We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
West Terrace | Whitley Bay, Seaton Sluice NE26 4RD, England (Formerly Kings Arms Seaton Sluice)
+44 191 237 0275
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 373: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Wont be going again Our food was nice but the service was lacking not once did we ask if the food was okay and i was standing at the bar for ages and there was no sence of order for who was next it was just a free for all.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On this occasion I don`t wish to be disparaging as I have friends who live near here who speak highly of the Kings Arms ... Today we were disappointed and my husband says he won`t go back . I don`t think you can judge because of a couple of bad points . We had mince and dumplings with mash and... More 

Helpful?
Thank EnigmaticJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is our third visit to this cracking little pub. There's a brilliant menu. The gluten free option is fantastic for my wife. A lot of other places "offer" gluten free but only take bits off the meal. Also, no juke box, no pool table or fruit machines and no tv in every corner. Portion sizes are great. Prices great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Two of us ate, one happy, one not Liver and Bacon was very nice, tasty and wholesome. Lasagne left a lot to be desired, dry and bland. Will stick with the Delaval Arms down the road for our final day.

Helpful?
Thank hp100425ev
Paul H, Owner at The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your visit to the Kings. I am sorry that you felt that one of your meals was a lot to be desired, the Lasagne is one of our biggest selling dishes. As explained at the time, by Mark our Manager, it is only a shame that you did not mention... More 

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was an excellent Pub in many ways very friendly atmosphere very good food plenty to choose from we went 3 times whilst on holiday must be good. Margaret

Helpful?
Thank John M
Paul H, Owner at The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice, responded to this review

Hello Margaret Thank you for your review and the team are really pleased you have enjoyed your visits whilst on holiday. We should have given you your own table based on three visits! Hoping to see you again as soon when you return to the beautiful Northumbrian Coast. Kind regards More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this pub for the first time and was not disappointed, we had a wonderful bowl of chunky minestrone soup which was very filling and tasty. I sensibly chose a small portion of sweet and sour chicken again very tasty ,my partner had the medium fish and chips which he said was very good. Unfortunately did not have room for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catons
Paul H, Owner at The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and managed to get a table - yes a number of people said the homemade Minestrone soup was a little filling so three courses was probably not an option! We look forward to seeing you soon and... More 

Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice friendly pub. Foods good. Well presented ! Good portion size. Price good. Need to book always busy when we go. But always book first.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
Paul H, Owner at The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice, responded to this review

Hello Christine Many thanks for your review and glad you have enjoyed us over a number of visits. We really appreciate the time taken to feedback because sometimes we read the odd review and cannot decide whether we live on the same planet or if it is all worthwhile but deep down we know that it is. We look forward... More 

Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't bother heading out here after work hoping to get a bar meal. The place is packed with retired folks who could get in early enough to eat. Despite claiming they do evening meals, they actually close the kitchen by 7:45 - the earliest I have come across anywhere in the UK. Don't waste your time - go somewhere else,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gil R
Paul H, Owner at The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your subjective and rational feedback. I am glad you note we were packed - I will leave readers of your review to decide what sort of tolerant person you are when we are allegedly "packed with retired folk". We are open until 9 on a Friday and Saturday but we won't let that get in the... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Often eat here for Sunday lunch..you have to book mind you. Sunday lunches are great value, it's all tasty and good choice. Plus there's parking and great views. Staff are always great. Was disappointed this time to find they now charge for extra gravy?!?! This is new. Having forgotten to ask when ordering I asked when the food came only... More 

Helpful?
Thank posieroe
Paul H, Owner at The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review and glad you have formed an opinion over many visits as it shows we are being consistent in our service and offering. Sorry about the gravy but we have always charged for extra gravy (at least five years now) as unfortunately many years ago the few ruined it for the majority in ordering extra... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sat outside in the sunshine and had drinks then went inside and had fab food. Lovely views outside of coast and beach. Food was superb and great choice of real ales. Great afternoon to evening and lovely atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Anne S

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice also viewed

Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
Seaton Delaval, Northumberland
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$27
Cuisine
Pub, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Terrace | Whitley Bay, Seaton Sluice NE26 4RD, England (Formerly Kings Arms Seaton Sluice)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Seaton Sluice
  • Phone Number: +44 191 237 0275
Description
Situated on the cliff tops of Seaton Sluice, The Kings Arms is in a fantastic location for anything from a coffee on a chilly day to a 3 course meal. We offer a warm friendly welcome and we take pride on the fact all our food is home cooked! We look forward to seeing you soon...

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms - Seaton Sluice staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?