We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Farlow's On The Water

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2080 S McCall Rd, Englewood, FL 34224-4542
+1 941-474-5343
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,244: English reviews
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2016

First we sat at the bar having hors d'oeuvres and a drink. Then we were seated in outdoor seats for dinner. The food and service were good.

Helpful?
Thank Grahams-Home
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

Thanks for enjoying a relaxing evening with us! From the hors d'oeuvres to the final bite of dinner, we're pleased everything hit the spot. Hope we can have you back again sometime! Until then, Laurie and Keith, Owners More 

Waterloo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2016

My wife and I have visited Farlow's probably 25 times since we started coming here 14 years ago. In recent times we've often come twice, once for lunch and once for dinner. It is pleasing to see an expanded zone for extra tables now, but I do have to wonder if it is starting to cut into the quality that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave-n-Theresa
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

First off, Dave and Theresa, thanks for being such loyal guests over the years. We expanded pretty much everything, and the kitchen was a big focus -- it honestly sounds like we were having quite an off-night, and we're sorry for any missteps that may have happened. We've made some changes, but our standard of quality wasn't one of them,... More 

Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2016

We come over from the uk 4 or 5 times a year to or home in Rotonda and farlows is always top of our list of restaurants to visit.A great choice of seafood and steaks and some yummy deserts.I do miss the West Indian rice that has been removed from the menu,but will be returning in late April to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank harristribe
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

Every visit after such a long journey is a special one to us! We're always trying to improve for the better around here, and though a few menu shifts have occurred, that means adding in some new dishes, as well! We do still prepare the rice for the lunch menu. Can't wait to have you back, Until then, Laurie and... More 

Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2016

We haven't been to Farlow's in awhile - tried last summer but the wait was too long. We decided to go for our anniversary - and went early. We each had seafood - husband enjoyed the Caribbean Seafood Delight grilled - and I had Peter Island Scallops. This is scallops with blue crab, artichoke hearts, spinach, and lemon in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mimi E
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

Happy anniversary, Mimi! Glad the occasion brought you back our way -- it was an honor to host. Though it sounds like the shrimp was a highlight, we're just tickled you loved every single bite. Come see us again before too long! All our best, Laurie and Keith, Owners More 

Franklin, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2016

Really nice place to dine.....fresh fish daily....Caribbean flavor on most meals....indoor/outdoor dining on small body of water....live music most nights...their home made dressing for salads is so so good....sweet/sour flavor....wide assortment on menu.

Helpful?
Thank Larry210
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

Looks like we're a hit, Larry -- thanks! From the music to the fish and beyond, we love hearing good things, because it means we're doing our job right. Thank you for getting in touch! Warmest regards, Laurie and Keith, Owners More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

We visited Farlows for two different birthday celebrations with friends. Even with call ahead seating we had a 45 minute wait; during that time we were able to sit on the outside patio with a few drinks & appetizers, which was enjoyable as the evening was delightful. Once seated, the service was quick, a little too quick, as we hadn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mjuip
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

Thanks for spending two truly wonderful celebrations with us! Glad you were able to relax with some drinks while you waited, and we're thrilled everything hit the spot. Whatever the occasion, birthday or not, we'll be looking forward to your next visit! Until then, Laurie and Keith, Owners More 

Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Nice location and decor...terrible and expensive food. Not sure why this place is so popular...the waiters were very accommodating but the food itself was not good. Limp salads, overcooked/ not fresh tasting fish...it just didn't match up to the $25-35 entree prices!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tbacaner
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

What you described doesn't match up with the value we're aiming for -- in fact, it's not our standard, either. While we can assure you we only use the freshest fish and ingredients, we wish you would have let our team know some of these concerns in the moment. We would have gladly looked into anything you mentioned. Hope you'll... More 

Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2016

Farlow's has it all. Good food, great atmosphere, good drinks and good service. Take your time...don't be in a rush. Cocktails by the water..enjoy the entertainment. Great appetizers and entrees. Outstanding seafood...which is served hot...I find this is not always the case. Friendly service. Finish your evening with a after dinner drink at the fire pit. You will enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank MrSunshine34287
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

We love knowing you think we have it all -- thank you very, very much for all of your supportive words. It sounds as though you know exactly what the Farlow's experience is all about! We can't wait to have you back over for more cocktails, fresh seafood, and top-notch service. Best, Laurie and Keith, Owners More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Farlows continues to produce Tropical dining in a refurbished restaurant that is one of the best in this area. As a regular Florida visitor, I know that Farlows will provide me with fresh fish, great waitstaff and a happy atmosphere. The menu is large, with plenty to choose from, but all with a Caribbean flavour. The car park is always... More 

Helpful?
Thank shorrock41
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

One of the best? We're honored -- thank you so much for your supportive, enthusiastic words! From the food, to the service, you really only deserve the best, so it's truly awesome to know that's exactly what you get with us. We sure hope all of us here at Farlow's will be seeing you again sometime soon! Kindest regards, Laurie... More 

Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2016

In the Englewood, Florida area for a 1954 mini high school reunion and Farlow's was suggested for dinner. We were able to make reservations a few hours earlier for sixteen people and they were able to seat us and get us served by a terrific waitress, whose name I am sorry I forgot. Although I did complement the manager and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 216LindaC
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review

What an incredible celebration! That's really special, and we're so thankful we could be a part of it. Trust us, we were thrilled to help make the evening go smoothly. Just an FYI for next time, we offer reservations for parties of 8 and up, but for groups fewer than that, just call us up to 60 minutes ahead of... More 

Travellers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Caribbean, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2080 S McCall Rd, Englewood, FL 34224-4542
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Southwest Gulf Coast  >  Englewood
  • Phone Number: +1 941-474-5343
Description
After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Farlow's On The Water and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Burnsville, Minnesota
over a year ago
Laurel, New York
4 months ago
Englewood, Florida
Venice, Florida
11 months ago
Sarasota, FL
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Farlow's On The Water staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?