We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sharrow Bay

Sharrow Bay Sharrow BAY, Howtown CA10 2NA, England
+44 17684 86301
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good12%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sharrow Bay Sharrow BAY, Howtown CA10 2NA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to Sharrow Bay only occasionally the first time being in 1960/1 when it was 15 shillings for dinner. It has become grander over the years. |The situation is as good as it gets the staff attentive and the ambience unbeatable But it...More

Thank Tim S
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Tim S, thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit to Sharrow Bay, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed it. I duly take all feedback on board and will pass it on to the team. I hope we can welcome you back...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is just lovely! The welcome to the hotel really started days before on the phone as both Enid and Janet were very helpful in helping us select our room and advise on local restaurants. The hotel is well signposted but the approach road is...More

1  Thank jeanhooper
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jeanhooper, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear you felt welcome and relaxed. I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay again soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for Saturday Lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary.The quality and service has to be one of the best we have experienced. We were made to feel so welcome and offered drinks in the lounge whilst deciding on our choice of menu. Beautiful views across...More

Thank Ian C
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ian C, congratulations regarding your wedding anniversary. I'm pleased to hear we were able to help to help you celebrate, and hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay again soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 3 October 2017

The quality and service has to be one of the best. I have not visited the hotel for 6 years but no change in the standard whatsoever, the food was sublime you pay for quality and you get it. We have recommended both the hotel...More

Thank Lindsay D
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Lindsay D, Thank you for your very kind comments, I will pass your comments on to our team. I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay again soon indeed. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 3 October 2017

This was a Christmas present from our son and wife and grandchildren which we purposely delayed usingand making a booking for until after the season but whilst the weather was still good. We are local to the area so we knew very well the reputation...More

Thank tyke710
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear tyke710, thank you for your very kind comments about your Afternoon Tea. We're please to hear you enjoyed it, and thank you for your positive comments about the team, I will pass your feedback on to them. I hope we can welcome you back...More

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

On the strength of my recommendation based on the memories 20 years old my wife booked Sunday Lunch for two as a special birthday treat for me - The experience told me never to make a restaurant recommendation based on old memories again! Sadly the...More

Thank Ken G
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Ken G, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy it. I am unsure which lunch you had as we do not have any at that price, but regardless, we shall pass your comments...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017

Walked from pooled bridge to thesharrow bay had tea and biscuits on the terrace overlooking the lake freshly homemade biscuits and plenty of tea

Thank anniebabes2016
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear anniebabes2016, thank you for dropping in for tea and biscuits - our terrace is a lovely place to enjoy the lake views. I hope we see you soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Could be viewed as expensive but given its quality, level of service & the ambiance also the fact that it was a milestone birthday very much worth it

Thank clampitsontour2016
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Clampitsontour2016, thank you for your very positive comments, I'm happy to hear we helped you celebrate your special occasion, and hope we see you at Sharrow Bay again soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Great food. served well by delightful staff. One would probably not want to eat there every night as they provide a set menu which is probably too much after two nights of enjoyment

Thank Z6133XQandrewb
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Andrew B, thank you for your positive comments - I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and will pass your comments on to our team. I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We have stayed and eaten at the Sharrow Bay several times in the past and was looking forward to taking our children for afternoon tea one day and then dinner later in the week. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to its past. It has a...More

3  Thank Kevin N
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Kevin N, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to us. Sadly you did not leave any feedback at the time of your visit, and your comments are quite vague, so I have very little constructive feedback to work with,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
1863 Bar Bistro (Restaurant)
199 reviews
3.04 km away
The Horse and Farrier Inn
154 reviews
4.68 km away
The Royal Hotel Restaurant
141 reviews
6.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Distant Horizons UK
34 reviews
1.40 km away
Hallin Fell
69 reviews
3.19 km away
Aira Force
1,545 reviews
5.82 km away
Graham Uney Mountaineering - Day Courses
73 reviews
7.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sharrow Bay staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$50
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sharrow Bay Sharrow BAY, Howtown CA10 2NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Howtown
  • Phone Number: +44 17684 86301
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing