We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gordon's Restaurant

€€€€
European, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
100 Cradock Street | Andries Stockenstrom Guest House, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
+27 49 892 4575
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2016

Not staying at th B&B, that houses this restaurant, we made reservations one day ahead. On the night of our dinner it appeared the chef himself wasn't there. This had not been mentioned, we only heard it when we asked for him after dinner. They serve a 3-course dinner, with a choice out of two for each course, at a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emdebee
South Africa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2016

This was to be our final dinner of a "Karoo special experience" 5 night trip and one that we were looking forward to having read a recent article in a recent food magazine featuring restaurants in the Eastern Cape. What a serious disappointment Gordons was! It was Monday night but despite this, they accepted a booking without saying that neither... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank R_S1963
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2016

This restaurant was highly recommended to us by a number of people... and by the number of press cuttings on display; my husband and I were looking forward to a delicious dinner. Gordon is incredibly charismatic, and the restaurant is lovely and cozy. However, the food however is not what it could be. Serving small, neatly-arranged pieces of under-seasoned home... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

We were very excited for dinner as the restaurant advertises itself as serving 'slow food' direct from the veld. The chef went to lengths to explain how little is done with the food in order to ensure we experience its autentic taste. However, this translated into very basic dishes such as vegetables that were simply steamed and lamb cutlets with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter-Francois T
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2015

After reading about the 'slo food' concept I made a special trip on my travels to eat at Gordon's. In fact I returned with my wife on our travels through to the Cape. The first eating experience was mediocre, the concept is great, the food sourcing is brilliant, the environment of the town is a delight, but I just did... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank holi4eva
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2015

Just the introduction of the dinner is making your mouth water and then the food, accompanied by a fantastic wine and you will feel like heaven. Desserts are a must! Thanks Gordon for the fantastic dinner

Helpful?
Thank Martina K
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2015

This warmly vintage and relevant restaurant offers some of the best cup cakes my wife says. very accessible, with friendly stuff. A very good and comprehensive menu. It is a perfect intimate come and chill with friends place. Though I didn't get to do much herein the way of eating but my wife really enjoyed their cup cakes she had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elisha D
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2015

We booked here as Gordon has a 'reputation' for his good food. Gordon was away and left a chef to replace him who was sweet and helpful but totally out of her depth. Food - more than disappointing. Table next to us walked out. Bad selection of wines, and if Gordon puts them on the wine list they should be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sandi c
ASGHouse, Owner at Gordon's Restaurant, responded to this review

Generally when we have a negative review we take it very seriously and try our best to remedy the situation. We will respond to it as tactfully as possible and try to make good with the client. In this instance however, it is a classic example of Trip Advisor bullying. This "reviewer" is actually a "travel agent" (Thandeka Africa) who... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2015

We went to Gordon’s Restaurant on Easter Sunday. My wife had heard about it from some friends, and we were expecting fine dining. Unfortunately, we found ourselves having an almost identical experience as did another reviewer – shame on us for not reading TripAdvisor first. We arrived and were surprised to find that we were the only dining guests that... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank HerrickJW2
ASGHouse, Owner at Gordon's Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your frank review. Clearly we got everything wrong on the night. I have personally investigated the issue thoroughly and appropriate corrective measures have been taken. If you would permit us to show you that we have rectified the situation on your next visit to our town, we would be delighted to have the opportunity. Kind regards, Gordon More 

Port Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2015

Try it - you will not be disappointed. His book as well is amazing and makes for great presents. Inside or outside areas are great to sit in

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven Hamilton J

Travellers who viewed Gordon's Restaurant also viewed

Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Gordon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$35
Cuisine
European, Contemporary
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 Cradock Street | Andries Stockenstrom Guest House, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Graaff-Reinet
  • Phone Number: +27 49 892 4575

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gordon's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?