We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Bar & Bistro

) #2 of 8 Restaurants in Ripponden €€ - €€€ Bar, British, Pub
46-50 Oldham Road, Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4DP, England
+44 1422 825880
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good18%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“soup” (27 reviews)
“macaroons” (11 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
DETAILS
46-50 Oldham Road, Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4DP, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Came has a half way point and googled before we came and the menu looked very appealing. As we got there we were greeted with miserable faces of a collection of about 3-4 young waiters/waitresses. They saw us and continued their conversation behind the bar...More

2  Thank nharbz
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having frequented The Fox for many years and had fantastic meals we had a break when they got a poor health review. We decided to start going back after the original owner/chef returned. We ordered the steak and ale pie, being an old favourite, however,...More

3  Thank grahamsmith1949
kamis798880, Head Chef at The Fox Bar & Bistro, responded to this review

Hi I am very sorry to hear this mainly due to the fact that the steak and ale pie hasn't been on the menu for almost 12 months so I was quite surprise it has took you this long to put up a review about...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An excellent cream tea, we shared 4 between 5 of us and still had to have doggie bags to take some home, a great atmosphere, we had to ask to have clean plates for our desserts, the maître de was very much on the ball,...More

1  Thank KellyBrighouse
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The afternoon tea was fabulous the staff could not do enough for us, truly a place to visit xx All fresh home made

1  Thank Carol W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went today for lunch after many people reporting it was great!....our experience? Not so great. The place seemed dirty and a little "down at heel". From ordering our drinks at the bar with a "sticky" bar surface, dirty chairs and a dirty carpet, our first...More

2  Thank HuddersfieldMarco
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not been to this restaurant for several years and will not rush to repeat the visit. It was very average and the atmosphere was not very welcoming. Service was however good but far too many questions about the meal.

3  Thank elmada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met up with old work friends for an Easter catch up over afternoon tea. The service was rather slow, despite the restaurant not appearing to be too busy. It took 3 requests to get our Prosecco brought to the table, after we had already received...More

2  Thank Rosie L
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Excellent. Food amazingly good. We all had the "Easter Picnic Bench". Really good value, refreshingly different and really great service from Peter.

2  Thank PeterandTrudi
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Great food 2nd time we have been would highly recommend the picnic bench staff always plesant cant do enough for you

1  Thank P200sue
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

We had a very bad experience. I contacted them through Facebook and explained. They didn't get back to me so I contacted them again. They simply said they passed my comments onto staff, what did I want them to do. So I simply said an...More

7  Thank traceypaper
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Stanley's Kitchen
44 reviews
.19 km away
The Fleece Countryside Inn
1,082 reviews
1.02 km away
Cinnamon Lounge
66 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Fox Bar & Bistro
149 reviews
.00 km away
The Rose and Crown
7 reviews
3.89 km away
Caldene Antique Centre
10 reviews
6.65 km away
The Butchers Arms
8 reviews
.78 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
maria l
Would it be suitable for a wedding? Maybe 50 people?
9 January 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from plainfields22016 | Reviewed this property |
You can have exclusive use of the upstairs room but not sure if you would get 50 in. Definitely worth asking though
0
Votes
Stephanie O
Do You Still only have 3 hygienic stars?
7 December 2016|
Answer
Response from tomgunny | Reviewed this property |
I think they do the hygiene wasn't great when we went.
1
Vote
Jacky R
Do you open at lunchtimes ?
22 March 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from K1TTB | Reviewed this property |
Yes it will be open at lunch time Regards
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$39
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 19:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:00
Thursday
12:00 - 20:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46-50 Oldham Road, Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge HX6 4DP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Sowerby Bridge  >  Ripponden
  • Phone Number: +44 1422 825880
  • E-mail
Description
Opening Hours Monday - Tuesday - 12.00pm-7.00pm Wednesday Thursday - 12.00pm-8.00pm Friday Saturday - 12.00pm-11.00pm Sunday - 12.00pm - 10.00pm