We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
31 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
+27 44 691 1366
Website
Today
08:30 - 17:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 08:30 - 17:00
Sat 08:30 - 13:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2016

What a lovely place Fynbos Restuarant is. I visited with my partner and a friend for lunch. We sat outside in the quaint garden area. The young lady who served us was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. I had a lovely homemade ham and mushroom quiche served wit a salad. The quiche was gorgeous. My partner's and friend's meals... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cranbourne
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments on our shop....I will forward to our team who works hard to give our customers good food and good service. More 

Hartenbos, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2016

If you love Traditional South Africa food, a visit to this beautiful restaurant is a must when visiting Mossel Bay. Service is excellent and very friendly. Best atmosphere in winter with a little fireplace. We visit most weekends.

Helpful?
Thank thomasbL3042GX
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments...we work hard to offer you the best food and customer service to make your visit enjoyable. Looking forward to your next visit. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
296 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2016

Well it is a completely different report now. The fine dining portion has disappeared. The previous excellent chef has moved on to different things now. So back to a coffee shop and a run of the mill looking lunch menu. We only stayed for coffee but it really is a lovely setting and the service was friendly and prompt. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank david o
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. The restaurant section closed two years ago..this site is updated...unfortunately Trip Advisor does not allow me to change the name of the restaurant to coffee shop. More 

Overberg District, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2016

Although the food was tasty the portions were very small. The menu specified a large loaf for a toasted sandwich but it was smaller than the average loaf in a grocery store. We ordered large cappuccino but it is was also in a small cup. The salad was a skimpy peace of letters and a small slice of tomato. That... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Francois R
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback...I am sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. You do not mention which bread you ordered...the wholewheat seedloaf is much smaller that the average size bread. Our salad consists of more than cucumber, lettuce and tomato...you do not mention that you ordered a salad. We only have one size cappuccino. More 

Witbank
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Good food and drinks. Service is slow. Beautiful seating in and outdoor. If not in a hurry, worth a visit. There is also gifts to purchase.

Helpful?
Thank ellie856
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We work hard to offer good food and good service and are working on the slow service. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2016

The quality of the food offered and the service at the Fynbos has not changed for the last ten years. Always clean, service is pleasant and the decor is beautiful. It's great to browse around the shop before or after your meal. The outdoor area is wonderfully shady and quiet. A truly worthwhile visit every time.

Helpful?
Thank lemereis
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2016

On arrival I was told that my 7 year old son was not welcome as they are scared children might break something. This is unacceptable and we left immediately. We will never go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Guestwithkids
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Due to the nature of our business we do not allow children under ten years. This is the rule for the last fifteen years. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

We ordered a butternut soup as a starter, and a liver pate appetiser which was claimed to be accompanied with a 'small salad'. This salad soon proved to be a mere lettuce leaf, half a slice of tomatoe and a cucumber - this my dear comrades is a GARNISH! In addition to this, the poor service severely dissapointed. 15 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emilia N
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

It is very disappointing to receive a comment like this...we work very hard to offer good food and friendly service..we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations.It depends on the type of meal that the guests who came after you ordered...some food take longer to prepare than others. It is also the end of a very busy holiday... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Lovely coffee shop armosphere...quiche and toasted sandwiches enjoyable...hood servi e...lovely gift shop attached to coffee shop....lovely quaint old world feel..

Helpful?
Thank nadinav2016
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive comments and I am glad your visit was enjoyable. I will pass on to the team. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Travelled a long distance after booking and we were not allowed due to my baby being under 10. I do not have a problem with rules...but please give the info when booking and update your website.

Helpful?
Thank coenrade
fynbos1, Owner at Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for alerting us to this. We have done the update and apologise for the inconvience. More 

Travellers who viewed Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Cuisine
Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
08:30 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 17:00
Thursday
08:30 - 17:00
Friday
08:30 - 17:00
Saturday
08:30 - 13:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 691 1366
Description
This cosy coffee shop is situated in a Victorian-inspired pavilion, with outdoor seating available in the lush courtyard. Breakfast and lunch are served - and whether you feel like a cappuccino and a slice of cake, a breakfast or a light lunch, Fynbos Coffee Shop serves it with flair. It is a busy coffee shop and popular lunchtime meeting spot during the day. Dishes are inspired by local availability, trends and the seasons, with something for every taste. Due to the nature of our business we do not allow children under ten years.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?