We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newent Tandoori

€€ - €€€Indian, , Asian
34 Broad Street, Newent GL18 1AJ, England
+44 1531 822748
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good24%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“poppadoms” (4 reviews)
“biryani” (2 reviews)
“lamb” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Indian, Balti, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
€€ - €€€
34 Broad Street, Newent GL18 1AJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

I have used Newent Tandoori dozens of times for take-aways, (generally having a positive experience) but thought I'd give the restaurant a try - big mistake. Service - Poor. The waiter seemed overworked, juggling answering the telephone, talking to customers in the reception area, whilst...More

1  Thank DaveHB1994
newent34, Public Relations Manager at Newent Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

I'm very sorry we couldn't meet your expectation this time .we were short of staff few of our regular staff has taken holiday and we were busier beyond our expectation for this time of the year. As you have been to our restaurant many times...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We ate here on a Saturday evening. The restaurant was busy but service was prompt and polite. The food was excellent with great flavours and the portions very reasonable. I had the Lamb harali which is spicy and full of flavour. My wife had the...More

Thank Rockythehound
newent34, Manager at Newent Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Sir Thank you for your good comment. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you soon. Kind Regards The manager

Looking for a great restaurant?Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

I’ve been coming to Newent Tandoori for many years, mainly on the basis that roughly 10 years ago it was very good and reliable. However, all that has changed in recent times. The quality of the food is poor which ultimately reflects in its flavour...More

1  Thank Mark C
newent34, General Manager at Newent Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Sir I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoyed your meal or service . The same chef still cooking the food as before, there isn't any change in the quality of cooking or quality of product we use . We buy A GRADE Fresh Chicken...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Bad start to the tale as phoning for a delivery we were told there were no driver’s available. I picked up the meal with a 10% discount and on returning home found there had been a mix up with our meal. The food we had...More

Thank ROBINONorwich
newent34, General Manager at Newent Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Sir or Madam First of all we don't provide DELIVERY service at all and we never did. You probably talking about different Place so please rectify your comment Some takeaway and restaurants do try to copy our Dishes . Thank you. Kind Regards General...More

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Usually pretty happy with the food we get here , but the standard tonight was aweful. Ordered mixed naans, only to get home to find out they are barely filled with anything !, one has slightly more than the other but across both the filling...More

1  Thank Chris D
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Staying nearby so decided on a takeaway , fast friendly service and really good food, will definitely come back when I am in the area again. Onion bhajis and nan bread were particularly good

Thank Adam W
newent34, General Manager at Newent Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you . We are very pleased that your enjoyed your meal. Hope to see you soon. Kind Regards General Manager

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Long wait for takeaway (plan b as restaurant was fully booked at 7.15 on a Saturday evening). Food was very much worth it. Hubby was slightly less impressed with his sashleek but the naan (especially the peshawari!!!), poppadoms and my passanda were spot on!

1  Thank Helen C
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Great food and service. Would recommend and deffinately return. Staff freindly and welcoming and place was clean and tidy.

1  Thank Josie V
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Visited here with friends, where the 1st point to note is this curry house is a dry restaurant (no alcohol), so pop over the road and buy some from the Co-Op, no issues with that. My only gripe is they don't offer anything to keep...More

Thank Rory A
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I was the only one in the restaurant but was Monday! The take-a-way was busy. I had a set meal for one. 4 onion bhaji's was to die for. Lamb tikka biryani was very tasty. Garlic nan was massive. I'm way from home for work...More

1  Thank Food-lover1469yes
Nearby HotelsSee all Newent Hotels
Watersmeet Hotel & Angling Centre
146 reviews
7.70 km away
Penyard House
225 reviews
9.63 km away
Leadon House Hotel
45 reviews
10.77 km away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
659 reviews
11.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Good News Centre Coffee House
50 reviews
.10 km away
The Buttery Tea Room
44 reviews
.05 km away
Kings Arms
69 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
Page Park
5 reviews
.02 km away
Briery Hill Llamas
23 reviews
2.40 km away
The International Centre for Birds of Prey
941 reviews
2.42 km away
Dymock Poets
7 reviews
5.84 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
15 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HamishKW | Reviewed this property |
Fair as I remember it is bring your own
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
17:00 - 23:30
17:00 - 23:30
17:00 - 23:30
17:00 - 23:30
17:00 - 23:30
17:00 - 23:30
17:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 Broad Street, Newent GL18 1AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Forest of Dean  >  Newent
  • Phone Number: +44 1531 822748
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing