We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makaron Restaurant

26-32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 880 1549
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good13%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“amuse bouche” (18 reviews)
“bread” (18 reviews)
“macaroons” (3 reviews)
Open Now
00:00 - 23:59All hours
CUISINES
International, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
26-32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying at Majeka House where the restaurant is located and decided to book Makaron for convenience. It was the most expensive meal we had on our entire trip in SA over 3 weeks, and we were. It’s half disappointed. We had enough wine...More

Thank LA5885_13
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear LA5885_13, Thank you for your review on your experience at Makaron recently. We are sorry you did not enjoy your dinner to its fullest, however we do stand behind our chef's dishes that we personally taste and approve. Kind regards Karine

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am often wary of tasting type menus but Makaron’s was delicious- no foamy nonsense for show, all great taste concepts and designs well executed, and four plates each was quite sufficient for us. The wine pairings were perfectly chosen and every member of the...More

Thank LupoSE1
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LupoSE1, Thank you very much for taking the time to leaving us such a nice review about your experience at Makaron. our kitchen and service teams are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will have you back her...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite being peak season in Cape Town, the restaurant was completely empty. Our waiter was untrained, quite inarticulate and uninformed about the menu. After 6 courses of uninteresting and bland food, we left hungry. We certainly will not come back. Wr now understand why the...More

Thank Kesiah F
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kesiah F, As mentioned in our response to you on your comment left for Majeka House, most of our inhouse clients were out to a wedding the night you had dinner with us, which explains the relatively empty restaurant. Our waiters are mostly from...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow wow wow where do I start! Sublime a gastronomic indulgence....the new menu is amazing it’s a 4-6 course chosen over 17 inspired interesting choices.... with the complimentary tidbits it works out at 8 to 10 courses of deliciousness! Our favorites on this menu were...More

Thank KevinGF
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear KGF365, The kitchen and service team at Makaron are so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner with us. The hake is definitely Lloyd and I's favorite as well! We look forward to welcome you back soon both at Makaron and Majeka! Kind regards Karine

Reviewed 12 December 2017

Delightful menu overall, but the excellent pairing menu was a joy, superb dishes married with delicious wines.

Thank The R
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear The R, Thank you very much for leaving us a short to the point review about your experience at Makaron. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us and hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Karine

Reviewed 11 December 2017

You choose 4 - 6 dishes from different courses, small portions but very satisfying. Huge wine list but staff will help you choose, or you can have wines paired with the dishes you order.

Thank Liz_H_1391
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Li_H_1391, Thank you for your review about your experience at Makaron. We are delighted you enjoyed your dinner with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Karine

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

This was our 4th wedding anniversary which we decided to spend at makaron. Something has changed in this restaurant. We had a 4 course meal which was rushed - we were done in 1.5 hour. No more sommelier to explain wine options or pairings. Our...More

Thank CaleyLoots
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear CaleyLoots, We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us and apologize about our service being too rushed. Our restaurant manager and sommelier was off the night you had dinner and we are sorry that her assistant did...More

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

I have been to makaron several times aber the last few years. It’s gone through many changes . I am not quite sure that the latest version is really holding up. They have joined the small plate fad. This is ideal for someone who would...More

Thank Mattheus E
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Mattheus, Thank you for the feedback, we were informed by both Brenda and Wonder that you waited far too long for your food. It is not an excuse but we had an inhouse group who was supposed to go out and in the end...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had the tasting menu with wine pairing. Excellent value, delicious food and great wine as you would expect

1  Thank amysar
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear amysar, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your experience at Makaron. Both kitchen and service team are delighted to have met with your expectations and hope to welcome you back soon at Majeka House. Kind regards Karine

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We enjoyed the small plates dinner paired with local wines. The food was very tasting, inventive and a good reflection of local cuisine based on seasonal ingredients. The plates were beautiful and the wines selected were excellent

1  Thank LisaFullst0ne
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear LisaFullstOne, Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your experience at Makaron. Both the kitchen and service team are delighted to have met with your expectations and we hope to welcome you again very soon! kind regards Karine

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Lodge
73 reviews
.98 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
367 reviews
2.55 km away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
339 reviews
3.18 km away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
131 reviews
3.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Oppiekoffie
15 reviews
1.42 km away
Jimmy the Fish
178 reviews
1.03 km away
Bossa Cafe
16 reviews
1.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Waterford Estate
485 reviews
3.21 km away
Rupert Museum
153 reviews
3.07 km away
Blaauwklippen
223 reviews
1.34 km away
Dornier Wine Estate
89 reviews
2.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Makaron Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$61
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 23:59
Monday
00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday
00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday
00:00 - 23:59
Thursday
00:00 - 23:59
Friday
00:00 - 23:59
Saturday
00:00 - 23:59
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26-32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 880 1549
  • E-mail
Description
OPEN DAILY from 6.30pm to 9pm October to April
Closed on Wednesdats May to September

Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Lucas Carstens presents his menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. Lucas has enormous respect for the quality and provenance of each ingredient that comes into his kitchen and takes pride in working with ethical producers and suppliers who share his philosophy of excellence. Complementing Makaron Restaurant is M Bar, an inviting lounge-style bar with the decadent ambience of a Parisian salon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing