We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant

€€ - €€€, British,
41 Main Road, Higher Kinnerton CH4 9AJ, Wales
+44 1244 292933
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good18%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (10 reviews)
“ice cream” (3 reviews)
“mash” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
41 Main Road, Higher Kinnerton CH4 9AJ, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Great food, great value and wonderful hospitality. For a traditional Sunday lunch you couldn't find anywhere better. This is the third time we have been recently and it remains consistent every time. The wonderful thing about the Swan is that the whole team put effort...More

1  Thank WilliamShotton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited here with friends for lunch. What a gem! The Swan is so clean and pleasant and the food freshly cooked and well presented. The service was excellent too! I will return!

1  Thank MargaretMFB
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Enjoyed a very good meal here with family. OK, so everything was out of a packet - no pretentious fare served here (!) - but was well cooked & presented and very reasonably priced. Attentive table service was provided throughout by the lovely Lauren (Thank-you)....More

5  Thank The_Mystery_Guest
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Booked for 10 people at short notice for Sunday carvery. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Good selection of meats, well cooked. Generous portions. Great value for money in lovely little pub.

Thank Em2888
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review and for booking. We are happy that you enjoyed your meals and look forward to welcoming you here again. Kind regards Neil & Barbara

Reviewed 5 May 2017

We booked a table for 9 over the Easter weekend. We booked at very short notice. Many thanks. The food and the service we received was second to none. The carvery was excellent, everything was fresh and very well cooked. Our thanks to Neil and...More

Thank scouserIpswich
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments ,and we look forward to you visiting the Swan again. kind regards Neil & Barbara

Reviewed 23 April 2017

Booked for 5 adults, one child and a toddler and were not disappointed. Very reasonably priced at £8.95 a head. Generous meat portions and a lovely selection of veg. Deserts at £2.95 couldn't be ignored either. All the staff were friendly and efficient. Will definitely...More

Thank MusingJules
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. I would just like to let you know that our carvery is priced at £7.95 for adults and £4.00 for children under 12. We look forward...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Friendly staff - have been several times for Sunday carvery but today meat was especially excellent so tasty family meal for eight - we will be back for sure

Thank suecannon50
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thanks for your review ,hope to see you again soon ,I will pass on the message to the staff. Thanks Neil

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Went for evening meal, whilst on first day of a stay at anearby holiday cottage. Excellent food, service and value for money. Steak pie nearly as good as my mum's. Wife had a steak which she fully enjoyed.

Thank ADEJOE
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review The Swan .I'm glad you enjoyed your meals, hope to see you again Neil & Barbara

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Our family have visited this place 3 or 4 times over the last 18 months. There is always at least 8 of us adults and kids and we have really enjoyed it. Great carvery good starter menu and sweet menu - good value for monye

Thank Dave F
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hope to see you again soon ,were glad you enjoyed your visit. Thanks Neil & Barbara

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Possible the single worst evening in a pub ever. Poor selection of beers / ciders and made to feel most unwelcome and disappointing. Thank God they patrons are friendly. Oh and thank Morrisey. Hang the DJ!More

Thank jonesey6969
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

I am sorry to hear that you did not find anything enjoyable at the swan, With regards to the poor selection of drinks ,we stock Thatchers Gold on draught , Magners bottled and Brothers wild fruit , we stock Carling Coors and San Miguel on...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Oak
247 reviews
.76 km away
Jemoleys Cafe and Ceramic Studio
91 reviews
2.62 km away
The Red Lion
286 reviews
3.32 km away
Chiquito
191 reviews
3.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cineworld Broughton
108 reviews
3.56 km away
Luxe Salon
29 reviews
4.89 km away
Gladstone's Library
50 reviews
5.09 km away
Maes-y-Pant / Marford Quarry
11 reviews
6.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
David C
16 March 2017|
Answer
Response from neil b | Property representative |
hi David We are a dog friendly pub ,but not in the dining area , we do ask that dogs are on a lead and not on the furniture . We provide dining to bar if required ,I hope this answers you questions kind... More
0
Votes
Lynne T
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from neil b | Property representative |
hi yes we are dog friendly ,in the bar area only .and on the terrace outside .all we ask is the dog to be well behaved as not to annoy other customers. water bowls are provided for dogs on the terrace and refilled on... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$18
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:00
Thursday
12:00 - 20:00
Friday
12:00 - 20:00
Saturday
12:00 - 19:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 Main Road, Higher Kinnerton CH4 9AJ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Higher Kinnerton
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 292933
Description
Since September 2015 we are trading as a value food pub with a range of entertainment .We are child friendly , but have a policy of no children after 9pm. We have a food hygiene rating of 5.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing