We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reuben's

Dock Road | One&Only Cape Town, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 431 5800
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“reuben” (24 reviews)
“pork belly” (14 reviews)
“oysters” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dock Road | One&Only Cape Town, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had dinner at Reuben's on Saturday night. As he is a celebratory chef in SA I was looking forward to it and given the price tag I expected a top quality experience. Wow was I let down. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and...More

Thank Jinx87
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the buffet lunch at reubens today. It was pretty average. Maybe we should have ordered off the main menu instead. While it is a lot of food and deserts, it is not really anything impressive. The waitress on the other hand was wonderful. Attentive,...More

1  Thank mullchantal
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We wanted to celebrate an occasion and were rubens at the one and only was recommended I can honestly say you could get a better meal at the local steakhouse We ordered the springbok loin , it was over cooked and tasteless My wife ordered...More

Thank Craig K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are regular visitors of Reuben’s but the last few visits were disappointing. Meat is never cooked to our request. Never! Rare is well-done or blue... Never just rare. I think the O&O should rethink their chef appointment in Reuben’s.

Thank CoolRamblings
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great selection of good. I like plain food whereas my partner is more adventurous with trying new food - this restaurant accommodated for both of us! Cocktails are lovely too 🤗More

Thank Kristina M
Patrick_Fisher_01, Director of Food & Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kristina M, Thank you for your gracious comments shared on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful time in Reuben’s and the offering on our menu. I will be sure to thank my team for making it an enjoyable visit for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a hotel restaurant in the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront complex in Cape Town and is the go to place if you want a safe and convenient good food place staying there or in the wide range of nearby appartments (as we were). The...More

Thank Ascott150
Patrick_Fisher_01, Director of Food and Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ascott150, Thank you for your gracious review! Our goal is always to make sure that our guests feel welcome and accommodated and it's wonderful that you felt at home. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Cape...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Booked at last minute and given a table at a corner of the restaurant - not a major issue, but would have preferred to have been in the 'body of the kirk'. All staff were very pleasant but a couple of events marked them down....More

Thank dgordsmith
Patrick_Fisher_01, Director of Food & Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear dgordsmith, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit at Reuben’s One&Only Cape Town. I am very sorry that we let ourselves down on the service in some areas and assure that this is not our usual standard. We hope to welcome you soon...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Included with our daily rate was breakfast at Reuben's. The selection of food was abundant and varied, something for everyone. Whether ordering off the menu or loading up with the buffet, everything we ate over our 3 days was exceptional.

Thank alwayswantstotravel
Patrick_Fisher001, Director of Food & Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear alwayswantstotr, I am delighted that your stay at the resort and your experience at Reuben’s were equally memorable. We look forward to having you visit us again. Best regards, Patrick Fisher – Director Food & Beverage

Reviewed 24 October 2017

The food at this restuarant is fantastic,Wago beef excellent with mash .Wine list is comprehensive but very expensive.However service is lacking in general with attention to detail non existing.

Thank Sandy2350
Patrick_Fisher001, Director of Food &Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sandy2350, We are elated to hear your expectations were met during your visit to Reuben’s. It is always our pleasure to provide an unforgettable experience to our guests. We would be happy to welcome you back. Sincerely, Patrick Fisher – Director Food & Beverage

Reviewed 22 October 2017

I have eaten there on two other occassion as it was not my choice on second run. However, i thought lets give them another try and this was a friday lunchtime, not busy and i thought the food would come as i ordered, quite specific...More

Thank Linda D
Patrick_Fisher001, Director of Food & Beverage at Reuben's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Linda D, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit to Reuben’s. I am really sorry to read that we failed to deliver an exceptional meal and I assure you that this is not the usual standard we strive to deliver. We...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Market on the Wharf
509 reviews
.38 km away
Dash Restaurant & Bar
561 reviews
.36 km away
Nobu
715 reviews
.03 km away
Signal Restaurant Waterfront
482 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Two Oceans Aquarium
4,092 reviews
.14 km away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
453 reviews
.42 km away
The Cape Wheel
732 reviews
.46 km away
Nobel Square
277 reviews
.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Leandri G
5 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Arvind_Meera | Reviewed this property |
Hi you need to contact the hotel directly.
0
Votes
Debra K
8 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Richard_Lyon01 | Property representative |
Good day Debra K, Thank you for your question! The dress code for Reuben's at One&Only Cape Town is smart casual. Do let us know if we can assist you to make a reservation. You are welcome to contact us to make your... More
0
Votes
Debra K
8 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Richard_Lyon01 | Property representative |
Dear Debra K, The dress code in Reuben's is smart casual. Do let us know if we can asisst with making a reservation! Warm regards, Madeleen van Lill Training and Quality Assurance Manager
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dock Road | One&Only Cape Town, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 431 5800
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing