We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Helena's

Certificate of Excellence
€€€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 883 3132
Website
Today
12:30 - 15:30
18:30 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:30 - 15:30
18:30 - 21:30
Mon - Fri 07:00 - 10:30
Sat - Sun 08:00 - 10:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

699 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 594: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Dining at Helena's is always a delight because the service is attentive, the wine list exciting and the food never disappoints.

Helpful?
Thank Carryn J
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We had not booked and outside was packed full, but were welcomed to dine inside Helena's restaurant....what a treat...the mushroom risotto melted in my mouth, the steak my wife devoured was superb....as was the smoked oak valley pork loin with red cabbage...a couple of complimentary side dishes helped complete the ensemble....a delicious treat for us both. No room for dessert....maybe... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Marketing_and, Manager at Helena's, responded to this review

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments on our superb food, we hope next time you have space for some dessert. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Paarl, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic venue for business meetings. Great food. Excellent wine. Different dining areas each offering a unique experience depending on your reason for visit. Friendly and attentive staff who keep a watchful eye from a distance and make you feel as though you are the only guest in the Restaurant; attending to your every need. Would be exciting to have a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank bevl238
Marketing_and, Manager at Helena's, responded to this review

Dear bevl238, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit at Helena's Restaurant and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our great food, friendly and attentive staff highly encourages us. Your positive comments inspire... More 

Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When our hotel was fully booked for dinner, they recommended Helena's. We entered with our very sleepy children, ages 3 and 2. While they slept (the staff was nice enough to put two chairs together for them) we enjoyed a wonderful meal! The ambience was romantic, and from start to finish it was a great night. Loved it very much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rusticpalmtrees
Marketing_and, Restaurant Manager at Helena's, responded to this review

Dear Rusticpalmtrees, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments on our wonderful meal, romantic ambience, cautious and friendly staff. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back with your family.... More 

Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I were exceptionally privileged to visit Helena's recently. With our arrival, our waiter Neal, was at the door to welcome us with heartfelt hospitality.Seated on the terrace facing Church street, we were part of the joyful events happening there.We received our menus, to our surprise, in our home language, Afrikaans. The food was of superb quality and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Francois C
Marketing_and, Restaurant Manager at Helena's, responded to this review

Dear Francois C, Thank you for your lovely 5 star review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments on our spectacular hospitality and great quality of food. We will gladly share your beautiful comments with Neal and all other relevant staff. Your positive comments inspire us to create... More 

London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Brighton, our waiter, could not have been more helpful and more informative about the food - without being pushy as is sometimes the case in similar places. We loved the mushroom risotto and fish. Beautiful setting outside by the pool even on a windy night. I'd definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank travelledLondon6
Marketing_and, Restaurant Manager at Helena's, responded to this review

Dear travelledLondon6, Thank you for your formidable 5 star review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments on our beautiful, friendly place with fantastic food we are humble to know that you loved the mushroom risotto and fish. We will gladly share your comments with Brighton. Your positive... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Helena's was a delight to eat at, and was made even more delightful by how attentive and helpful the staff were. After a long day at wineries we were treated to our own room (we were a large party of 14) and were able to drink some of the bottles we had purchased earlier (with a corkage fee of R50).... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank aditic38
Marketing_and, Restaurant Manager at Helena's, responded to this review

Dear aditic38, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments on our attentive staff, great food and service. We are glad to learn that our staff was able to accommodate you and ensure you end of your day in a delightful spirit. Your positive... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Helena's restaurant was the perfect way to end our group wine tasting tour in Stellenbosch, South Africa. We were a large group of 14 people. We also had just come from a wine tasting tour so we were eager to cork our own bottles as well as buy bottles from the restaurant. Our server, Brighton, was attentive, knowledgeable and flexible... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank esg384
Marketing_and, Restaurant Manager at Helena's, responded to this review

Dear esg384, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments on our wonderful service, beautifully plated and fresh food. We will gladly share your comments with Brighton and the other staff that serviced you. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better... More 

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were immediately enchanted by the style and decoration of Helena's which is located in the historic Coopmanhuijs hotel. We were shown first to the interior room of the restaurant which was better suited to cold weather, and were gracefully moved to the middle room next to the outdoor area, a peaceful room with lovely linen and table settings. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank susannaj
Marketing_and, Restaurant Manager at Helena's, responded to this review

Dear susannaj, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments on our elegant decor, delicious dinner and impeccable service. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Shane van... More 

Miami, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Restaurant on the porch of local hotel. Servers were great! Tried the Bobotie and Noquis with peas and shrimp, delicious! Would return anytime!

Helpful?
Thank Edvard P
Marketing_and, Restaurant Manager at Helena's, responded to this review

Dear Edvard P, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit at Helena's Restaurant and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our attentive staff, great service and food encourages us. Your positive comments inspire... More 

Travellers who viewed Helena's also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Helena's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 - 15:30
18:30 - 21:30
08:00 - 10:30
Monday
12:30 - 15:30
18:30 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Tuesday
12:30 - 15:30
18:30 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Wednesday
12:30 - 15:30
18:30 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Thursday
12:30 - 15:30
18:30 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Friday
12:30 - 15:30
18:30 - 21:30
07:00 - 10:30
Saturday
12:30 - 15:30
18:30 - 21:30
08:00 - 10:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 883 3132
Description
Helena's Restaurant at Coopmanhuijs aims to serve heritage food with finesse, often with subtle twists in the detail, thereby turning the familiar into the spectacular. The menu is designed to reflect the bounty of the Boland, with specific emphasis on freshness and food provenance - the "from where" and "by whom" of locally sourced (often artisanal) ingredients.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Helena's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?