We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 Jan Katz Building | Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 887 6261
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went there for dinner and lunch. Excellent choice of food for a very good price. Ii am on a gluten/ wheat free diet and had Malay chicken rice and salad for 50 rand. My husband had a great steak chips and salad for 150 rand. You can sit either outside or inside. Inside had the airco.

Helpful?
Thank Sue K
Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I recommend to visit this place. Was here with my mother and it has a good vibe. Just calculate enough time, because it takes long until the food comes.

Helpful?
Thank Bennie W
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A beautiful setting where you can sit outside along the sidewalk and watch the buzz around you. Food is tasty and well presented. The menu has a big variety - there is really something for everyone. Lovely place to chill and enjoy Stellenbosch with a good cup of coffee!!

Helpful?
Thank Yolanda D
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We love Stellenbosch and every time we visit we stop by for breakfast. Today was no exception and we took our friends too so that they could sample Java. We ordered good breakfasts which included filter coffee. It was very busy and by the time breakfast arrived the coffee was long gone so we asked the waitress if coffee included... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cheshiremazdama
Tallinn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had breakfast in Java Cafe twice as we lived just upstairs of the place. The first time was brilliant, loved it. The French toast was incredible, and the sandwich named To Die For definitely lived up to it's name. While the food took some time to arrive, it was fine, as it was really really worth it. The second... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mirjam R
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a very nice very well run street side cafe. The portions are well done and big. Toasted sandwiches and salads are great with good wine and beer. A great watching spot in between shopping one of the best in Stellenbosch .

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
209 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A fabulous vibe cafe day and night full of visitors having a great time. Excellent selection of coffee, cakes and eats. We stopped by in the afternoon after a wine tour and just relaxed on the terrace. As we re European and my husband smokes, this was ideal. We would have done back the next day but ran out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So I've been avoiding Java for the past four years because every time I went the service was bad and the food average. Not much has changed. We sat at back which I know is the place the new waiters get so maybe he was still inexperienced. Even so, he made basic errors and forgot about us the entire time.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ninaj41
Fjooste, Manager at Java Cafe, responded to this review

If you can point out the errors of the waiter that was in training but you never did ? And why if you knew the back is used for training waiters did you sat there ? All patties are freshly made daily and non one EVER complained about our patties in fact we get a lot of compliments for all... More 

Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was tasty but I ordered soft eggs and they where perhaps a little over done. The spoon was dirty and we both got broken plates...... this places used to be very good and everything was sharp but this was a little disappointing. The waiter, Pearson I think was his name , he was very friendly and helpful. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coincut
Durban
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very busy restaurant offering value for money meals. Had their pizza special. The pizzas were fresh with a thin base and very tasty. Lovely pavement vibe! Great, friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Louki C

Travellers who viewed Java Cafe also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Java Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$50
Cuisine
Bar, Pizza, Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Jan Katz Building | Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 887 6261
Description
Java Bistro offer full breakfasts with lunch, dinner and an open show kitchen with qualified chefs preparing your gourmet meal to perfection
Enjoy our side walk seating with a glass wine from our cellar with over a hundred to choose from

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Java Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?