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wendilee7, The Spak family certainly brings warm hospitality and creative dishes to our quaint town of Fryeburg. Paired with our excellent kitchen and waitstaff, we are a destination dining spot for all! Jonathan's Pub is inviting with granite walls and local artwork, and still features...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Exquisite meal, wonderful ambiance, superb service! Recommend for a special occasion, or go downstairs for just dessert and coffee.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TrailBlazer748385
OHIInnkeeper, General Manager at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow! We are so happy to read that you had a fabulous experience with us. I will share your positive comments with my staff. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a reliable standby for us.One of the few white table cloth restaurants in the area. The food is terrific. The menu changes with the season so you never have same old same old choices. Great service and creative cocktails, well made.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank bluto011
OHIInnkeeper, General Manager at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your comments. Our team has been thoroughly trained to offer exceptional service, and I am glad to read that you felt well taken care of. I will make sure to share this review with my staff and the innkeepers. Looking forward...More

Reviewed 11 November 2018

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary meal here in July (I'm a mom of four young ones, so it took me a while to get to this review). We easily booked our reservation through the Open Table website (I always appreciate not having...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank kurisuteina
OHIInnkeeper, General Manager at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We appreciate you celebrating your anniversary with us! Looking forward to welcoming you back for another spectacular meal.

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

While traveling we came upon this Inn on a Wednesday. Thought it might be a good place to dine (6:30 pm) dining room had 2 tables seated, and only one table occupied on the porch. All total -- 3 couples. We were told (rudely)they were...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AtlantaLuvtotravel
Natalie S, Owner at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

We include in our advertising and on our website that reservations are highly recommended. You arrived during peak foliage season with out a reservation. While we didn't look busy upon your arrival, we had 66 guests coming in between 6pm and 7:30pm. The open tables...More

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We were anxious to try the fare as we read some great things online. Food is good but servers need some help. Ordered a steak and was asked if there was anything else and wine was requested. It never made it to the table. Otherwise,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank shawn m
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hello Shawn, Would you mind e-mailing me at innkeeper@oxfordhouseinn.com with the date of your visit and what name your reservation was under? I am very happy to see you enjoyed your food, but would like to investigate where your service went awry to correct this...More

Reviewed 6 October 2018

Thank you to Natalie & Jonathon for making our stay absolutely delightful. From the first greeting, to great advice on what to do during our stay. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The bathroom was tiny but very functional. Breakfast...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jeff H
OHIInnkeeper, General Manager at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Jeff H, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay while visiting the White Mountains. Thank you for leaving your kind comments about your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Really looked forward to dining here. Unfortunately, the food was just ok and the service was not good. Menu descriptions were far more interesting than the food served. We waited a long time for entrees, only to have them brought out lukewarm. Wine not poured,...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Travels_Mucho
OHIInnkeeper, Owner at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Hello Travels_Mucho, We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant. I am not sure when you were here or what the situation was for your experience, but we hope you will consider giving us another try.

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Our family gathered for dinner to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed a quiet dining room with relaxing view of countryside. Meals were fantastic. I didn't want to reach the final bite of my swordfish. It was perfectly seasoned and grilled to perfection -...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 89DeborahS
OHIInnkeeper, General Manager at The Oxford House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for hosting a 50th Wedding Anniversary with us! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience while dining and celebrating. I will certainly pass along your kind words to our Chef and his team. Cheers!

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

The outside of the restaurant is as charming as the inside. I was impressed with both the food and the service. The food came out quickly and was very good for the area. I have the grilled lamb dish and my companion had the chicken....More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank m-sfca
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Quinn's Jockey Cap Country Store and Motel
9 reviews
1.46 km away
Saco River Lodge & Suites
157 reviews
3.89 km away
North Conway Grand Hotel
1,569 reviews
10.46 km away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
714 reviews
10.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
302 West Smokehouse & Tavern
255 reviews
.17 km away
D's Pizza Pasta & Subs
20 reviews
1.46 km away
Quinns Jockey Cap Country Store
18 reviews
1.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Northeast Snowmobile and ATV Rentals
27 reviews
.07 km away
Weston's Farm
23 reviews
.34 km away
Saco Valley Sports Center
16 reviews
1.06 km away
Saco River Brewing
8 reviews
1.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dan B
18 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from OHIInnkeeper | Property representative |
Hello Dan B, Our menus change seasonally to incorporate the abundance of fresh ingredients grown in our area. We generally do have a pasta dish on our menu. You can visit our website to see what we are currently serving... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$50
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 548 Main St, Fryeburg, ME 04037-1146
    (Oxford)
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Fryeburg
  • Phone Number: +1 207-935-3442
  • E-mail
Description
Culinary Institute of America graduate chef/co-owner crafts his seasonally changing menus to showcase the best that local farms have to offer, using techniques from around the world in the farm to table concept. Enjoy spectacular sunsets or fireside dining while savoring a delicious and creatively presented meal.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing