We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lobster Shack

) #14 of 31 Restaurants in North Berwick €€ - €€€ Seafood, British,
North Berwick Harbour | The Old Pier, North Berwick, Scotland
+44 7910 620480
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (165 reviews)
“salad” (28 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Scottish
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
North Berwick Harbour | The Old Pier, North Berwick, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed, the lobsters were very small and amounted to 4 mouthfuls. Chowder portions also small and a lot of potato. Squid portions good and plenty of chips but wouldn't come back.

1  Thank Jane W
Reviewed 1 week ago

A genuine shack on the end of the pier, outdoor seating only, a good menu, good service and good prices. Well worth a visit.

Thank peterg1001
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great lobster and chips, great place to sit and have lunch or dinner, some covered seating in case the weather isn't great. A little expensive......

Thank Joli_Glasgow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was really good. I ordered a smoked fish chowder to take away. It was really nice, with loads of fish in it. It was £6.50 which I found a little expensive for the portion size though. It does come with bread and butter. Service...More

1  Thank Mark M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Come with my family on weekend. Tried fresh made lobster, squid rings, all fantastic. Homemade lemon juice also great.

Thank Zhujuan W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've been going there as a family and alone whilst all up on our annual holiday every year. The seafood broth is the by far the best I can find in East Lothian at the very least! We've yet so sit outside and dine in...More

Thank JJ1777
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I absolutely love lobster. Where ever I go and they have lobster on the menu I will go for it. I have tried lobster at The Strathearn restaurant and Andrew Fairlies at The Gleneagles Hotel but the lobster at The Lobster Shack was just amazing....More

1  Thank Sarah S
lobstershack2, Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review I'm glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again soon, Yvonne

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are locals and have been loyal to the lobster stack since it opened. In fact, 3 days running over the half term break. However on more than one occasion this year when the sun shines and it is busy we have been told 'sorry...More

Thank kjm41
lobstershack2, Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us. As you know we prepare all our food ourselves and the food you ask for is all cooked when you order it. The Lobster Shack is a very small kitchen and as such all food and drink...More

Reviewed 30 May 2017

Visited the Lobster Shack on Bank Holiday after hearing about if from friends but ended up massively disappointed. I had the half lobster which was ominously ready in only a few minutes despite the fact they were just opening. The little meat in it was...More

Thank Chris K
lobstershack2, Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry to hear you were not happy. As you know we prepare all our food ourselves and the food you ask for is all cooked when you order it. The lobsters come in fresh off...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We came across the Lobster Shack by accident on a wet May bank holiday weekend. After scorching heat came torrential rain. Occupants of the Lobster Shack bravely sat underneath the plastic canopies. We opted for carry out and sat in our motorhome. The food was...More

2  Thank PeeMac27
lobstershack2, Manager at The Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Look forward to seeing you again soon, Yvonne

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Osteria
465 reviews
.36 km away
Cucina Amore
378 reviews
.31 km away
Zitto
706 reviews
.32 km away
Signals Bistro
254 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Coastal Communities Museum
21 reviews
.36 km away
The Lodge Gardens North Berwick
6 reviews
.60 km away
St Andrew Blackadder Church
5 reviews
.48 km away
War Memorial Garden
6 reviews
.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KatyaGal
17 July 2017|
Answer
Response from lobstershack2 | Property representative |
Sorry. No bookings as we have limited tables
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Seafood, British, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Seating
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: North Berwick Harbour | The Old Pier, North Berwick, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  East Lothian  >  North Berwick
  • Phone Number: +44 7910 620480
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing