We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Six Bells

€€ - €€€, British,
Church Road | Felsham, Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England, Felsham IP30 0PJ, England
+44 1449 736268
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (6 reviews)
“brownie” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Road | Felsham, Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England, Felsham IP30 0PJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Went in as a party of 4 for a Sunday roast. Great service and the food was superb!! - the meat was as soft as a baby's bum. Excellent atmosphere, highly recommended - will definitely be visiting again in the near future.

Thank Jordan S
Deborah H, Owner at The Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Many thanks for your kind review I don't think we have had our meat described quite like that before but glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This is my first visit since a change of management. There was a fairly limited menu, perhaps to be expected in a small village. I don't recall seeing fish on the menu. We had fairly generous portions of protein on our plates and the vegetables...More

1  Thank Joan L
Deborah H, Manager at The Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Many thanks for your review of the Six Bells. All reviews are important to us good and bad so that we can constantly improve our business. However I am a little confused by your comments. Our fresh fish comes in every Friday and we have...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017

We Moved into the village of Felsham just over two months ago, and as luck would have it the pub had recently reopened after a period of closure with a new landlord and landlady a couple of months prior to our arrival. This put us...More

4  Thank davidneil
Deborah H, Manager at The Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for your kind words. We havre worked very hard since we have taken over the Six bells to turn it in to a welcoming place for all offering good food at reasonable prices with a relaxed atmosphere and pleasant surroundings, and it is...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The food is OK but when it says "homemade" I don't expect frozen roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings.More

3  Thank The I
Deborah H, Manager at The Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for your review and I am sorry it has taken a while to respond. I take your point about our roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings. Most of our food is home made but being a small family run business we have used ready...More

Reviewed 19 February 2017

As locals we were sad when the Six Bells closed last year but very relieved when it reopened with a new landlord and landlady. The pub has always had a great welcoming atmosphere but the new team have spent a lot of time and effort...More

2  Thank FlorenceLP
Deborah H, Manager at The Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words and sorry it has taken a while to respond. We are working hard to make the Six Bells a welcoming place for all including those with family's and those who want to come for just a quiet...More

Reviewed 19 February 2017

I used to like going to this pub as not many proper pubs like it left! The food was always pretty good and reasonably priced along with a good atmosphere with a good mix of local regulars and eaters. Food now very poor and regulars...More

2  Thank binaround_10
Deborah H, Manager at The Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for your review and I apologise it has taken a while to respond to your comments. We are sorry you feel the way you do but unfortunately for pubs to continue to survive they must improve and welcome all customers rather than just...More

Reviewed 30 January 2017

Early days but first thoughts after seeing a sign on the door saying "we reserve the right to close if the bar is not busy" are not good. Not over welcoming but food is OK, home cooked style, reasonably priced, nothing really though to set...More

1  Thank Miles294
Deborah H, Manager at The Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for your review and sorry for the delay in replying. I see you have miss read the sign on our door we actually state that if the pub is empty half an hour before closing time we will close half an hour early....More

Reviewed 22 January 2017

We've used this pub regularly for the last few years. This was our first visit since it changed hands. Still a nice friendly atmosphere. Dogs still allowed down one end of the pub. The pub has been re-decorated and looks clean and fresh. New carpet...More

Thank Lee S
Deborah H, Manager at The Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for your review and apologies for late reply. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and appreciate the work we have done. Unfortunately shortly after we took over the Six Bells the open fire was condemned for leaking fumes...More

Reviewed 4 January 2017

It was good to see the Six Bells open again, with a team from the nearby Five Bells in Hesset as the new landlords. We have enjoyed our previous visits to the Six Bells, more for drinks and crisps, than the food - not always...More

1  Thank Maisie33
Deborah H, Manager at The Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for your kind review and we are sorry for the tardy reply. We have completed many of our refurbishments since your review and it may be that you have been in to see us again since then. We are intending to continue to...More

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Traditional pub with delicious home cooked food. Portions were generous, staff were friendly and the atmosphere was greqt

Thank Douglas M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Brewers Arms Rattlesden
124 reviews
3.67 km away
Five Bells
41 reviews
4.88 km away
The Buxhall Crown Inn
350 reviews
5.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Haughley Park
6 reviews
7.52 km away
Lavenham Guildhall
472 reviews
8.29 km away
The Church of St Peter & St Paul
104 reviews
8.69 km away
Little Hall Lavenham
104 reviews
8.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pauline B
23 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Jordan S | Reviewed this property |
Yeah it is :)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Road | Felsham, Stowmarket, Suffolk, East Anglia, England, Felsham IP30 0PJ, England (Formerly The Six Bells, Felsham Nr Stowmarket)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Felsham
  • Phone Number: +44 1449 736268
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing