We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
149
33
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
149
33
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones rock cake soup cream tea tea room long walk bite to eat excellent friendly service lovely spot great tea idyllic setting take away stop exmoor rooms coffee village
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

We stopped off here on our day out on Exmoor. The food was really nice, good service and pleasant atmosphere. Shall stop here again.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Anita H, General Manager at Withypool Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff very Rude couldn't be bothered to come out from behind the counter would not visit this tea rooms again much better out there ......................

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Anita H, General Manager at Withypool Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very sorry you felt this way. We make every effort to acknowledge everyone even when we are busy.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good food. Typical tea shop fayre. Shame that the service was not quite so good. We were made to feel like we were an inconvenience and one of the staff members was quite rude. Due to the current circumstances you need to order takeaways and...pay in the doorway but then you are in the way of staff serving tables and you are told about this in no uncertain terms! Perhaps a separate serving window would be better so the doorway is not blocked for staff. Such a shame as the location is lovely and the food good.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Anita H, General Manager at Withypool Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

ear ck29 I am sorry that you felt our staff were rude. None of my team have the intention to be rude but we have all had to adapt to an ever changing list of covid guidelines. We should have perhaps asked you to wait...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped by for lunch after walking along the River Barle and were very happy with the cream teas (the scones are impressive in size!) and jacket potatoes. The chocolate cake is highly recommended - the cake is moist and has a wonderful flavour, and...the frosting is rich and decadent without being overwhelming. Service is friendly and efficient, and a selection of souvenirs/gifts are also available for sale.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Anita H, General Manager at Withypool Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent selection. Cheese scone, cheddar cheese and chutney was great and just what was needed in the middle of a long, hard ride!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Anita H, General Manager at Withypool Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on the 6th of May and having looked at menu in window for takeaway food we selected Cornish Pasty at £5.50 each. Due to Covid-19 opted for takeaway rather than sit outside that was the other option. Gave order at door to assistant...who asked if we anted them cold or hot. We asked for hot and after about 10 minutes were given 2 hot pasties. My wife paid via the ‘wave’ card function and we left. On checking the credit card Bill we found we had been charged £15 for two hot average size pasties. It was our error for not paying attention to charge on the hand held machine and saying don’t worry about the receipt. So be warned !More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Anita H, General Manager at Withypool Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are very sorry for this error. You were accidentally charged the wrong price at the till on the 6th May. It was not deliberate and was a genuine mistake, which I will be addressing. If you would like to call us on 01643 831279...More

Reviewed 10 May 2021 via mobile

Excellent early morning bacon and egg bap with Victoria sandwich cake prior to walking to Tarr steps, thanks for the local advice and directions

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

Lovely place to stop off after a walk. Tasty pasties and hot drinks. Friendly staff, dog friendly. Plenty of parking nearby.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 26 April 2021 via mobile

Stopped by here during a four hour walk, detouring slightly to hit the village of Withypool. Good selection of drinks, we didn't eat. Service a little slow.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 23 April 2021

We walked from Landacre to Withypool today in the sunshine and stopped to enjoy coffee at this quaint roadside cafe. Friendly and quick service despite being quite busy.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Exmoor White Horse Inn
930 reviews
2.99 km away
Simonsbath House
195 reviews
8.21 km away
The Lion Hotel
108 reviews
10.21 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
277 reviews
12.05 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Exford Bridge Tea Rooms
197 reviews
2.99 km away
The Royal Oak Exmoor
245 reviews
6.05 km away
The Crown Hotel Exford
153 reviews
3.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Exmoor Safari
40 reviews
3.01 km away
Dunkery Beacon
193 reviews
7.66 km away
West Country Farm and Food Tours
10 reviews
1.48 km away
Tarr Steps
368 reviews
4.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Departure687935
27 August 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ArkwrightonExmoor | Property representative |
Yes, we welcome well behaved dogs 🐕 😀
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Withypool Tea Rooms

Yes, Withypool Tea Rooms offers takeaway services.

Yes, Withypool Tea Rooms offers delivery services.

Withypool Tea Rooms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5