We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Mouette Restaurant

78 Regent Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 433 0856
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (306 reviews)
“duck” (34 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
French, International, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
78 Regent Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

The meals were average to very poor. We had one orechiette dish, where the pasta was completely overcooked, the broccoli and everything else was just extremely poor. The restaurant pretends it is a fine dining location, however it offers mediocre to poor food. The only...More

Thank Horst R
La Mouette R, Owner at La Mouette Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Horst R, We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at La Mouette. As an owner run establishment - we always aim to provide our guests not only good service and ambiance they enjoy, but also amazing food. We...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Located in the heart of the trendy Sea Point district this is neighbourhood institution serves up a really friendly welcome with beautifully presented and prepared food. All the staff were very passionate about the food taking great care to describe it all in detail when...More

Thank Alasdair F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am sorry to say that this restaurant is way over reviewed. We are Capetonians and are pretty experienced foodies (having recently dined at Aubergine, Jardines, 95 Keerom, La Colombe, Le Coin, etc, etc) and we must register great disappointment at this highly regarded restaurant....More

Thank Michael L
MariV976, Owner at La Mouette Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Michael L We are truly and deeply sorry to hear about your dissappointing evening at La Mouette. Your feedback has been most welcome and valued in terms of menu development and scrutiny as the menu you refer to was only launched last week and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

There are a few rooms within this place, so that you are not in a large dining room. The service was attentive. The food was imaginative, nicely plated, and tasty.

1  Thank Rebecca B
Reviewed 1 week ago

It’s hard to understand why this restaurant gets such good reviews. Or perhaps we were just there on a bad night. The restaurant is situated in an old house in Sea Point. The decor is dated and the whole place looks in need of refurbishment....More

Thank OldHound88
MariV976, Owner at La Mouette Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear OldHound88 We are so very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at La Mouette. As an owner run establishment - we always aim to provide our guests not only with amazing food, but also service and ambiance they enjoy. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying in Cape Town for 5 nights as our first stop on our honeymoon. Our hotel O On Kloof recommended this restaurant to us to try a night. We were not disappointed. It was amazing food. We each ordered something different and did...More

Thank SamanthaH2614
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the restaurant with high expectations and were not disappointed! The ambience is clasic and very nice. We chose the 3-course menu including a suitable wine matching. Although the portions weren't very large, we were very satisfied. In terms of price, this restaurant...More

1  Thank DIT72
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

French food can sometimes be over-sauced and overdone but it was great here! Had excellent service and food was good. We also were able to bring our own special bottle of wine which was great. A bit on the pricey side, but it is French...More

Thank Maggie S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant has a little square including waterfountain outside. The service is very friendly, and they service quick. The food is good and some dishes were excellent. If you opt for the matching wines with the menu, they serve you 2 glasses of wine per...More

Thank Eduard S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst this restaurant has been in the Top Ten for sometime it never ceases to change and surprise.The quality of the ingredients and sourcing of ideas is something to behold.Whilst you may consider this expensive by Cape Town standards,by comparable world standards it is really...More

Thank harveyneil
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
Sea Point Inn
95 reviews
.03 km away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
93 reviews
.08 km away
New Kings Hotel
317 reviews
.18 km away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
523 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sundoo
148 reviews
.03 km away
Three Wise Monkeys
110 reviews
.05 km away
Fuego
27 reviews
.05 km away
Myog Frozen Yogurt
5 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mojo Market
98 reviews
.30 km away
Ginger & Lime
11 reviews
.36 km away
O on Kloof Boutique Spa
27 reviews
.71 km away
Clifton Beaches
1,722 reviews
1.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
recordable
12 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MartinLupton | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for delayed response but only just seen. We did not pay an up front deposit but we did have to book to secure a table
1
Vote
Claudia K
1 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from La Mouette R | Property representative |
Dear Claudia - the pairing portions are 100ml per glass per course - where the dessert wines are 25ml per course. Kind regards Mari
1
Vote
871edieh
8 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from La Mouette R | Property representative |
Good morning Thank you for your enquiry - please be so kind as to email us so we can answer your query. We hope to hear from you soon Kind regards Mari Vigar Co-owner
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 15:00
Monday
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
18:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78 Regent Road | Seapoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 433 0856
  • E-mail
Description
La Mouette Restaurant opened in 2010 by Chef and co-owner Henry Vigar, his wife, Mari and their business partner Gerrit Bruwer. La Mouette offers seasonally inspired and modern food. With ever-changing and seasonally inspired menus, friendly staff and a beautiful and unique venue, La Mouette has become a firm favorite with locals and regulars as well as established itself as a return go-to for our international guests. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing