We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Inn

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Shalfleet €€ - €€€ , British,
Main Road, Shalfleet PO30 4NS, England
+44 1983 531314
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“whitebait” (22 reviews)
“salmon” (20 reviews)
“black pudding” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Shalfleet PO30 4NS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Yet again the quality of the food and the service always makes a visit to the New Inn a great experience and looking forward to their next visit. Great choice of traditional and local foods with a special board. Try to book 1st due to...More

Thank Andrew B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here on our way home for an amazing triple roast...delicious! They were happy to make mine gluten free. Lovely friendly staff, welcoming clean pub and dog friendly too. They serve a Sunday roast until 9pm. I am looking forward to returning this Sunday.

Thank Ceri B
Reviewed 1 week ago

We called in here on Sunday on an unplanned afternoon drive. We were hungry as we had missed lunch. We were surprised to find it relatively quiet for a Sunday lunch(late lunch). When we arrived there was no one at the bar, so we went...More

3  Thank MarieLax1
Kate S, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We were extremely busy on Sunday so I apologise if we had run out of a few dishes. Whilst there may not have been many people inside the pub, we were also extremely busy when you arrived as our decked garden was full. We don't...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The new inn has been an inn since 1734. And the building has so much character, even if you don't eat there it's worth a visit, just to drink in the history. And If you choose from the limited but interesting menu you won't be...More

Thank lardwarrior
Kate S, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely comments! We hope to welcome you back soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Theresa and I have not visited this establishment for many years but were passing on a warm Saturday in early July. And were we pleased that we stopped!! Not looking for a full meal we headed for the sandwich menu and found some real treasures....More

1  Thank ColinandTheresa
Kate S, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely comments! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a couple of sandwiches and colas sitting out on the sunny deck. Good service and nicely presented but expensive.

Thank Veronica M
Kate S, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went there as a family for a nice evening meal. No real complaints but it just missed that edge that says "good". The place wasn't particularly busy but we had to call staff over to get service every time which wasn't ideal. No complaints...More

Thank ESU1000
Kate S, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, We are slightly confused by your review. We don't actually have a whisky list - there hasn't been one here for six months. We do however have a selection of nine whiskies, all of which are in stock. We don't sell much whisky, only...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staying locally we tried the New Inn as it was close. The menu is good as is the food. We enjoyed delicious Hake and Lobster dishes. Good wine and a good voice of real ales. We will go back as it's well worth a visit...More

1  Thank Lotty C
Kate S, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped in for lunch on a visit to the island on recommendation of a few island friends who have been impressed since the pub was taken over. So glad we took their suggestion! We were really warmly welcomed by a the bar staff and...More

1  Thank CEFC28
Kate S, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for an afternoon meal after a lovely day out. The menu is different to when we visited earlier in the year, with the manager informing us that the menu had just changed to the summer menu to a reflect the changes in local...More

Thank Claire C
Kate S, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Horse & Groom
237 reviews
1.42 km away
The Sun Inn
163 reviews
2.65 km away
The Llama Tree Pizzeria
26 reviews
3.35 km away
Sportsman's Rest
55 reviews
3.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
Newtown National Nature Reserve
19 reviews
1.39 km away
Calbourne Water Mill & Rural Museum
245 reviews
2.44 km away
West Wight Alpacas
330 reviews
3.26 km away
Chessell Pottery Barns
233 reviews
3.95 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Peter T
15 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from bearsome26 | Reviewed this property |
If a restaurant or pub has a relatively small and longterm team of staff, then the chances are the level of service will be almost constant. If the team is bigger, and changes pretty often, especially where the number of... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Shalfleet PO30 4NS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shalfleet
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 531314
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing