We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

V&A Food Market

Dock Road | Old Power Station, Building 19, Pier Head, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
+27 21 418 1605
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good35%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“samosas” (34 reviews)
“wraps” (34 reviews)
“ice cream” (44 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Fast food, Healthy, Street Food, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dock Road | Old Power Station, Building 19, Pier Head, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 701 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

On our recent stay in Cape town the V&A Food Market became one of our main places for our family to eat. For 2 adults and 4 kids there was a great selection and everyone was happy! Highly recommend!

Thank NZ6PlimmersOE
Reviewed 3 days ago

Spent another glorious weekend in Cape Town and hit the V&A Food Market for a bite to eat. There is literally something for everyone here. We wandered around evaluating our options, of which there are many, and finally settled on the Vagabond for the most...More

Thank kerry_annec
Amanda C, General Manager at V&A Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Morning Kerry-Anne, Thanks for the great review, it gives us more passion to inspire those that visit us. I sent your review to the boys that operate Vagabond, one of them would have been in their stand cooking your meal... they are great guys and...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

If you are a foodie, then this is the place for you to visit. It is like a market but with lots of different specialist food outlets and wonderful little eateries. The choice is huge, both for drinks (from coffee to alcohol) and food. We...More

1  Thank Newz888
Amanda C, General Manager at V&A Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hey, thanks for the great review. Warm regards Amanda

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

What a find! Just along from our hotel and with a varied choice of food/drink options there’s something for everyone.

Thank summer582
Amanda C, General Manager at V&A Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the great review... much appreciated. Warm regards Amanda

Reviewed 1 week ago

The V&A Food market is packed with a huge variety of food & drink stalls, and most of them looked mouth-watering. Unfortunately our stomachs have only so much room so we didn't get a chance to try too many. However the food stalls we did...More

Thank DonnaLynette
Amanda C, General Manager at V&A Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for the great review, much appreciated. Warm regards Amanda

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lots of choice!!! Very tasty on-the-go foods. Sushi, nacho, wraps, noodles!They are not restaurants so it’s difficult to get a table and you may need to go in search of a drink (soft drinks or alcohol). Ice cream is heavenly!! Definitely will be back.

Thank Patrisha D
Amanda C, General Manager at V&A Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great review. Warm regards Amanda

Reviewed 1 week ago

Whenever I go home I always pop into the V&A Foodmarket, as it offers the range and quality of food that I miss so much. I moved to the UK a few years ago and the food market always offers all the deliciousness I miss....More

Thank Kerstin Z
Amanda C, General Manager at V&A Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ahhh... thanks for the support. Hope you had a good holiday. Warm regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Place was very clean the service were excellent the staff were friendly The food Was perfect I recommend going here

Thank unicorn l
Amanda C, General Manager at V&A Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ahhhh, thanks for the great review, we love Unicorns. Warm regards Amanda

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Found the V&A Food Market recommended on many sites. And we weren't disappointed. Lots of clean food stalls with a great variety of food to suit all tastes. I had a Springbok wrap and my wife had a Malay Chicken wrap. Both made with fresh...More

Thank Greg B
Amanda C, General Manager at V&A Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Greg, Thanks for the great review. Warm regards Amanda

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

But more expensive than at the other places (cause it’s at the waterfront), but nice... lots of different food!

1  Thank coraalx
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Cape Town Central
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,682 reviews
.06 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
216 reviews
.09 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
794 reviews
.09 km away
The PortsWood
835 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Dash Restaurant & Bar
609 reviews
.06 km away
Vovo Telo
672 reviews
.13 km away
Harbour House V&A Waterfront
3,121 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Springbok Experience
486 reviews
.12 km away
The Cape Wheel
837 reviews
.08 km away
Cape Town Magic Club
36 reviews
.08 km away
Chavonnes Battery Museum
91 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sephus L
12 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Jonofromcas | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Mattwilcra
11 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Z4030AQamandac | Property representative |
We are more of a street market then a neighborhood market. We have Chop Chop Steak Bar, where you can buy fresh meat for home use. Also Oysters from the Knysna Oysters.
0
Votes
JohnCherry
3 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from jptheadventurer | Reviewed this property |
Tough Question to answer, as I did not have any beer. The meals range in price depending on what you are looking to have. But to be safe I would say average meal would be between R50 - R70.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 19:00
Monday
10:00 - 19:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 19:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 19:00
Thursday
10:00 - 19:00
Friday
10:00 - 20:00
Saturday
10:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dock Road | Old Power Station, Building 19, Pier Head, V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Market on the Wharf)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 418 1605
  • E-mail
Description
In 1882, the Old Power Station brought power to the Cape Town dockyard, blazing a trail for trade in Cape Town and the African continent. Today, this powerhouse of innovation is still generating bright ideas through the V&A Food Market – an artisanal street food market that brings together locally produced products, cutting edge concepts and affordability together, seven days a week, in the heart of the V&A Waterfront. Winter Times: (May – October) Sunday to Thursday 10am – 7pm; Friday and Saturday 10am – 8pm Summer Times: (Nov – April) Sunday to Thursday 10am – 8pm; Friday and Saturday 10am – 9pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing