We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Rose Inn & Delhi Spice

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
87 Ashford Road, Bearsted, Maidstone, England
+44 1622 738200
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First visit here and it was a last minute thing after my birthday plans went a bit pear shaped! Very attentive staff, and fantastic flavoured food with very tender meat. Tandoori Chicken to die for, cooked on the bone so a lot of flavour without drying out (like you often get with chicken pieces on a skewer). Reasonable prices with... More 

Helpful?
Thank poggy497
Management response:

Thank you for your review. On your next visit ask to be sat at the back of the Restaurant, which is much quieter and you shouldn't be affected by the bar. But segregating the two is something we may do in the future thank you for the feed back, as we're always wanting to give our customers a good experience.... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went here Saturday 18th. This is effectively our local now. It has a good atmosphere. The food is very good, maybe not the absolute best but up there. Servings size could be z little more.when it's busy had to wait ages. Food was worth it if a little expensive. I would come back, yes of course.

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Management response:

Thank you for your review. I look forward to seeing you again soon. I will pass your comments onto the team. More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have eaten here many times: takeaways & stay ins We had 30 people and they coped well all guests had a great time and the "Spice boys" Haque and his buddy who's name I don't know were good hosts the owners are always very hospitable and manage the place from the front often buying drinks for locals We love... More 

Helpful?
Thank TPFMk
Management response:

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your special day with us. I will pass your comments onto the team. More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to collect for a take away as this place had been recommended by a friend who had eaten in one Thursday night. The popadoms were stale and the chicken tough the pilau rice was brown and not tasty at all so overall a poor meal for £30 Will not be recommending or returning very disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Weeksey1
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clearly understaffed and what staff were there mostly couldnt be bothered. The 1 waiter on tried his best but was run off his feet. The bar staff were less than useless and spent most of time doing nothing or talking to the 4 punters at bar. We even had to go and get our own drinks from bar from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo678_10
Management response:

I'm sorry about your experience.That night we had a waiter go sick,so we were short staffed. The bar staff that were on duty that night have been spoken to as it wasn't acceptable that they didn't assist the waiter when we were short staff. If you would like to discuss this further please can you contact Alom. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Restaurant and pub are open plan so it was noisy, and people shouting and swearing isn't the ambience I was after. The food was a mixed bag with only my sag being any good and the rest being poor. I wouldn't go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank joel a
Management response:

i'm sorry about your experience.If you would like to discuss it further please contact Alom. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

Always have very tasty curry here, service can be slow ... or perhaps just relaxed. Nice setting, good price, good food.

Helpful?
Thank John B
Management response:

Thank you for your comment.Service can be slow when we're busy, but all the food is cooked fresh to order. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We used to go to the spice hut in town centre but have started to frequent this place as its by far leaps and bounds the best curry house in maidstone! As is the service not only by the retaurant staff but also the bar owners who pretty much run the place as a family, The food does take a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron M
Management response:

Thank you for your review.I will pass your comments onto our team. More 

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

Booked table for 12 ...10 days in advance for a 40th birthday celebration.had to wait 20 minutes at bar to buy first drink and at least 1 hour before they took our orders..we had preordered popadoms and pickles..thank goodness! Long wait again for starters to arrive then sat with dirty plates for nearly another hour for main courses...by which time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Molly B
Management response:

I'm sorry about your experience.The bar staff control the volume of the music and part of their training is to make sure that in the Restaurant the volume doesn't affect our diners experience.The staff have been made aware of your review. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

1st time here with friends... 10 of us to be exact.. it was as expected quite busy and we had booked .. we ended up around 45 minutes late being seated and had to wait in the bar /pub which is part of the restaurant... once we were seated we ordered our food .. no side plates or cutlery on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
Management response:

Sorry about your experience. All staff on shift that day have been spoken to regarding the service you received. If you would like to discuss this matter further please can you contact Alom. More 

Travellers who viewed The Rose Inn & Delhi Spice also viewed

 

Been to The Rose Inn & Delhi Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Pub, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Television
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 87 Ashford Road, Bearsted, Maidstone, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone  >  Bearsted
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 738200

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rose Inn & Delhi Spice staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?