We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro

€€ - €€€, British,
Greenhead | Brampton, Greenhead CA8 7JS, England
+44 16977 47757
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good14%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cod and chips” (5 reviews)
“scones” (8 reviews)
“roast pork” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Greenhead | Brampton, Greenhead CA8 7JS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Just back from a great weekend here. From arriving to leaving we were made to feel very welcome. We stopped in one of the rooms off the car park and had our 8 month old labrador dexter with us. This room was ideal as being...More

Thank micknjosie
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and the lovely Dexter. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Reviewed 2 days ago

I originally only booked for 2 nights but ended up staying for 9 !! Gary , Carol and their team are very friendly and welcoming and Pam who worked at breakfast time was lovely, always very attentive, as was Gary. The rooms are lovely, cosy,...More

Thank TedBearSue
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you very much. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to seeing you soon and to catch up on your news.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on the way to our holiday cottage. The food was amazing. Lizzie, the fabulous waitress was so lovely, very welcoming and accommodating. We all had different meals and desserts, everyone was delighted with what they had. The portions were huge...More

Thank thepeachyone
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was very nice to meet you all and I hope you enjoyed your holiday.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an outstanding dinner here at the Blenkinsopp Castle Inn, which was close to our lodging at Kellah Farm B&B. The night air was a little cool but inside the castle restaurant it was warm and cozy. The interior does indeed remind one of...More

Thank Bill C
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you very much. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Blenkinsopp Castle Inn.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This week I had the pleasure of staying at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn and Bistro whilst in the area with work. The duration of my stay was 3 nights. On the first day of my arrival, I was greeted by very friendly and welcoming staff who...More

Thank UTI1
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We very much appreciate your thoughts and we look forward to a return visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Evening meal-Food was Ok - but just standard pub fare, not representing any great value with the quality below average. Rather overpriced for £12 main meal of Pie & Mash, server did not ask if we required any dessert or any more drinks - to...More

3  Thank JTHamster
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

You would have been asked if your meals were to your liking, so it would have been good to hear your views at the time. Our traditional Steak and Ale Pie is made here at the Inn. It is packed full of prime tender stewing...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just had to write a review tonight after a superb meal with friends . Food was delicious and plentiful and the staff very pleasant we will definitely be back soon .

Thank Eleanor C
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenkinsopp Castle Inn. Your comments are much appreciated.

Reviewed 7 October 2018

Poor quality badly cooked and over priced long wait for what can only be described as disappointing,More

1  Thank Susan B
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

I apologise if you had a long wait for your meal to arrive. I have no idea whether you made a booking or not as you did not alert us to your dissatisfaction at all. We always encourage pre booking for our Sunday lunch and...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018

We ate here while we were staying at Kellah Farm B&B while walking the Pennine Way. It was recommended by both our first class B&B and the very friendly taxi driver from Spoul's Taxis. They were not wrong, we had excellent meals and prices which...More

2  Thank Bob E
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 4 October 2018

Can get rather busy, and service can be a little slow, but get a drink and enjoy the atmosphere. The restaurant/bar is comfortable, light and airy and with good ambiance. The staff are delightful, and make you very welcome, and when the food arrives you...More

3  Thank Doug C
Libbyann1, Manager at Blenkinsopp Castle Inn & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you very much and we do hope you will call on us again.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Station Hotel
1 review
4.29 km away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
108 reviews
10.39 km away
Oakwood Park Hotel
145 reviews
14.02 km away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
415 reviews
15.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Samson Inn
446 reviews
3.37 km away
The Black Bull
650 reviews
4.28 km away
House of Meg Tea Rooms
105 reviews
3.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cawfields Roman Wall
91 reviews
4.77 km away
Birdoswald Roman Fort
463 reviews
5.16 km away
Peter Carney: Hadrian's Wall Guide
53 reviews
5.55 km away
Thirlwall Castle
16 reviews
1.89 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ralphsop1619
13 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Magnificentmo | Reviewed this property |
Hi, No Blenkinsopps work at the Inn. It is located alongside Blenkinsopps Castle.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
16:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 22:00
Thursday
16:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Greenhead | Brampton, Greenhead CA8 7JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Greenhead
  • Phone Number: +44 16977 47757
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing