We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Housmans Restaurant & Bar

27 High Street | Church Stretton, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
+44 1694 724441
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (51 reviews)
“grazing menu” (15 reviews)
“lamb tagine” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, International, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 High Street | Church Stretton, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This restaurant was suggested to us and it was a good choice. It's a tapas bar, with good draught beer and lager (prices quite high) the food was good in a relaxed environment with a good atmosphere.service was good and friendly.Its probably a 3.5 .......

Thank Bladesman3
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took the family for Sunday lunch, family chose the seafood platter, this looked really good, we had the roast beef which was quite disappointing, lacked taste and was very fatty, more fat than meat. Thank goodness for the horseradish sauce to pep it up a...More

Thank lavinia68
MalcolmShropshire, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry that you were disappointing by the beef. We have received a couple of negative comments about the beef recently and have changed the supplier for this weekend. We would have been happy...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice time at Housmmans and would recommend it. You'll need to book as very popular. Service a bit slow, as so busy, but spacious seating, nice atmosphere and great menu. Fantastic choice of gins!

Thank PatSpence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stumbled on this restaurant with our elderly parents. The service we received was excellent nothing was too much trouble, staff were very friendly and hard working.

Thank ccorsa22
MalcolmShropshire, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind comments; these have been passed on to the staff.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent choice of food for grazing menu for 2 , which was enough for 3 ! Beautifully presented and cooked .

1  Thank Megmable2
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came here for a meal with an old friend thinking we would have nice wine bar type food. The service was slow and the waitress seemed disinterested. I ordered a "home made pizza" - the base strongly resembled a supermarket multi pack pizza base...More

1  Thank Elizabeth T
MalcolmShropshire, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon. I was very concerned to read your review as it is so out of character with other recent comments, Could you tell me what day it was that you visited; given your reference to fish, would it have been last Monday?

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for a Sunday night. Bit of a mix up meant that they had a private event on and shouldn't have taken the booking but the manager was great and we kept our table. Shared a bottle of wine and a couples main...More

Thank kerilizmon
MalcolmShropshire, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind comments. Sorry about the mixup as an ex employee had not taken your contact details, but we are glad you enjoyed your meal; please come again!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Following a search for a place to eat in Church Stretton, this place lives up to its reviews & reputation. A wine bar with great mix of old & modern simple decor, with stripped tables & wooden floors. We ordered a bottle of Pinot Grigio...More

1  Thank Peter L
MalcolmShropshire, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your generous comments, which have been passed on to the staff who looked after you on your visit; much appreciated.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This wine bar/restaurant provides a reasonably priced and varied menu and very pleasant staff . It also has a disabled toilet on the ground floor with easy access.

Thank pamw398
MalcolmShropshire, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind comments and for taking the trouble to post.

Reviewed 3 June 2017

We went here twice on our visit to Church Stretton. Wednesday night was very quiet (no need to book) but we had good tapas and the wine and beer on offer was excellent. So much so we re-visited Thursday night just for drinks. Much busier...More

Thank Amanda C
MalcolmShropshire, Owner at Housmans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Many thanks for your positive comments. During the Summer holidays our fortnightly Wednesday music nights will increase to a weekly event. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your time in Church Stretton & will come back to see us again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jemima's Kitchen
199 reviews
.06 km away
Ginger & Green Coffee House
236 reviews
.11 km away
Berry's Coffee House
336 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Carding Mill Valley
510 reviews
1.86 km away
The Long Mynd
199 reviews
.83 km away
Stretton Antiques Market
47 reviews
.17 km away
Caer Caradoc
26 reviews
.87 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Housmans Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 High Street | Church Stretton, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Church Stretton
  • Phone Number: +44 1694 724441
  • E-mail
Description
Informal style restaurant & bar with an a la crate menu changed three times on average each week, together with a selection of tapas style grazing boards.
Wherever possible local fresh ingredients are used and we buy our meat from local butchers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing