We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maltsters

€€ - €€€, British,
| Chapel Amble, Wadebridge PL27 6EU, England
+44 1208 812473
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good24%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lamb burger” (4 reviews)
“bruschetta” (4 reviews)
“mackerel” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Chapel Amble, Wadebridge PL27 6EU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for a meal on our last evening in Cornwall. Such a lovely place - very welcoming atmosphere, cozy and clean. Staff very friendly and attentive but not over-bearing. The icing on the cake was superb food and great service - what more can you...More

1  Thank Tony C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On holiday for the week and have been here a few times before but not on a Sunday. The carvery was lovely with well cooked beef and other meats and it seemed as though you could have as much as you wanted! Thoroughly enjoyed it.t

1  Thank marionmuston
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It had been a long trip down to Cornwall so a good meal was just what we needed. We had been recommended to go to The Maltsters in Chapel Ample. Im so glad we went. We hadn't booked and went on the off chance. It...More

Thank DaveKelly1966
Amber2497, Manager at The Maltsters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your meals, we do however apologise for the wait on your food. Thank you for your feed back.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Maltsters to celebrate our Golden anniversary. The staff decorated our table and went out of their way to help.Overall we as a a family went there three times. The food was always lovely, well presented and served by happy friendly staff....More

Thank BootsyEly
Amber2497, Manager at The Maltsters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your time spent with us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Welcoming staff, Sunday lunch is great & very reasonably priced. week-day food could be a bit more varied but is good. Draft beers limited & could do with a guest beer.More

Thank tom s
Amber2497, Manager at The Maltsters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your meals and that our staff were welcoming. Unfortunately through out the winter months we are not busy enough to have a guest beer however through out summer we do put a guest beer on. Thank you for your feed...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for a cold drink after completing a walk in the area. Service was very friendly. We saw a sorbet being taken out to someone, and decided we would have one as well and it was fantastic.

Thank filligirl
Amber2497, Manager at The Maltsters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed the sorbet! Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Six of us come every year when staying in this part of Cornwall. We book up well in advance,never disappointed,good food freshly cooked,and served carvey style. Excellent value for money. The high standard has not changed or dropped over the last few years.

Thank wood57
Amber2497, Manager at The Maltsters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for you feedback. We are pleased to hear that you continue to enjoy your time spent with us.

Reviewed 15 September 2017

We have just had a wonderful break near Daymer Bay and this pub in the middle of no where was recommended to my wife and I. We called three nights out of four. Last Thursday evening (14th Sept) my wife had the chicken and I...More

1  Thank davidbarlow6993
Amber2497, Manager at The Maltsters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us. Thank you.

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Really really disappointed with our evening meal here tonight. I do not usually write bad reviews, however I feel like my comments were not took on board tonight. We are locals and had 3 family members down to visit so we thought we would make...More

Thank Willhill920
Amber2497, Manager at The Maltsters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm am terribly sorry to hear this. As I was not in on this particular evening I cannot fully explain why/how this happened. However, I can assure you this does not happen often as both our kitchen and front of house staff do their very...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to Cornwall for the last 5 years and this is the first time we have called into this place !! But it is such a lovely old pub !! 16th century set in such a lovely small village !!! 👌🏼

Thank GG1033
Amber2497, Manager at The Maltsters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time spent with us.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Shed Cafe & Brunch Bar
304 reviews
.10 km away
Warne's Bar & Restaurant
532 reviews
.09 km away
Le Snack
162 reviews
.04 km away
Bridge Bistro
375 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Granny Wobbly's Fudge Pantry
32 reviews
.13 km away
Bridge Bike Hire
97 reviews
.25 km away
Camel Trail Cycle Hire
121 reviews
.33 km away
Bike Smart Cycle Hire
60 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andyroo1980
14 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amber2497 | Property representative |
Most of our meals are gluten free. However the battered fish is not gluten free & the rustic chips are cooked in the fryer next to the fish therefore there can be traces of gluten. We do supply gluten free bread.
0
Votes
Jan708
17 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amber2497 | Property representative |
We are able to offer vegan food with prior notice. Kind regards, Amber
0
Votes
Goff44
24 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Amber2497 | Property representative |
A sample menu is provided on our website which can be found at 'themaltsters1 . co. uk' The link can also be reached through our Facebook page 'the Maltsters chapel amble' Hope this helps. Kind regards, Amber
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Chapel Amble, Wadebridge PL27 6EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Wadebridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1208 812473
  • E-mail
Description
The Maltsters Arms is a local friendly village pub, located in Chapel Amble near Wadebridge in the heart of Cornwall. This traditional pub is run by five locals who clubbed together and bought the pub. Two of the partners are chefs and they prepare and cook all of the food fresh to order. In the bar we serve a full selection of draught beers, wines, real ales and spirits for your personal enjoyment along with soft drinks for non-drinkers, drivers. With the pubs fantastic atmosphere and friendly staff this make the Maltsters Arms a pub where every one wants to spend the day. Situated on the premises of the pub is a beautiful beer garden where you can sit and relax while having a refreshing drink during the warm summer months. With disabled facilities and a car park situated on the grounds of the pub we tend to the needs of all our customers. The pub serves an extensive menu including light lunches ( our famous mussels )and also a dinner menu including the likes of tender local duck and lamb ,plenty of fresh seafood or just a giant 8oz beef burger with our own tomato chutney. This warm and friendly pub is the perfect place for a night out .If you fancy a carvery on Sunday ( four meats) please make a booking as it is always very busy.We look forward to seeing you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing