We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goblin's Cove

Main Magalies road, R96, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
+27 72 649 6452
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible26%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Steakhouse, Pizza, European, Delicatessen
€€ - €€€
Main Magalies road, R96, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Where on side seeing around that area and searched the internet for lunch options. Was very happy that we found it, as i think it has something special and yes, the owner has just taken it over some month back and is in progress to...More

Thank Thomas B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome place, great food got to try the litchi stuffed with Tuna, try the Jalapeño poppers if you dare.

Thank Brendon H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visiting this place was an absolute disappointment. It is old and run down and the food is below average. No this no sign of effort is being made to make improvements, even though a sign says they are. Do not waste your time here

Thank Priscilla M
CustomerCare4you, Owner at Goblin's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is not the plastic flowers and walls covered with cobwebs from the 1800 scene anymore. We have a different vision and know the "old" crowd will not like it and we hope it happens sooner rather then later.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I tried this place thinking it might be a bit quirky, but we should be able to get a solid (if not exciting) breakfast. Unfortunately, the decor looked like it was half finished, the outdoor tables were poorly decorated. We were so...More

Thank staceysI5518JU
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Goblin's Cove was once a magical place with magically delicious food, sadly it is only depressing now. I understand that Goblin's Cove has some new owners and that every restaurant should be given a transition period, but at the very least it should still have...More

Thank Zanda_Norval
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Poor service - horrible food, new owners are not looking after the venue, very run down and gardens are un-kept, has no atmosphere or magic like it used to - non of the fairies / goblins features are left. waited 2 hrs for food and...More

Thank BrandonsOutDiving
CustomerCare4you, Owner at Goblin's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Please get your fact together before making statements. Did you see the state it was in when we bought the venue??!

Reviewed 18 June 2017

Service: bad Food: horrible Atmosphere: depressing The place is neglected. Not clean. Dont go there. What a terrible waste

Thank susanburger2016
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

We spent the weekend here and even tho there is still a lot of renovations to be done by the new owners, we had an absolutely great time. Great service and friendly staff. We look forward to coming again with the renovated "train" accommodation with...More

1  Thank Justin H
CustomerCare4you, Owner at Goblin's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback. I hope to see you soon to comment on our progress. We are taking alot of negative feedback but I know where we are going and it will be worth it once we are done.

Reviewed 29 May 2017

The staff were lovely however, the grounds are shabby/untidy/run down and the wonderful building is not brought to its full potential. I had a chocolate brownie with ice cream and all it was was a chocolate cupcake with icing. My husband had an Eisbein which...More

Thank blutrea
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Having visited Goblin's Cove on more than one occasion around 5 to 10 years ago, my mom and I decided to pop in while traveling through Magaliesberg yesterday. What a disappointment! We were greeted in a lackluster fashion by a waiter sitting at the restaurant...More

Thank Abigail N
Nearby Restaurants
Heksies Hideaway
17 reviews
.94 km away
Colonial Restaurant
219 reviews
.87 km away
The Bru House & Diner
25 reviews
6.52 km away
Melon Rouge
56 reviews
7.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hekpoort Heksie
27 reviews
10.26 km away
Sterkfontein Cave
446 reviews
16.47 km away
Rhino and Lion Nature Reserve
512 reviews
17.18 km away
Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris
369 reviews
17.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
30 September 2016|
Response from CustomerCare4you | Property representative |
The contact number is (072) 6496452 and not as indicated on your site.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Television
Good for
Open Hours
09:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 17:00
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Magalies road, R96, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Magaliesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 72 649 6452
  • E-mail
Once Upon a Time is a function, wedding and accommodation venue, where you can escape from the world into a playful fantasy world in the forest, where the possibilities are endless. We do fantastical weddings, have a quaint restaurant, riverside picnics and a very unique 1928 train in the forest, where you can stay over for a night
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing