We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salty Squid Cafe

€€ - €€€Seafood, , Gluten Free Options
67 Moreton St, Toogoom, Queensland 4655, Australia
+61 7 4128 0184
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good16%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (5 reviews)
“salted squid” (64 reviews)
“pies” (16 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
67 Moreton St, Toogoom, Queensland 4655, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely love coming for breakfast here! Beautiful environment, amazing friendly staff and delicious food! Eggs benedict for breakfast our go to meal absolutely delicious every time

Thank Kailah B
Ian L, Owner at Salty Squid Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Kailah for your great review, we really enjoy having you here, and are so glad you love our eggs Bene, looking forward to seeing you again soon, Toni & Ian

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So full of options for breakfast lots more than the usual suspects. I've had the creamed eggs and french style baked. Always take home some top quality pastries for later. I am so lucky to have such imagination and quality at my doorstep. Yummy thanks...More

Thank deb d
Ian L, Owner at Salty Squid Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Deb, we really appreciate the locals that support what we are about, and we are so thankful that you take the time to let others know of your experience at Salty Squid, looking forward to seeing you soon, Ian Toni & Max

Reviewed 7 October 2017

We booked our table on the verandah so we could have our two small dogs nearby. This is very important to us as they like to come with us whenever possible. The breeze was blowing gently off the Bay making it a lovely location to...More

Thank Donelle H
Ian L, Owner at Salty Squid Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you Donelle for the wonderful review, we really appreciate the great feed back,BUT we are not a cafe or a bakery, we are a licensed seafood bistro, we used to be a cafe before the change so we don't have sandwiches or rolls as...More

Reviewed 29 September 2017

We had a pleasant lunch of whiting and chips and grilled cuttlefish. Although it doesn't overlook the water, there was a lovely breeze on the veranda. We didn't try the slices on display for dessert as they were quite expensive.

Thank MarjofromBrissie
Ian L, Owner at Salty Squid Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you marjofrombrissie for the lovely review. so glad you enjoyed your lunch, look forward to seeing you again when you are next up this way Ian & Toni

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

A quaint relaxed hidden away treat, Salty squid is worth the short drive to Toogoom. The natural surroundings are an escape from your daily, the atmosphere is pure and the food is quality homemade and full of love. The owners go above and beyond and...More

Thank onetasteatatime
Ian L, Owner at Salty Squid Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you onetasteatatime for the kind words, we do love what we do, so I am so glad when some one like yourself actually experiences it, look forward to meeting you next time you come, Ian & toni

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing food!! However I find they are always, always running out of steak pies. In business when you constantly run low on the same item it means 1 thing. MAKE MORE!!!!!!! The demand is greater than your supply.More

Thank Teresa D
Ian L, Owner at Salty Squid Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you Teresa, you are so right, we do always run out of steak pies, you need to get in early! we don't put too many out since we are now a licensed seafood bistro and not a cafe, we do the pies manly for...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Thankful for the lovely meal , professional service . Great to see every thing fresh , we will be back . Toogum great spot

Thank Russell_Czinege
Ian L, Owner at Salty Squid Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you Russell, really appreciate the review, looking forward to seeing you again, Ian, Toni & Staff

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Have been meaning to come here for time and were not disappointed. We just wish we came here sooner. Being very health concious, we were pleasantly surprised to find that all the food is made from scratch. The breakfast menu was fantastic and diverse. I...More

Thank Samantha S
Ian L, Owner at Salty Squid Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you Samantha for this great review, so glad you really enjoyed the experience of Salty Squid, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it, I am glad we were able to attend to the fact we had run out of paleo...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

went there for Fathers Day lunch, was friendly , service was great , food was tasty . Everything was freshly made with their on dressing. Great to see young people given a chance to learn the industry. was clean and tidy.We sat outside

Thank cathy3575
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We tried to get in the previous afternoon but were too late. So we went the next morning and we're glad we did. I had a perfect spanner crab omelette and he had poached egg. Service was wonderful and cheerful. We will be back.

Thank Jennie M
Ian L, Owner at Salty Squid Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you Jennie, so glad you came back, and so glad you have a great time with us, looking forward to seeing you again Ian,Toni and staff

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
A Taste Of Burrum
20 reviews
8.91 km away
Howard Hotbread Bakery
14 reviews
13.07 km away
Homemade
26 reviews
16.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burrum Heads Beach
36 reviews
9.16 km away
Grand Hotel Howard
20 reviews
13.11 km away
Bamboo Land Nursery & Parklands
14 reviews
14.21 km away
Fraser Coast Discovery Sphere
93 reviews
17.76 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Salty Squid Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$26
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 15:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 15:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 15:30
Thursday
08:00 - 15:30
Friday
08:00 - 15:30
Saturday
08:00 - 15:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 67 Moreton St, Toogoom, Queensland 4655, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Fraser Coast  >  Toogoom
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4128 0184
  • E-mail
Description
Salty Squid is a Licensed Seafood Bistro in Toogoom, just 20 minutes from Hervey Bay. Specialising in Home made Sour dough bread, french breakfast pasties,Breakfast and lunches, Tuesday to Sunday, We also do Dinner once a month on a Friday night,(First Friday of the month) bookings only. We have a Foodies philosophy, We only work with the freshest produce when it is in season, we use only local product. Some times there is a little disappointment when some thing is out of season or the weather has interrupted the supply chain, but we work with what we can get. Makes life interesting as well as challenging! We do encourage feed back and we constantly try and improve on what we are doing!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing