We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro

€€ - €€€, British,
Greenhead | Brampton, Greenhead CA8 7JS, England
+44 16977 47757
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good14%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cod and chips” (5 reviews)
“scones” (8 reviews)
“roast pork” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Greenhead | Brampton, Greenhead CA8 7JS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 154 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited here couple of months ago and we both ordered burgers. Presentation was fabulous and the meal was fairly nice but the burger was pink in the middle which should have been stated whilst ordering as this isn’t how everyone prefers it. Other than this...More

Thank hma1620
Reviewed 6 days ago

I spy that The Blenkinsopp Caravan Park Inn has received a number of below average reviews recently, particularly regarding service. It is certainly untrue that the fabled ‘White Lady’ of the castle died and reached her ghostly state whilst waiting to be shown to a...More

Thank dande24
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We stayed here for a 1 night stopover while cycling the Hadrian’s cycle way with a few mates. We had an excellent time enjoying a few beers and the locally sourced food in a great location. After an good nights sleep and hearty breakfast we...More

Thank Explorer118116
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Seeing Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro offered a breakfast menu and, according to Trip Advisor, were open from 10:00, weekdays, we arrived at 10:30 to be 'greeted' (for want of a better word) by a woman whose facial expression bordered on the insulting as she...More

Thank SAL1414
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am so sorry you received such a poor welcome to Blenkinsopp Castle Inn. We do indeed serve breakfasts between 10 a.m. and 11.30 each week day and Saturday mornings. Although our Chef may not always be there at this time, our kitchen team are...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to Blenkinsopp castle after hearing some good reviews.... and we weren't dissapointed. All the food was delicious, would defiantly recommend the homemade tomato soup , prawn cocktail which was presented so nice on the plate and also the Garlic mushrooms. The lady on...More

Thank sarahwalt1976
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and do hope you will call again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Here at the moment with a family party of 12, table booked for 1.15pm now 2.50 and food only just arrived and some orders still wrong! Lovely place but rubbish service. They should not have taken our booking if they could not accommodate us. To...More

Thank chriskis
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Some of your party were late in arriving. We had left space, but by the time we were able to take your orders we were serving later diners who had also reserved but had managed to arrive promptly. By 2.50 pm you had already had...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On the way home from visiting my daughter in Cumbria my husband and I thought we would try blenkinsopp castle for a bit to eat. It's had a lovely make over, beautiful furnishings. But the menu was less desirable. I was very disappointed finding they...More

Thank BeverlyBell10
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We generally do have a chicken dish on our menu, unfortunately on this particular evening we had sold out. As for the chips tasting of fish, we were at a loss as to why you thought this. Our home cut chips are fried in separate...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always been Cod and Chips man today had the loveliest Haddock and fresh chips and will be back again for the same. Highly recommend the haddock and chips with mushy peas and home-made tartar sauce. Dickii 15-August 2018

Thank Dickii
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much. I agree, the haddock and chips are quite something.

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

This place has it all. A wonderful welcome, beautiful rooms, beautiful food and a wonderful location. We could not have been made more welcome throughout, were given the most beautiful food and slept in a perfectly modern room- perfect.

Thank dcolenso
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and for your lovely comments.

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely, clean and cosy room with private sitting area. Our meal at the Inn was simply gorgeous. The official photos are a tad misleading as they are taken at an angle to omit the retirement chalet park which is very close to the Inn. The...More

Thank Heather K
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

We are very happy that you enjoyed your meal and that you were pleased with your guest room. We certainly have not deliberately ‘omitted’ the peaceful retirement park which is situated beside the Inn. Although the lovely park homes do not belong to the owners...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Station Hotel
1 review
4.29 km away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
106 reviews
10.39 km away
Oakwood Park Hotel
143 reviews
14.02 km away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
386 reviews
15.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Samson Inn
432 reviews
3.37 km away
The Black Bull
643 reviews
4.28 km away
House of Meg
101 reviews
3.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cawfields Roman Wall
89 reviews
4.77 km away
Birdoswald Roman Fort
449 reviews
5.16 km away
Peter Carney: Hadrian's Wall Guide
50 reviews
5.55 km away
Thirlwall Castle
16 reviews
1.89 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ralphsop1619
13 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Magnificentmo | Reviewed this property |
Hi, No Blenkinsopps work at the Inn. It is located alongside Blenkinsopps Castle.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Greenhead | Brampton, Greenhead CA8 7JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Greenhead
  • Phone Number: +44 16977 47757
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing