We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benihana

4250 Birch St, Newport Beach, CA 92660-1922
+1 949-955-0822
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good38%
  • Average19%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fried rice” (10 reviews)
“chicken” (8 reviews)
“scallops” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4250 Birch St, Newport Beach, CA 92660-1922
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018

Unless you are really into them preparing the food right in front of you I do not believe the higher prices are the the quality of food you get. You do get a decent amount to eat but I would not rush back there anytime...More

Thank budmaxaz
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

On behalf of the the Benihana team we want to thank you for sharing your review regarding today’s visit. We apologize for the poor experience and hope that you will come back and visit any of our locations.

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Requested a delivery from Benihana through DoorDash and the food came very messy. Upon calling the restaurant, the person who answered the phone was very unprofessional. He claimed that it is not the restaurants’ problem that the food gets delivered messy and not whole. He...More

Thank Nutslady
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your disappointment as this shouldn’t have happened. Your feedback helps us to make improvements and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato. If you would like to get in...More

Reviewed 31 August 2018

We had not eaten teppan in many years together so my husband and I went with our best friends. Ordered a drink at the bar, and was seated just as the bartender made our drinks. We had a very talented teppan chef, and the food...More

Thank Tina455
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Tina, On behalf of the Benihana team we look forward to serving you again!

Reviewed 30 August 2018

This is a great destination for a large party (I think the tables sit eight). The menu is spacious with a variety of food to suit all tastes. The waiter was quick on drink refills, and the chef was most entertaining as he prepared the...More

Thank cosmicpassenger
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

We are happy you enjoyed the Benihana experience! Come back soon!

Reviewed 1 August 2018

James the wait staff is fantastic but just about everything else is below par. Our Chef Andy looked tired, lack of energy, and lack of personality. I think he is in the wrong line of industry. Chef Andy also burned the fried rice ( quite...More

Thank Xmas Visitor X
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

We understand your disappointment as this shouldn't have happened. From behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for the negative experience. Please take a moment to reach out to our Guest Relations team directly via benihanalistens.smg.com/ so that we can make things...More

Reviewed 30 July 2018

I have been hearing about Benihanas for years and finally had a chance to eat at one. I went during lunch on the weekend and was able to get right in. I wasn't really in the mood to sit in a crowded restaurant, so I...More

Thank Sai361
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Sai, thank you so much for your feedback, we hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Our place to visit for special days, date with my husband or celebrating a birthday or something . We eat at this place many times a year and we just love the food and the sushi here. The place is always busy so better call...More

Thank Lsonacol
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to thank you for your continuous loyalty!

Reviewed 25 May 2018

Went to the Newport Beach location for my yearly Birthday dinner. Our chef was great, Jose. Show was good. I would normally rate a 10 on a scale of 1-10. However, this time, I cannot. At most , a 7-8. This is due to the...More

Thank Joyce K
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Joyce, thank you for sharing your review. We understand your disappointment as this shouldn’t have happened. Your feedback helps us to make improvements and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato. If you would like to get...More

Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Always consistent food quality and service. A great show to watch food being prepared teppanyaki style in front of you. Most dinners include hot onion soup, cold house salad with ginger dressing, white rice and vegetables plus ice cream. I highly recommend upgrading rice to...More

Thank big10sjunkie
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

On behalf of the Benihana team we look forward to serving you again!

Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Let me start by 95% of the time this is a great place to go, it’s been a birthday tradition since my wife and I have been together but this time it failed. When you come to Benihana it’s for the experience because there are...More

Thank Disneydreams2014
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

We apologize for this disappointing experience. If you have not done so already, please contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/. Our team would love to follow up with you. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency John Wayne Airport, Newport Beach
70 reviews
.19 km away
Renaissance Newport Beach Hotel
65 reviews
.40 km away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
230 reviews
.60 km away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
1,098 reviews
1.06 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ike's Love and Sandwiches
16 reviews
.39 km away
Bosscat Kitchen and Libations
98 reviews
.40 km away
Ten Asian Bistro
76 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyon Air Museum
144 reviews
.96 km away
The Irvine Museum
65 reviews
.90 km away
Crevier Classic Cars
11 reviews
1.08 km away
One Above Aviation
5 reviews
.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
F2561YCjenniferb
17 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from winkgame | Reviewed this property |
at skip the wheat? Maybe not soy sause.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$21 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4250 Birch St, Newport Beach, CA 92660-1922
    (McArthur Blvd)
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  Orange County  >  Newport Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 949-955-0822
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing