We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Fish

124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
+27 44 874 7803
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good25%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“catfish” (107 reviews)
“seafood curry” (14 reviews)
“kingklip” (21 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Seafood, Sushi, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
€€ - €€€
124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Service was great. Waiter recommended the butterfish. He made special arrangements to allow for a garlic sensitivity. Butterfish was excellent. No bones. Hake and chips were also excellent.

Thank Marmara D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I simply had to give 5 stars! Service was excellent and although we had a tapas type snack dinner with naughty awesome meringue...washed down with a shaken coffee Martini and a craft beer. Professional service. Good food. One of my favourite recommendations!

Thank Roelof_4x4Medic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in to the Fat Fish in George for lunch on a Weekday and was ably waited upon by a friendly waitress named Sage. (We have frequented The Fat Fish in Plettenberg Bay on numerous occasions and were tipped off that there is now...More

Thank peterwagenaar2017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we accidently popped in and WOW what a good choice. They have a really nice outside area. The waiters are friendly and efficient and the food was really good. I would recommend the fish dishes, especially the catch of the day is always nice.

Thank Petra S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Meticulous planning and research was placed into our holiday and the selected restaurants we would dine in. We travelled from the United Kingdom along the Garden Route and one of the several stops we had sheduled would be in George. I am in shock to...More

1  Thank Precious o
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tucked away, just of York street lies the Fat Fish. Friendly staff, a great ambiance, and according to me a Gem in George. We ordered , line fish of the day King klip with steamed veggies) let me just stop here. I dont do veggies...More

Thank Barry1601
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here whist staying in george. My husband had the fish curry which was a taste sensation. I had the steak which was also delicious. The staff were very friendly and the service was great. Lovely restaurant.

Thank Jane73586
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So we visit this restaurant a few times a year and we are never disappointed, however for the first time my husband was. Due to the fact that he asked for some extra bread and they charged him R10, now that’s not a lot of...More

Thank M1115
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Needless to say The Fat Fish Restaurant service excellent fish. The Beer Batter Fish and Chips is a firm favourite of mine. They have seating inside the stylish restaurant or outside on the spacious terrace.

Thank mimurphy44
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We were invited to an evening as Guest house owners or representatives of Two Fat Owls Guesthouse, but let me tell you, I would certainly recommend The Fat Fish Restaurant to everyone I can. I Loved the food!, The service was outstanding, and the Owners...More

Thank EsmeVermeulen
Nearby Restaurants
101 Meade Street Restaurant
402 reviews
.50 km away
Old Townhouse Restaurant
345 reviews
.56 km away
La Capannina
394 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Outeniqua Transport Museum
344 reviews
1.45 km away
Robertson Brewing Co.
89 reviews
1.05 km away
Garden Route Botanical Gardens
64 reviews
1.10 km away
Dutch Reformed Mother Church
27 reviews
.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lusinda V
10 December 2016|
Response from Simon A | Property representative |
Dear Lusinda Thank you for the enquiry, unfortunately I have all my staff for this season. Kind regards Simon
Grant D
25 March 2016|
Response from Leoni K | Reviewed this property |
casual but not scruffy
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 124 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  George
  • Phone Number: +27 44 874 7803
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing