We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks
FEATURES
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Television, Table Service
View all details
features, about
Reviews (93)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
33
22
10
3
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
33
22
10
3
15
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 24 June 2021

Stayed here for one night as was doing a course the next morning. wasn't expensive at under 70 euro, room very small and basic but comfortable, bathroom very clean. ate in bar, was nice and seemed like it would have been a nice wee evening...if we could have stayed on for a few drinks. If i had to go to swords again i think i would stay here if i got a cheap deal again but def wouldn't pay anymore than what I did.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 February 2020

The Forty Four Main Street is a little gem of a hotel, The rooms are very comfortable,the staff are friendly and welcoming.It's a great pub for locals and visitors alike.On sunday nights from 6pm they have a great Trad/folk and Whatever, group who give a...great nights,all round, entertainment. Food is limited but very good. (One good tip if you are driving.check out your parking arrangements,in advance),More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 November 2019

The staff are really nice and friendly here and the lounge is warm and spacious. I was out one day picking up litter on the main street and the manager called me in and offered me a complimentary coffee . So nice to be appreciated

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter S, Manager at Forty Four Main Street Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review Helen! And thanks for your great service!

Reviewed 16 November 2019 via mobile

We had a lovely evening at the Forty Four, good food, service and vibe. The menu for the bar food is pretty good and though I wouldn't call it cheap, the prices are not too bad. You can actually have a chat here too as...they don't blare the music. If you are staying at the hotel you have loads of options for food and drink as it is tight on the main street of Swords village, but to be fair it's a nice place to eat and you may not need to venture out of your hotel!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?8  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter S, Manager at Forty Four Main Street Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Thank you so much for leaving us a review! We are glad that you had such a good time with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 9 November 2019

This place exceeded my expectation. I travelled up for a course and spent 2 nights in the Forty Four. Ideally located in the centre of Swords. Rooms are basic but warm and comfortable. The staff are very pleasant and the grub was top notch. Very...reasonably priced. Overall I was very impressed. Would definitely recommend this place.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 June 2019 via mobile

We had dinner here on a quiet Thursday night. The bartender was friendly and came down to our table to take our order for food and drink. The fish and chips were nice as was the homemade Burger. Good quality food at a reasonable price

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter S, Manager at Forty Four Main Street Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

We're glad you enjoyed your dinner with us! Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Reviewed 16 April 2019

Lovely atmosphere in here if you want to sit & chat - both at night time and also they do a great breakfast! Very friendly barmen that cannot do enough for you! Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter S, Manager at Forty Four Main Street Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

Hi Wendy, We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Had family Sunday afternoon dinner here today. Plenty of room, comfy chairs, and big screen to watch match. Myself and son ordered lasagne. I was hungry so decided to go with lasagne as you can't really go wrong with that! OMG.. firstly we had a...good long wait, which to be honest wasn't a problem as we were watching match. When lasagne came out it looked great, nice decent portion and smelt good to. But the minute we started eating it we soon discovered there was barely any meat in it. It was like eating soup with pasta on top. It was pure liquid. I was so disappointed. I brought this to the attention of the bar manager who basically told me that lasagne was the most popular on menu!! I asked him to pass my complaint to chef. Most disappointed and also the fact this experience cost me €14.50 x 2. It has put me off , I won't be back to eat here. Way to many decent pub grubs in Swords!More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter S, Manager at Forty Four Main Street Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

We're truly sorry to read that you had a poor experience with us. Customer service is of utmost importance to us and we will strive to do better in the future.

Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

Will never stay again. No reception, we had to check in at the bar. They made sure we paid before we seen the room. 160euro for a tiny cold room and the smell coming Up from the shower was unreal. We had to get up...and leave early because the smell was too strong.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter S, Manager at Forty Four Main Street Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're truly sorry to read that you had a poor experience with us. Customer service is of utmost importance to us and we will strive to do better in the future.

Reviewed 16 January 2019

We only stayed 1 night but we had a meal in the bar which was delicious, I had seafood chowder and a large salad. Service was prompt and the food was great.

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter S, Manager at Forty Four Main Street Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

Thank you for your kind review! We're so glad you had a good time with us! Hopefully we will be able to accommodate you in the near future!

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

3 nights, 3 nightmares. It is literally IMPOSSIBLE to sleep normaly in this place. Noise is everywhere, days and night. A guy next to our room vomit for more than 4 hours close to our room. Drunk poeple were everywhere. On top of that cleaning...was making a huge noise during days without carrying about the poeple trying to rest. We were unable to open our windows due to the extreme noise outside. No possible way to refresh the room due to the lack of air and air conditioning. Unable to change the room after the first awefull night, unable to have any breakfast before 9 am, unable to have an earlier check-in.. they are even not capable of booking a taxi one day earlier! well frankly, this place is awefull and overpriced. This "hotel" must be avoided as much as you can if you are preparing yourself for an affair meeting.More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is quite a surprise- clean and very central. The staff are so rude and aggressive that I couldn't recommend anyone else to stay there. The bar is busy but a very old crowd so lacks.

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We visited off the cuff last week and were lucky enough to get the best Fish and Chips eaten in a very long time , for less than 11 euro each, fantastic. Excellent quality and freshly put together with nothing pre cooked etc to my...eye. Excellent staff service who were extremely attentive A real treatMore

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We went there as a family (9 people). The restaurant was empty but service was very slow. We were looking at menus for ten minutes and the waitress (who have us the food menus) seemed surprised that we wanted to order food. They didn't seem...understaffed. One of our group is Coeliac so we asked if a steak could be cooked without sauce. This wasn't allowable apparently so we moved on to another restaurant. I won't bother visiting again.More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Forty Four Main Street was the first place I ate a meal in Ireland. The food was great and the service was exceptional. The staff and customers made us very welcome. We ate there several times.

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Carnegie Court Hotel
367 reviews
.56 km away
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
1,378 reviews
.95 km away
Dublin Airport Manor by theKeyCollection
361 reviews
3.00 km away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
1,923 reviews
3.47 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Grill House
207 reviews
.17 km away
The Old School House Bar and Restaurant
1,124 reviews
.18 km away
Wrights Cafe Bar
757 reviews
.17 km away
Shaker & Vine Wine Bar
89 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Swords Castle
167 reviews
.20 km away
Swords Round Tower
20 reviews
.18 km away
St Columba's Church
10 reviews
.21 km away
Penthouse Casino & Card Club
13 reviews
1.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lorraine B
7 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from dahubbz | Reviewed this property |
We managed to get on-street parking.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Forty Four Main Street Restaurant

Forty Four Main Street Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5