We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Swan Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NP, England
+44 1969 622246
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good34%
  • Average21%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“nice pub” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff and great food. The fire was lit so nice and cosy way to spend an evening in Middleham. Would certainly recommend for a visit when staying in Middleham. We also had takeaway pizzas which were ready in 15 minutes and very tasty.

Thank floppsytart
benth0mps0n, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our pub and that our food was to your liking. Hope you will visit us again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful fire burning on arrival.. friendly service . Meals fantastic. Our son had the hot chilli burger and managed it lol. We had our tea on halloween. Thank you.

Thank Kim A
benth0mps0n, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our pub, and your son survived our hot chilli burger! We are grateful that you have taken the time to provide this feedback and hope that you will visit us again.

Reviewed 23 October 2017

We decided to eat here whilst staying in the village. The fire was warm, and so was the welcome from the very friendly staff. Great value meals. Quality isn’t great, and service wasn’t quick but portions are large and the fire keeps you warm while...More

Thank vickyham
benth0mps0n, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I would just like to respond regarding the wifi. We do have this facility in the pub and the information for connection is written on the boards above the bar and will also...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Popped in for light lunch and found a menu to suit - limited choice at first view but wow it was so good. Hand carved ham and thick sliced mature cheese on moist and tasty bread with a superb little side salad. Lovely baked potato...More

Thank Sue J
benth0mps0n, Owner at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope that we will see you again. We review all comments received and use them in our business meetings when looking at ways of enhancing our offer to our customers, so thank...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Twin room very small with no hanging space. No one cleaned the room or gave us fresh dry towels during our stay. Breakfast a shambles. Never more than 1 or 2 cups of weak filter coffee available with no sign of any fresh being made...More

Thank caseyhardaker51
benth0mps0n, Relationship Director at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do take all our feedback seriously and use this to review all elements of our business. Unfortunately the issues of the lighting are the responsibility of the landlord and we...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017

One of several pubs in this quaint village with few customers out of the holiday season. Signing in is very formal with CAPITAL LETTERS (shouting) in the text and only missing a witnesses's signature to complete the process :-) The access to the bedroom requires...More

Thank Rossergruffydd
benth0mps0n, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Firstly I would like to thank you for your feedback. Whilst it is disappointing to note, we would point out that some of your concerns are out of our control. I wish to point out that you stayed in an old 16th Century Listed Coaching...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017

I visited Middleham a couple of weeks ago, staying at the Black Swan (B&B). Both Middleham and the Black Swan Hotel are brilliant. In terms of the Town, its pretty in a great location and there's magnificent walks (eg. Leyburn, Forbidden Corner: a tourist attraction)....More

1  Thank Stewart G
benth0mps0n, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback. We hope you will be able to join us again in this idyllic part of the Yorkshire Dales.

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff. Had burger and chips. Came quickly, plenty of it and just how you want. Beer was good too. Best value pub grub in town.

Thank hughyjames
benth0mps0n, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your food with us. We trust you will visit us again.

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Room ok.expensive at £90 ..beds are comfortable...Breakfast was a disaster one girl running around ..had to ask for tea..more milk ..no salt pepper on tables etc ..just seemed disorganized..could be a better set up ..work in catering myself I know it's hard but it wasn't...More

1  Thank pumpkineater1485
benth0mps0n, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not to the standard we would want for our guests. We have taken on board your comments and reviewed these elements of the business with our staff in order to address these concerns. Thank...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in middleham for a family get together and visited all the pubs in the village but only ate in two. This was the better pub by far, food wasn't bad nothing fantastic but good for the price. Beer was very good but the...More

Thank LostDC
benth0mps0n, Guest Relations Manager at Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a good experience in relation to our food and hospitality. I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Richard the Third
311 reviews
.04 km away
The White Swan Hotel and Restaurant
180 reviews
.05 km away
The Black Bull
26 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Forbidden Corner
2,624 reviews
3.50 km away
Jervaulx Abbey
251 reviews
4.85 km away
Fox and Hounds Inn
44 reviews
6.68 km away
Middleham Castle
432 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Black Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Middleham
  • Phone Number: +44 1969 622246
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in one of the most beautiful areas of the country in the stunning Yorkshire Dales just on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park.The Black Swan Restaurant offers high quality locally sourced food and Ales in picturesque surroundings. With hops running through the ceiling, oak wood beams and a open log fire you're sure to not find a more welcoming place to enjoy an evening meal.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing