We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Conservatory

Certificate of Excellence
€€€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
93 Brommersvlei Road | The Cellars-Hohenort, Constantia 7806, South Africa
+27 21 794 2137
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 184: English reviews
HCMC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is truly a fist class restaurant. Well worth the time and money . Very unique and interment. A local secret .

Helpful?
Thank bmw740il2015
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

More variety to select from at Breakfast than you can possibly imagine . Very Fresh Food. Wonderful selection of food cooked to order. A glass of champagne if you choose to start your day in a sparking way. A quiet corner for a romantic dinner and an interesting range of South African wines.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth E
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Short and sweet but it really encompasses what we want our guests to experience. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. Kind regards, Angie More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friend and I had lunch on a Friday. It was quite busy and we had to book. We arrived early and wandered around the property, which was a small winery converted into a 5* hotel. It is in a quiet and very green part of Cape Town with views of Table Mountain. The food is good value.

Helpful?
Thank Aisha A
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Aisha, Thank you for joining us for lunch and taking some time to wander around the gardens. It really is a very special place. Looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Angie More 

San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Meat week ended after my coworker left, so decided to fill myself full of veggie dishes to the clear the arteries. I wasn't expecting much, don't know why, the ambiance is great at this place. Had 2 veggie dishes and the sticky rice, fantastic!! Wine selection wasn't to my liking but that's a personal preference (high alcohol Zins)... A new... More 

Helpful?
Thank camaronal7
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Camaronal, Thanks for a fantastic review. We really do appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Angie More 

Pointe de Flacq
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for one week. Food was good. Unfortunately the menu of the day should have choices for Vegan. We were a bit tired of the same menu for one week. Quality of the food was great and very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Adam N
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Adam, Thank you for your feedback regarding the menu. Chef has been advised about the Vegan options and is definitely working on it. Kind regards, Angie More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A truly special place for a special occasion. Although pricey, it is really fine-dine! We booked here for our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. I highly recommend the food and wine pairing. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and added to the experience.

Helpful?
Thank 49alaec
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Alaec, Thank you so much for this lovely review and for choosing our restaurant to celebrate such a special occasion. Kind regards, Angie More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We had dinner at this beautiful restaurant this evening but have to admit we were disappointed with our meal . My crispy calamari were fairly tasteless and my husband's buffalo wings were tiny and also lacking in flavour . I had the fish special which was fried Hake and chips . The hake was well cooked but i encountered two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill J
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Gill, Thank you for your feedback regarding your dinner at our Conservatory restaurant. I can assure you that all your points will be discussed with our Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. We are looking at making a couple of changes to the menu for the colder months ahead- so i hope that you will re-consider and visit... More 

Copenhagen
Level Contributor
256 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

You fell very welcomed here and the service was very attentive and fast. It's good value for money and lovely dishes. I got the lamb first which was a nice surprise, very tasteful. My wife had Cesar salat which was fine. Restaurant is nice and lively. Really good value.

Helpful?
Thank Torben K
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Torben, Thank you so much for a lovely review which i will most definitely pass onto the team. The Lamb dish is one of a few black board specials which we have on offer- so i really hope you will be back again soon to enjoy a few of the other specials on offer. Kindest regards, Angie More 

Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
424 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We attended a wedding at the Cellars-Hohenort last Saturday. The wedding was a great success. The ceremony took place in a section of the pretty garden. Before taking our places in The Conservatory, we had drinks and canapés in a side garden and on the terrace outside the restaurant. The service throughout was very good. The starter was excellent. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank georgestof
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on the wedding function you attended. We've had a few other positive comments regarding the same wedding which is most welcome. Kind regards, Angie More 

Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We booked in advance for lunch and had a table on the lovely terrace with views of the mountains and their lovely garden and water feature. We were very well served by a knowledgeable and attentive waitress. We enjoyed the food, especially the cheese souffle starter. The main chicken dish was pleasant, but were very small chickens! There was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret1917
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback about lunch. We will keep your note regarding wheelchair access in mind- as we are always looking how we can improve our services to guests. Thank you so much, Angie More 

Travellers who viewed The Conservatory also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$25 - US$40
Cuisine
European, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road | The Cellars-Hohenort, Constantia 7806, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Constantia
  • Phone Number: +27 21 794 2137
Description
The Conservatory, situated adjacent to the historic Cellars-Hohenort cellar, offers diners unparalleled garden vistas from both the sun-drenched terrace and the indoor tables. Carefully constructed around a giant 300-year-old oak tree, The Conservatory is one of Constantia's finest daily breakfast, lunch and dinner venues. Here the head chef creates hotel classics alongside modern and seasonally influenced dishes. The Conservatory menu places a great emphasis on fresh produce from both The Cellars-Hohenort gardens and local green-friendly suppliers, and this gives it the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the Constantia Valley. Friendly service and an award-winning wine list ensure that The Conservatory offers guests and locals an exceptional everyday dining experience.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Conservatory staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?