We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gordon's Restaurant - CLOSED

100 Cradock Street | Andries Stockenstrom Guest House, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
+27 49 892 4575
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good11%
  • Average23%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible11%
30 Jan 2016
“Greatly overrated”
18 Jan 2016
“Also Over-Rated & Underwhelmed!! Don't Take Any Notice of Magazine Articles!”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
100 Cradock Street | Andries Stockenstrom Guest House, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
All Details
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2016

Not staying at th B&B, that houses this restaurant, we made reservations one day ahead. On the night of our dinner it appeared the chef himself wasn't there. This had not been mentioned, we only heard it when we asked for him after dinner. They...More

Thank Emdebee
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This was to be our final dinner of a "Karoo special experience" 5 night trip and one that we were looking forward to having read a recent article in a recent food magazine featuring restaurants in the Eastern Cape. What a serious disappointment Gordons was!...More

1  Thank R_S1963
Reviewed 12 January 2016

This restaurant was highly recommended to us by a number of people... and by the number of press cuttings on display; my husband and I were looking forward to a delicious dinner. Gordon is incredibly charismatic, and the restaurant is lovely and cozy. However, the...More

Thank Joanne B
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

We were very excited for dinner as the restaurant advertises itself as serving 'slow food' direct from the veld. The chef went to lengths to explain how little is done with the food in order to ensure we experience its autentic taste. However, this translated...More

1  Thank Pieter-Francois T
Reviewed 28 November 2015

After reading about the 'slo food' concept I made a special trip on my travels to eat at Gordon's. In fact I returned with my wife on our travels through to the Cape. The first eating experience was mediocre, the concept is great, the food...More

1  Thank holi4eva
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Just the introduction of the dinner is making your mouth water and then the food, accompanied by a fantastic wine and you will feel like heaven. Desserts are a must! Thanks Gordon for the fantastic dinner

Thank Martina K
Reviewed 8 October 2015

This warmly vintage and relevant restaurant offers some of the best cup cakes my wife says. very accessible, with friendly stuff. A very good and comprehensive menu. It is a perfect intimate come and chill with friends place. Though I didn't get to do much...More

Thank Elisha D
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We booked here as Gordon has a 'reputation' for his good food. Gordon was away and left a chef to replace him who was sweet and helpful but totally out of her depth. Food - more than disappointing. Table next to us walked out. Bad...More

1  Thank sandi c
ASGHouse, Owner at Gordon's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Generally when we have a negative review we take it very seriously and try our best to remedy the situation. We will respond to it as tactfully as possible and try to make good with the client. In this instance however, it is a classic...More

Reviewed 14 April 2015

We went to Gordon’s Restaurant on Easter Sunday. My wife had heard about it from some friends, and we were expecting fine dining. Unfortunately, we found ourselves having an almost identical experience as did another reviewer – shame on us for not reading TripAdvisor first....More

4  Thank HerrickJW2
ASGHouse, Owner at Gordon's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

Thank you for your frank review. Clearly we got everything wrong on the night. I have personally investigated the issue thoroughly and appropriate corrective measures have been taken. If you would permit us to show you that we have rectified the situation on your next...More

Reviewed 23 March 2015

Try it - you will not be disappointed. His book as well is amazing and makes for great presents. Inside or outside areas are great to sit in

1  Thank Steven Hamilton J
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pioneers Restaurant
465 reviews
.63 km away
Polka
744 reviews
.24 km away
Drostdy Hotel
43 reviews
.39 km away
Our Yard - Roastery and Cultural Stop
76 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dutch Reformed Church, Groot Kerk
87 reviews
.51 km away
The Reinet House
106 reviews
.78 km away
GRT Brewery
26 reviews
.38 km away
Graaff-Reinet Museum
36 reviews
.51 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$35
Cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 Cradock Street | Andries Stockenstrom Guest House, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Graaff-Reinet
  • Phone Number: +27 49 892 4575
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing