We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Otto's Place

100 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2302
+1 815-776-0240
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good15%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (35 reviews)
“quiche” (93 reviews)
“coffee cake” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
100 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2302
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Best place for a great breakfast!!! Cool little place on the other side of the river. The staff was wonderful too!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JYurs
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

We appreciate your taking the time to give us a review! Please visit us again! John

Reviewed 26 September 2018

This was a great find during our visit to Galena. The breakfast menu provided something for everyone. The cinnamon roll was big enough to share and was delicious. Also had the cinnamon bread French toast - delicious as well! Excellent service in a quaint restaurant....More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank djteach531
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thanks for your review! We only make the cinnamon rolls on weekends and we always sell out! Glad you were there early enough to enjoy one! We hope you will visit us again! John

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We went here for breakfast this morning with the family. It's a small place, so plan on waiting if you have a large group. We had 8 and a baby and waited about 45 minutes, but the wait is SO worth it! The service is...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank AutumneRyan
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

We really appreciate your review! We typically always have a wait on weekends and we always recommend folks call ahead to get on our Call List. So happy you enjoyed your visit! You could eat here all the time, just move to Galena! That would...More

Reviewed 17 September 2018

Food was delicious and generous portions. Friendly wait staff, good service. No waiting on a Thursday noon. Quieter than downtown, worth the short drive.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank _thevierbichers
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

We very much appreciate your review! So happy you enjoyed your visit! John

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Quiche and Eggs Benedict were excellent. My wife had a mimosa that was also great. Very clean, quaint, and excellent service. Will always go back here when in town

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 113RonW
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you very much for your review! We do hope to see you on your next visit to Galena! John

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Make sure to call ahead. We tried to go the first day and it was a two hour wait. We made a reservation for the next day. We had to wait about twenty minutes but boy was it worth it. My husband had the banana...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank live2wine
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review! Glad you were able to join us and very happy you enjoyed yourselves! Happy 3 year anniversary and wishing you many more! John

Reviewed 3 September 2018

Luckily we were able to get a table right away! This would be well worth the wait though, the weekend cinnamon rolls was a great starter to share between the two of us. The food was amazing. We will return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank wleigh06
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you so much! Dans' cinnamon rolls are fantastic and always a big hit! Look forward to having you visit us again! John

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

After a very disappointing dinner, my friend and I were looking for a good place for breakfast. We stumbled upon Otto’s Place! The minute we walked in, we knew we came to the right place. Great decor and fantastic help! The waitress was wonderful and...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank cecetwins3
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

We can't wait to have you join us again on your next trip to Galena! Thank you so much for your review! John

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Otto's Place is a great place for a relaxing breakfast in Galena. With comfortable seating, nice decor and a different view of Galena if you have to wait for a table, Otto's doesn't disappoint when you taste their offerings. Leave main street behind, take a...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AndrewM533
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

So glad you were able to join us and we hope we will see you again! We greatly appreciate your review! John

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Had breakfast here and everything was fresh and homemade. Very friendly staff and nice cozy atmosphere. Definitely going back for breakfast during our next galena visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jenlpn
John S, Owner at Otto's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you very much! So glad you enjoyed yourself! We very much look forward to your next visit! John

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Galena
DeSoto House Hotel
654 reviews
.29 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
752 reviews
.96 km away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
902 reviews
1.10 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
939 reviews
1.65 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Root Beer Revelry
230 reviews
.29 km away
Log Cabin Restaurant
1,281 reviews
.50 km away
Embe
360 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grant Park
221 reviews
.15 km away
Washburne House State Historic Site
61 reviews
.25 km away
Mangelsen - Images of Nature Gallery
41 reviews
.19 km away
River Bend Gallery
30 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
HCFamily
25 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Joe N | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
0
Votes
Fondy2015
29 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MaureenS794 | Reviewed this property |
I️ don’t know about lunch but whatever time you go, I️ would call ahead and put your name on their waitlist. They don’t take reservations.
2
Votes
cldeergirl
27 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from John S | Property representative |
Certainly! We have a great wine list and a full bar!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
View, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 14:00
Monday
07:00 - 14:00
Thursday
07:00 - 14:00
Friday
07:00 - 14:00
Saturday
07:00 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2302
  • Location: United States  >  Illinois (IL)  >  Galena
  • Phone Number: +1 815-776-0240
  • E-mail
Description
Breakfast and Lunch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing