We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Borough

Indian, Gastropub, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street, Swords CO. DUBLIN, Ireland (Formerly Old Boro)
+353 1 808 4103
08:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Sun 08:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 08:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 08:00 - 00:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Food is nice and not expensive . We had food and drinks 2 adults 2 children for 40 euros . Would definitely return .

Thank Ciara H
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So friendly, nice menu, very cheap, lovely staff that are very helpful. There is an event on there nearly every week.Lovely

1 Thank sarah f
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spotless and very bright.Real Irish hospitality.Great burgers great food.The best in town.The place is very pretty and wad refurbished .. Lots of beers and the staff are friendly too.

1 Thank Arranbyrne
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this review

Hi Arranbyrne, thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit We serve great food and drink at unbeatable prices and have a great selection to suit any taste! Our burgers are delicious and our new buttermilk chicken is well worth a try! We pride ourselves in the friendliness of our staff... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called to this Pub for a Meal today(Friday) at lunchtime.Had the Friday special "Fish and Chips" which was excellent. This is now a Wither-spoons Pub and has a very large selection of various Cask Ales, average price 2.75 a Pint so great value if you fancy a night out with the Lads or Girls. The Fish and Chip Special cost... More 

1 Thank beatle901
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this review

Hi Ben, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and we're glad you enjoyed your visit! We love our excellent fish and chips here at The Old Borough and we run the same fish and chips deal on a Monday to Thursday from 12 noon - 5pm in addition to all day Friday's. €8.95 for the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spare yourself the drama of cheap coloured pitchers of muck with 100mg of alcohol that make u sick. The coors light is pure trash. No gas in the drink. Young inexperienced bar staff that are run off their feet serving clearing tables oh and cleaning up the vomit the days I was there Tastless venue that was freezing cold most... More 

Thank Alex W
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this review

Hi Alex W we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. I do apologise about the heating as this was out of our control. Our cocktails are made to specification as described in the menu and as we offer 2 Pitchers for only €15 that is great value. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and... More 

Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife, granddaughter, a family friend and I visited the Old Borough recently. At the entrance there is a noticeboard displaying some Tripadvisor reviews. I was pleased to note that one of my reviews was included. On this occasion, we sat at a very nice table close to the servery, which has dual power and charging points. We ordered our... More 

Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this review

Hello Pat thanks for such a great review. Its lovely to hear such great things and to know that from start to finish you enjoyed every moment, even your Granddaughter as the little people are as important to us too. We are becoming more popular day by day and it is because of people like you Pat that take the... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had breakfast here for the first time excellent value for money and the food was tasty. Plenty of choice nice quite setting aswell. The staff were very prompt and friendly

Thank DisneyBubble
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this review

Hi DisneyBubble, I am delighted you enjoyed your breakfast , we pride ourselves on doing the best tasting and value breakfast in Swords and we open every day from 8am, no one else does that. So thank you and we hope to have you back with us very soon. Regards Nicolle More 

Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiance and I enjoyed an excellent meal, very kind staff and good atmosphere. Keep up the good work!

Thank c16713975
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this review

Hi thanks so much and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We will keep up the good work as we are getting better and better. I will pass your comments on to the staff as it great to let them know they are doing all the right things. Regards Nicolle More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Very dirty and sticky in all areas. Staff not well trained. Food not edible and all is microwaved. ..

1 Thank Ciaran o
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this review

Hi Ciaran o thank you for taking the time to put your view up on Trip Advisor. I am surprised at the review though. I wonder what food you would have had and if you mentioned you were not happy to a member of staff as we will always to our best to resolve any issues that our customers have.... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

The Old Borough I have been going here since it opened. I give every review great thought before I give it. There is great service there. The staff are great, the food and various different drinks are also good. Goodluck to Nicole in her new role as manager. Darren a great guy, he would go out of his way for... More 

1 Thank Chris C
Nicolle O, Manager at The Old Borough, responded to this review

Hi Chris C thank you very much for the great review, it always makes us feel good when we know our customers enjoy their experience when they visit us. We do strive to give the best in class service, quality and value. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff they are the best in Swords. So thank you again and... More 

Travellers who viewed The Old Borough also viewed

Swords, County Dublin

Been to The Old Borough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$18
Indian, Gastropub, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
08:00 - 23:00
08:00 - 23:30
08:00 - 23:30
08:00 - 23:30
08:00 - 23:30
08:00 - 00:30
08:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Swords CO. DUBLIN, Ireland (Formerly Old Boro)
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Swords
  • Phone Number: +353 1 808 4103
A must visit for anyone coming to Swords for the first time or for a repeat visit. Originally opened as a School in 1809 The Old Borough is located at the junction of Main Street Swords and Malahide Road. It is a stones throw from Dublin Airport. Now owned by JD Wetherspoon a very successful company established in 1979 and now has over 1000 Gastropubs in the U.K. It has been renovated to the highest standard and has a capacity for 400 people and has a beautiful beer garden and heated smoking area. The Menu is varied from Breakfast served from 8am to Steaks, Burgers, Pasta and Curry and Fish and Chips and a great desserts!! All food is served till 11pm every night. Our Drinks Menu has a large range of World Beers and Craft Beers and we are renowned for our selection of Ales and Draught Larger. The Old Borough is warm and friendly with a great community spirit. The staff are trained to the highest standards to ensure that all visitors are made welcome and receive 'THE PERFECT SERVE'. We look forward to seeing you soon and to reading your reviews.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Borough and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Borough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?