We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Benihana Key West

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3591 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5209
+1 305-294-6400
Website
Today
17:30 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 17:30 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 17:30 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 381: English reviews
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a terrific time and really enjoyed the events thanks to our chef Michael! He turned the rice into a swordfish!

Helpful?
Thank SpudlyDudly
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Chef's are very entertaining and cook fabulous dinners. We did not need reservations and all the staff were very friendly. There was more food than I could eat.

Helpful?
Thank keysgal22
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. Some people do not realize how much food is served with our entrees. Soup, salad, shrimp appetizer, entree, fresh vegetables, steamed rice, hot green tea and dessert included with our combination meals. All cooked before your very eyes on the Atlantic with a view of the sunset (this time of year) in Key West! Hope to see... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We thankfully made reservations and they are needed. The waiter kept our drinks refilled and they have great lemonade and mojitos! The sumo sushi roll was amazing and our chef was very nice and we enjoyed his company! However the main entree was just okay. Just typical rice veggies and meat. Good show and atmosphere and service though and good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey W
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us! The Sumo Roll is one of my personal favorites as well and is a meal in itself. Remember, you can always reserve a dinner for 2 on the ocean in our sushi lounge. Your sushi will be prepared by our sushi chefs and your hot items prepared in our sushi kitchen. Hope to see... More 

Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waitress was horrible at her job. George the chef was fantastic. The show he put on was worth the price but food wasn't. Hate eating with strangers, especially with kids that touch all the sauce bowls

Helpful?
Thank fafufnik
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed Chef George and would like more information on the rest. Please note that you can get the same hot grilled items at your own table in our oceanfront sushi dining room sans the Chef cooking at your table. We have a flat grill inside the sushi kitchen for this purpose. Hope you will try us... More 

Platteville, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the first time several in our group had had sushi. Our sushi chef Ray who was wonderful. The dishes were fabulous. My personal favorite were the scallops. Our waiter Yohany was wonderful. We will be back. What a lovely experience and great food. Thank you gentleman for a wonderful experience.

Helpful?
Thank Patti W
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

I appreciate your review and look forward to sharing your comments with Chef Ray and server Yohany. We are the only sushi bar in the Florida Keys with a spectacular Atlantic view and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Arigato, Mark H - Owner More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of dining and talking with some of the locals while enjoying a delicious dinner. We've eaten at other Benihana restaurants, as well as, other hibachi/Japanese steakhouses and this one is towards the top of list. The food quality and service was great. It hit the spot and did not disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank April H
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review. We try our best to please our valued patrons and hope to serve you again in the near future. Kanpai, Mark H - Owner More 

Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

For the first time in many years friends and I ventured to Benihana'a in Key West! Great atmosphere and George our cook was incredible. Highly recommend this restaurant on your visit to Key West.

Helpful?
Thank Brian G
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Thanks for dining with us. George is one of our up and coming stars and will certainly appreciate the compliment. Arigato, Mark H - Owner More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I love this place drinks are the best chefs are very friendly new faces everytime. Food is to die for......

Helpful?
Thank Msedwards0
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. Hope you will try out our new oceanfront sushi bar where you can order hot items cooked on the teppan grill in addition to your favorite sushi selections. Arigato, Mark H - Owner More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

They got both orders wrong, the person that came to cook for us was in a very bad mood and was even rude to us, when we asked something he seemed to be mad at us. The cook just threw the food on the stove and heated it...no tricks, nothing...when we received the bill they charged us 18% for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daxina
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

I have spoken to both of my managers and we are all shocked by your comments. We take our business very seriously and will discuss everything with all staff members and rectify immediately. Thank you for writing. Sincerely, Mark H - Owner More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

OK.... it's not local flair but it is a popular restaurant that we don't have in our area so decided to try on our last night in Key West. We were looking for a restaurant that wasn't outdoors, someplace we could sit and talk without blaring live music and humidity! Benihana's fit the bill. Dinner was the usual teppanyaki, quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank cjlpenguin
MARK H, Owner at Benihana Key West, responded to this review

Thank you for dining with us and writing such a nice review. We have been here since 1986 and appreciate every patron that walks in our doors. Hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Mark H - Owner More 

Travellers who viewed Benihana Key West also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Benihana Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$18 - US$39
Cuisine
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 22:00
Monday
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
17:30 - 22:30
Saturday
17:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3591 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5209
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Florida Keys  >  Key West
  • Phone Number: +1 305-294-6400
Description
Benihana in Key West, Fl has been a staple in Key West for over 27 years! Benihana Key West features the ONLY Oceanfront Sushi Bar in Key West and is completely redesigned for a premier dining experience where every table overlooks the sparkling Atlantic! Be dazzled as our talented chefs prepare the freshest steaks, shrimp, chicken, seafood and traditional meals expertly prepared and cooked to perfection on a steel hibachi grill - by a chef who is as much entertainer as culinary master, right before your eyes. Beverage bar with cafe seating and LCD TV's to catch your favorite sports scores. Private Kimono Room for parties of 15-20 people, we can accommodate parties from 10 to 110 people. Kids Menu also available. Bring a friend, a date, your children, your whole family - anyone who enjoys a delicious, freshly cooked meal with a little fun thrown in. Call Benihana today for the best Steak, Seafood & Sushi!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Benihana Key West and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Benihana Key West staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?