We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar

Shop 153, Lower Level Victoria Wharf | Shop 153, Lower Level Victoria Wharf, V&A Waterfront Entrance 4, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
+27 21 421 3753
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (1,005 reviews)
“onion blossom” (39 reviews)
“game meat” (49 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
African, Seafood, International, Grill, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shop 153, Lower Level Victoria Wharf | Shop 153, Lower Level Victoria Wharf, V&A Waterfront Entrance 4, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (3,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Great food excellent wine and chef managed to cook our meals perfectly. The best meal we had in Cape Town

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Pedrogrumps
Reviewed yesterday

The steaks are delicious and the selection of wine is very good. It is a good idea to book as it gets very busy and we saw several people being turned away. If you like steak this is for you.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mary G
Reviewed 2 days ago

We had dinner here on one evening. Most notable feature was the view of Table Mountain, which we watched as it developed a cloud 'tablecloth' over dinner. I eat steak and my wife had kingclip - an essential fish to sample in South Africa. There's...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Roy L
AndrewHendrick, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Roy, thank you for the review. We appreciate it and look forward to you joining us soon again. Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Returning from Europe all one wants is some quality South African food and wine, and that's exactly what we received from this establishment! Hubby, daughter and I popped in at Balthazar's for lunch about a week ago and we were so warmly welcomed and attentended...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Rooble2Rooble
AndrewHendrick, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Rooble, thank you for the lovely review. We really appreciate it and we look forward to you joining us soon again. Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Had a fabulous dinner. Great wines. Definitely a must while in cape town. In a party of 9 one of the steaks was over matured to almost off. Not very eell handled by the manager, only comment was “sorry, we ll deduct it from you...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank GJvdG
AndrewHendrick, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear GJvdG, thank you for the review and feedback. We will investigate as over matured meat is very popular but should not be to the point of being "off". Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

After checking out the menus for most of the restaurants on the V&A Waterfront we selected Belthazar and so pleased we did. It was my partner’s 40th birthday and being lovers of seafood, steak and wine, we couldn’t have chosen a better place to eat....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Helen C
AndrewHendrick, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Helen, thank you for the wonderful lovely review. We appreciate it and we look forward to you joining us soon again. Regards, Andrew PS, sending a big happy birthday to your partner.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Booked a table for 9 people well in advance. Was seated at the back of the restaurant too close to bar and kitchen.....very noisy. Asked to move and we were accommodated at a outside table. Food was generally good, two steaks over cooked and another...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RossT123321
AndrewHendrick, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear RossT, thank you for the feedback. My apologies that the area that you were initially seated at was too noisy. We do not reserve seating outside, as the weather is just too unpredictable, and we can not accommodate I will follow up with the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We went here for a meal on the recommendation of our tour guide and were certainly not disappointed! My husband said it’s the best steak he’s eaten anywhere ( and he’s had many!) I opted for the game kebab which was a combination of four...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sambagirl51
AndrewHendrick, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Sam, thank you for the great Trip Advisor review. We appreciate it and we look forward to you joining us soon again. Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant is well situated on the Harbor, very nice for family and to have a walk after. The sea food was amazing, but when i had the steak I was disapointed, it was to cooked and very thin. I took the best out of...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank VincentandSophia
AndrewHendrick, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Vincent, thank you for the review. We appreciate it the feedback and apologies that you did not enjoy the steak. We would have happily replaced it had this been brought to our attention whilst you were dining. We look forward to you joining us...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We dined here twice on our 3 day stay in Cape Town and had a great experience both times. Especially the game meat was a unique experience for us. Definitely recommended!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nabil A
AndrewHendrick, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Nabil, thank you for the lovely review. We appreciate it and we look forward to you dining with us soon again. Regards, Andrew

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
Dock House Boutique Hotel
231 reviews
.21 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,750 reviews
.22 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
821 reviews
.24 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
2,702 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Baia
2,805 reviews
.11 km away
Karibu
2,355 reviews
.07 km away
Vovo Telo
703 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
11,638 reviews
.21 km away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
512 reviews
.19 km away
The Cape Wheel
892 reviews
.15 km away
Chavonnes Battery Museum
102 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TinaB3319
23 August 2018|
Answer
Response from De_Scaquetti | Reviewed this property |
I would say yes since it is located in a shopping center, although I did not see any children when I was there.
1
Vote
jennifermarie709
26 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from AndrewHendrick | Property representative |
Hi Jennifer, no we don't have a dress code, however, swimming trunks, and very casual wear will be out of place, as most guests do dress up a little. Be prepared that if you do sit outside, even though we do have heaters... More
1
Vote
871edieh
23 February 2016|
Answer
Response from 871edieh | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Steak not Steal
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$45
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 153, Lower Level Victoria Wharf | Shop 153, Lower Level Victoria Wharf, V&A Waterfront Entrance 4, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 421 3753
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing