We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Old Sun Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Main Street, Colton LS24 8EP, England
+44 1904 744261
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good18%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“rabbit pie” (7 reviews)
“bread” (27 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Colton LS24 8EP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Every time we’ve visited the food, the atmosphere and the service have been really good. The wood fired pizzas are brilliant for a cheeky takeaway. A great drink selection with guest ales, strong wine list, many find and interesting non-alcoholic drinks. The welcome from the...More

Thank Adam P
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your 'Properly good' review Adam, you seems to have found your way around everything during your visit to us.... The Pizzas are going down really well, eat in or take out.... Glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for a meal Tuesday night. Conversation stopped as we walked through the door. Food was excellent but felt very unwelcome and was in the midst of pretentious snobs . Obviously only locals welcome !!!More

3  Thank karencarroll65
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Sorry to hear about your experience when you visited the other evening Karen, the night in question we had no drinkers in the bar as they were all outside enjoying the evening Sun on the front patio area, Do you mean the conversation of the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited The Sun Inn last night and was very disappointed with the GF pizza. Base was obviously bought in, as was thin and tasteless. Most dissappointing of all was the lack of topping.. Didn’t even put the tomatoes and cheese to the edge of...More

Thank dawn12342018
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am sorry to read about your disappointment with us Dawn, yes we do buy in our Gluten Free Pizza bases, we have tried to develop a consistent base but when we taste tested against other products that base was picked as being far better...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

3 course Sunday lunch menu is incredible. Definitely recommend the pancetta croquette, the roast beef, and the trio of dinky desserts was excellent too. Very quaint village pub close to the A64. Worth a visit.More

Thank Jordana H
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review from our Sunday Lunch, we change our menu every week but had great feedback from the Pancetta Croquettes so they may be on again soon! We are situated in a beautiful village setting and have the advantage of only been a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ordered tabbouleh to start I was so excited to see it on the menu......... It wasnt tabbouleh, it was cous cous. Moving on we ordered our mains they were delivered to the wrong table, left there for 5 mins (while the residents of said...More

1  Thank Speedykim
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We messed up Kim....we don't always get it right and this was one of those occasions. As you know Anthony who has been with us a couple of weeks and yes, still training, took one of your meals and a pot of chips to the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just happened upon this gem of a village pub and boy were we glad. Very quaint inside...a proper pub.The staff are so warm and friendly and it has quite an extensive menu. We were given complementary homemade bread sticks...which were served warm and very...More

Thank DonnaandMarcus
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to read your review from your recent visit to us, we do pride ourselves on being a Pub at heart that serves quality food from a daily changing menu. The swordfish has been very well received whilst its been on there the last few...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chose this as a lot of the stuff was pricey, eg 14.95 for fish and chips (!) Burger was mush and clearly undercooked, skin on fries were overcooked and rock hard. Gherkin stuck on a wooden stake............ Complained and we were refunded, no problem and...More

Thank Dave B
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your very dramatic review Dave, not sure what you were expecting with your Falafel burger as you kept insisting there were not chick peas in it and it must be bought in?? We make the burgers ourselves just like the beef & venison...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for a nice country pub for a sunny Sunday evening.We booked on line and enjoyed fab food. Kids menu was excellent too.highly recommendMore

Thank Helen J
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad to hear you had a great time with us last Sunday, the weather was great and really made for a pleasant Bank Holiday weekend. The kids menu is treated just like our other dishes, fresh and local.... We expect our kids to eat the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at the Premier Inn and decided to take a drive out to find a decent pub. So glad we did. Fantastic service, good range of beers and gins! Decent outdoor area of the weather is fine. Highly recommended.More

Thank Ian M
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review Ian, we're not far from the Premier Inn so ideal for a stroll over the fields (in the good weather!) or short drive... That's for those that know we are here! Glad to hear you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on husband's suggestion as he had been before and sampled the food and drink. I ordered a charcuterie afternoon tea which I shared with him as there was too much for one really. Oh my goodness - it was amazing. A really nice...More

Thank Yorkshirepudding_10
Ashley M, Owner at Ye Old Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review for our afternoon tea! We're so glad that we were suggested by your husband- hope he gained many brownie points! Our afternoon teas go down rather well, and the charcuterie one is a great alternative especially for our Gluten Free...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Colton Hotels
Premier Inn York South West Hotel
1,015 reviews
1.30 km away
Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel
415 reviews
1.62 km away
Holiday Inn York
1,455 reviews
6.50 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1,407 reviews
6.68 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Three Hares
174 reviews
2.08 km away
Sizzling Plate
57 reviews
2.97 km away
The Blacksmiths Arms
457 reviews
5.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Angel and White Horse
49 reviews
5.90 km away
Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens
222 reviews
5.98 km away
ClayFever Ceramic Painting Studio
8 reviews
6.01 km away
Harmony House Cookery School
7 reviews
6.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Karen B
3 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from lmw444 | Reviewed this property |
I'm pretty certain they are open Christmas Day and you'd probably need to book well in advance its very popular
1
Vote
Debbie H
12 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from richbu9 | Reviewed this property |
So sorry, just seen this. Would definitely advise booking. Hope you enjoy.
1
Vote
Joan E
6 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from dabar_h | Reviewed this property |
Hi We only went for a meal but there were people staying.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$41 - US$52
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Colton LS24 8EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Colton
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 744261
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;